Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grime & Cheek
You know you're in for it when an album starts with such a huge club favourite as `Bonkers', and so it is with Dizzee Rascal's 4th album. Mr Rascal was the leader of the British grime scene winning the Mercury Music prize with his debut `Boy in da Corner'. It seems appropriate then that he is the first to graduate to the mainstream so successfully. The opening track,...
Published on 21 Sep 2009 by Toby Staunton

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good music but poor language
I love Dizzee Rascals music but I can't play it when my 6 and 5 year old are around because of the bad language on this album.
Published 7 months ago by kate1


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grime & Cheek, 21 Sep 2009
By 
Toby Staunton "dancing mole" (Derbyshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tongue N Cheek. (Audio CD)
You know you're in for it when an album starts with such a huge club favourite as `Bonkers', and so it is with Dizzee Rascal's 4th album. Mr Rascal was the leader of the British grime scene winning the Mercury Music prize with his debut `Boy in da Corner'. It seems appropriate then that he is the first to graduate to the mainstream so successfully. The opening track, `Dance Wiv Me' and recent single `Holiday' all dropped straight into the No. 1 spot in the charts and yet throughout the album Dizzee's recognisable style holds firm on tracks like `Road Rage', `Freaky Freaky' and `Money, Money'. Pop sensibilities are laced throughout it all and are perfectly balanced. Other than the hugely successful singles further highlights come from `Can't Tek No More' and `Dirtee Cash'. This is a solid album which nicely balances pop influences and Dizzee Rascal's grime roots. It should keep long term and new fans pretty happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Duper, 12 Mar 2011
I defy you to buy this album and not like it. So many hits and should be hits on here. Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good music but poor language, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love Dizzee Rascals music but I can't play it when my 6 and 5 year old are around because of the bad language on this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Its good but can't be as good as a Dizzee show live., 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bonkers is on it. A contender for national anthem by a contender for national treasure. The base bears are tops. The fun is 1st class. But if you want to 'get' Dizzee then you to see him live. You're bonkers if you don't. ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Album CD, 13 Feb 2013
By 
Ms K. A. Bis "Kaz Bis" (Milton Keynes, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed several of his tracks (Bonkers etc.), but some I did not like. Good for playing whilst on car journeys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 24 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Am a Dizzee fan. Would recomend this album to anyone! Prompt delivery and my boyfriend is very much enjoying this in his car!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great item, 10 July 2010
This is a great CD. The extra tracks make it well worth the extra money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dizzie Rascal, 7 Mar 2010
This review is from: Tongue N Cheek. (Audio CD)
Although people have slated this album because it is too poppy and too maintstream I really enjoyed it. If you want more hard core Dizzy then buy boy in the corner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sell out? what happened. make up with wiley and make something great!!!!!!!, 3 Oct 2009
By 
S. Foden - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tongue N Cheek. (Audio CD)
Dizzee has re-invented himself, pretty well to be honest (at least to those who have jumped on the dizzee bandwagon since bonkers), boy in da corner was an outstanding barrage of lyricism, wit and beats. truly outstanding. i must admit after listening to this album my first thought was "what a sell out" there are a couple of good tracks on this album, and some very good beats, bonkers springs to mind (Thanks to armin van buuren) but one thing i can't stop thinking is why aren't you making the music for the people that got you where you are today, the ones that bought boy in da corner and showtime coz of the brilliant content that you put into these, the ones like me listening to the underground stuff before you went big!... you left grime for the money, maths and english again was good, but you could see the change from grime to more mainstream. did you need more money dizzee??? i bought all your albums cause i think your great, dizzee rascal for prime minister!! i just hope that your next album is on par with boy in da corner, and you go back and praise the fans that got you where you are today, and not the new pop era your aiming for. and ffs STOP Calvin I CAN'T SING Harris from singing, tell him to stick to producing and making the beats!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mr Rascal's best album, 30 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. Daniel J. Roebuck "Roadbloc HD" (West Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tongue N Cheek. (Audio CD)
His other stuff is pure rubbish. All of this "ooh! yeah! im a gangsta me!" rubbish has gone from this album, he has matured, and learned how to drive it seems.

I do like this album, its good fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tongue N Cheek.
Tongue N Cheek. by Dizzee Rascal (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews