Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic game
Fable 2 is an outstanding game the visuals alone are breath taking.
The gameplay is easy and enjoyable, not to mention the world you play in.
I already own the add ons included in this addition from XBox 360 live and they add to the game no end.
Both are excellent and different. If you dont buy off the online market place or your a first time buyer this is...
Published on 4 Oct 2009 by P Langston

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars false advertising
i bought this game thinking i would get the game of the year edition however that is not the case i recieved the classics edition which is not what i wanted and when i asked them about it all they said was that it states its a classic version, as you can see it looks like a game of the year to me, so if your thinking of buying this item DONT, there is cheaper versions of...
Published 14 months ago by andrew david johnstone


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fable but great, 7 Feb 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fable II - Game Of The Year Edition (Xbox 360) (CD-ROM)
I was very impressed in the timing of the item coming to our home. The game itself is great and well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for teens, 15 Jan 2010
By 
HKC "HKC" (Sligo Ireland) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fable II - Game Of The Year Edition (Xbox 360) (CD-ROM)
Great game, the boys age 12/13 love it and play it more than the 'War Games"
They say "the beginning is boring but once you get going its very good"

One happy mother (because I ordered it as a surprise for them)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FABLE 11-FABULOUSO!, 22 Jan 2010
By 
A. JENKINS "Too "INFINITY" & then some." (Sunny Scotland (AYE RIGHT!)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fable II - Game Of The Year Edition (Xbox 360) (CD-ROM)
I LOVED THE ORIGINAL FABLE ON XBOX SO MUCH SO THAT I PURCHASED A 360 SOLELY FOR THIS GAME & WAS NOT DISSAPOINTED. APPARENTLY THE EXTRAS IN THIS VERSION ARE AVAILABLE TO XBOX LIVE USERS BUT, TO OLD SCHOOL DINOSAURS LIKE MYSELF WHO HAVEN'T YET OR WHO ARE ONLY JUST DISCOVERING ONLINE GAMING THIS VERSION IS AWESOME.
QUITE SIMPLY IF YOU OWN AN X-BOX 360 & DON'T ALREADY OWN THIS "WHY NOT!" OR IF LIKE ME, YOU ARE PART OF THE LEGIONS OF FANS WHO HAVE THE ORIGINAL VERSION "FABLE 2", WHY NOT PUNT YOUR COPY ON AMAZON MARKETPLACE & PUT THE PROCEEDS TOWARDS THIS YOU WON'T BE DISAPOINTED.
YOU CAN'T FULLY COMPLETE THIS GAME UNLESS YOU HAVE ACCESS TO THESE REGIONS, WHATS MORE IT'S AN EXCUSE TO DEVOTE SOME MORE LIFE HOURS TO A MORE THAN WORTHY WORLD OF FOREGONE PLEASURES & SINS OR HEROICS &CHIVALRY.
10 OUT OF 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars There goes my (real) social life, 29 Dec 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fable II - Game Of The Year Edition (Xbox 360) (CD-ROM)
Finally, i'd bought this when it first came out and very quickly the disc become unplayable (thanks). Thankfully the GOTY version doesn't seem to have the same gremlins, so i have been able to waste away hours of my (real) life by wasting away hours of my (gaming) life.

There's a morale to the story somewhere, but i can't be bothered figuring it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars its a great fun game, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fable II - Game Of The Year Edition (Xbox 360) (CD-ROM)
its really good the only problem is after a while like 2 weeks it gets a bit boring but still its a brilliant game the dlcs are perfect aswell
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not worth it, 3 Aug 2010
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fable II - Game Of The Year Edition (Xbox 360) (CD-ROM)
I think I preferred the first Fable, the humour was throughout the game, the demon doors more enjoyable to say the least. I am not saying Fable 2 is a dire game. Thought if I had to choose, it would be Fable every time. The Fable world is more varied than the second game, it seesm Fable 2 should have been an add on for the first. They promised many things, but didn't deliver on half of it. It is not worth the price of a recent game, but if you are bored, then play away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Very Terrible Game, 12 July 2010
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fable II - Game Of The Year Edition (Xbox 360) (CD-ROM)
Firstly what you must know about the Fable series is that they are all hyped up. Fable II promised that we could spend money in camps which would then make the camp more rich which would in turn build it up. Eventually the camp would turn into a village and should we help it by either spending money there or donating money to build it up it could turn into a town and one day even a city. However should you kill everyone in a camp, village, town or city eventually nature would grow over it and it would become abandoned. No such choices exist in this game. There is only one camp in the game that does something of that nature but instead of going through the process I described it is more or less a quest that you can accept or decline. Accepting it means giving 10,000 gold to get someone to build it up while declining means it will remain as a camp. Also it only turns into a town after you finish a certain point in the story and it only turns into a small village. Pathetic or what? Another system that does something of that nature as well is where regions charge more money for items and houses should you buy some houses there and do them up or where the regions charge less money for items and houses because you kill everyone there; who do re-spawn back and break the windows and doors which never get repaired but this still doesn't match what Fable II promised and the regions still look the same apart from the smashed windows and doors should you chose to break things. Another thing Fable II promised was that you will love the dog and not a lot of people did. The dog is an idiot, it gets in your way, it gets beaten up and when injured gets in your way even more. It doesn't help in fights; it only attacks an enemy when they are hit to the ground and sometimes it even attacks dead enemies which proves that the developers weren't really paying attention to how the dog fought. Interaction with it does nothing - there was no point of the dog in the game and honestly; the dog in Dragon Age is more intelligent than Fable II's dog and the dog in Dragon Age has some funny moments with your party members. The dog in this game is just annoying.

Now the combat; in the first Fable once the B button set on fire, power attacks made you unstoppable. If an enemy hit you while you performed a power attack, their attack wouldn't harm you and it would just bounce off. This added something unique to those playing the warrior. However they took this out in Fable; The Lost Chapters and it has remained that way even in Fable II. Fable II no longer offers you a power attack button or a block button and you also have to learn those two skills. So now fighting is just with one button and it is very boring. The fighting animations look glitchy as well. Fighting with a crossbow or gun is the same and requires you to roll often. The magic system is the worst magic system for a game and to cast lv 5 spells you have to hold the magic button for 30 seconds in which the enemy will have probably taken most of your health by then. Spells are boring and each spell is the same really. There are only 5 spells and each do the same thing; surround attack or ranged attack. All the spells that were in Fable are gone apart from two. So everything that was good for the first Fable; which was a bad game anyway, have been taken out making this game even badder than it would have been if the combat was the same as the first Fable.

The story is the same as the first Fable; you becoming a great hero and setting out on revenge. There are no twists and the ending is pathetic. You get one wish, you can chose what wish you want from three things and one can be obtained in the DLC so you might as well make one of the others and obtain what the other wish would have gave you in the DLC.

The first Fable offered consequence for your actions and of course that was a lie. In this and Fable you can kill as many people as you want then go and eat some food which makes you good again and everyone will love you. Be evil - nothing happens, people are scared of you, that is all but you can accept every quest and its not like people won't let you into towns or guards are ordered to kill you on sight. Be good and its the same as being evil - people like you; that is the only difference. The camp mentioned earlier on in this review is full of evil people and if you are good they still let you in even though they know you are going to kill them. Be good or be evil - people still stand at the doorway of your house and won't let you out. As an evil character you can kill them but as a good character you might not be bothered to eat 50 slices of excrement which you can buy from a trader to become good again so you have to scare them off somehow by using the battle cry expression, yet some won't even move which means you will have to kill them to progress. Speaking of NPCs they are dumb. As a person who is unknown they walk up to you even if you are in a part of the town region where no people are and they WILL FIND you and stand there for as long as you do; moaning. They do the same when you become famous and even get trapped in door ways. Interaction with them is the same as the first Fable and they repeat the same things over and over again. If you kill the people they share a house with and then come back later after eating 50 pieces of excrement and showing a trophy to them and even the whole town; they will treat you like a hero again. Pathetic or what? Eating one pie will make you overweight completely and eating some celery will make you thin again. This game is just pathetic in everything.

There are many bugs in this game. Two being game-killing bugs and others being where the NPCs vanish. Others include: Your child turning another color or changing gender or just vanishing altogether. Your wife vanishing, NPCs popping up from nowhere and many many more. The game killing bugs have been fixed but the others haven't so it is still a pathetic game. Also if you don't have Xbox live and you get this; the normal version then the bugs won't have been fixed. The bugs pretty much proved this game was rushed and just searching about its bugs will reveal thousands and thousands of complaints made on Lionhead's official forums and even other forums. The bugs even made news on game sites. Why buy a game that wasn't even tested? The bugs are so obvious that you can see the game wasn't even tested and no it is not acceptable so avoid this game and avoid Fable III which again promises things it will not publish. In fact the whole kingdom system for Fable III is just copied from Beowulf the game and Overlord I and II. Also Fable III is no longer an action RPG. Most of the RPG elements have been taken out. So that is another reason why you should avoid that game and you should also avoid this game.

0/10

P.S

I don't view replies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fable 2 review, 9 Feb 2010
By 
Alex (London, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fable II - Game Of The Year Edition (Xbox 360) (CD-ROM)
Honestly?
I dont think this game is worth much hype its been given.
Yes, your character can grow, and yes, the actions you take can (technically) alter your characters appearence, however the adjustments I saw (for being evil, you get silvery lines over your body, and I didn't see anything change for being good) really could have been done much better.

I haven't played Fable 1, and as such might be missing out on some key features for me to understand and enjoy the game, but as it stands, I found the game to be really slow, and dull. While you can accessorise your character with different clothes and / or weapons, the clothes don't seem to have any differences besides appearence (for example, a monks robe, in most games, wouldn't have as much protection as armor, but in this game it does). I've watched other video reviews of people who enjoy the game, but can't see their enthusiasm, I've tried to play it many times, but have never been able to be anything more than somewhat bored.

You get relationships by doing a series of actions next to a woman (or man) - the woman usually has a helpful bubble close to her, telling you what action she (or he) likes - doing that action over and over and over again increases her liking you, and eventually you can go off and get married (I assume, I never even attempted the relationship side, bar from being set a quest). You can buy a house from doing the side-jobs avalible (which is usually pressing a button when a moving indicaator gets to a certain point on a scale), you can then rent this house to get money, to buy clothes (or weapons); much of which seems irrelivant, as I could kill everything with one of the cheapest guns avalible).

Several friends have told me that this game is about the co-op mode more than single-player, yet watching my brother play with his friend, it seemed to be much of the same thing, just with another avatar running about. If I had known what I was buying when I bought this product, I would have put it back down and saved my money, and is one of the worst choices I have made for the 360.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars terrible and dissapointing..., 19 April 2010
By 
J. Gordon "HIYA LOL" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fable II - Game Of The Year Edition (Xbox 360) (CD-ROM)
nothing like the original includes guns.. ugh not an rpg. This title also didn't win game of the year so don't assume by its flash title that it did. This game exists to dissapoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fable II - Game Of The Year Edition (Xbox 360)
12.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews