Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than I remember
I remember the disappointment when I first bought this on cassette tape in 1986. After one or two listens it went back in its box and never came out again. But now, 24 years later, bored with my CD collection, I've been going through all my old tapes again. And this one actually sounds rather good. Perhaps it was simply way ahead of its time. I've had it in my tape player...
Published on 15 May 2010 by D. Haslett

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ultravox swansong fails to recapture old glory
After Live Aid and Midge Ure's solo success with If I Was, you sense that there wasn't much of a combined will in the construction of this album. Down from a quartet to a trio following the departure of Warren Cann, the last Ultravox album proper is an eneven mix of styles and quality. At its best it recalls former glories. All in One Day is a fine string assisted pean to...
Published on 17 Mar 2001 by mikeandhelen.brown@thefreeinte...


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars Woeful, 22 Feb 2014
This review is from: U-VOX: Remastered Definitive Edition (Audio CD)
A brave but terrible mistake, what were they thinking? This was co-produced by Conny Plank who had worked on Vienna and Rage in Eden, however it seems both band and producer suffered amnesia and decided to be a totally different band. If The Rolling Stones had decided to do a Jazz-Funk album it could not have been any worse than this sad end to a great run of albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An album of its time, 22 Jan 2014
By 
K. P. Highet "big_beef_chief" (Scotland,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: U-VOX: Remastered Definitive Edition (Audio CD)
Read a number of reviews for this album on here and I think this album needs to be put into context with the time it was made. A lot of the best synth music was just a memory for many of those early 80's pioneers. In 1986,the same year as U-Vox was released,Numan had 'Strange Charm'(also with female backing vocals and brass)which continued his slide from I Assassin onwards, The Human League brought out 'Crash' largely written by Jam and Lewis and sounding like white soul, OMD had gone extremely soft with The Pacific Age, and the year before Simple minds who had made the wonderful 'Empires and Dance' and 'Sons and Fascination' were releasing the bloated rock stadium filling 'Once upon a time' and even John Foxx had thawed out too with 'In Mysterious Ways'
Everywhere bands which were writing such great material just one or two years previous were either going commercial and selling out or finding it hard to live up to their previous works. (Many of acts would come back with renewed vigour years later after a roots check and rediscovering what they did best in the first place
eg Numan,Foxx,OMD)
So whilst U-Vox isn't Vienna or Rage in Eden,I dont think it's as bad as some make out, given what was coming out elsewhere. It was an album of its time just like Vienna and Rage in Eden were
I admit I find it hard to stomach 'The Prize' but 'Dream On', 'Time to Kill' and 'All in one Day' hark back to better times for the band. I don't dislike this album. Not even close to Vienna and RIE but not the turkey some others have made it out to be in my opinion of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars No Cann Do, 22 Mar 2013
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: U-VOX: Remastered Definitive Edition (Audio CD)
Ultravox's last album of the eighties was a big disappointment, and the remastered two-disc selection here reviewed does not alter that opinion.

More than half the tracks are either duff or mere album fodder. When Midge Ure sings in the opening track "The sound I hear is not the sound I want to hear from you", I wonder if he ever thought his fans felt the same, especially since the track itself is titled `Same Old Story'.

`The Prize' is just as bad; `Dream On' goes nowhere (which is a shame, as it had potential); `Follow Your Heart' has a quasi-American-AOR feel (were they planning to break into the US market?); `Moon Madness' is barely bearable; whilst `All In One Day' is completely unbearable. (The instrumental version on disc two is better, yet still `not' Ultravox - and the live version also on the second disc just accentuates how clumsy is the song anyway.)

Even the good tracks are open to criticism. `All Fall Down', whilst continuing the anti-war tradition that can be found in at least one track on each of their previous albums, is poorly arranged - there is no contrast to the repetitive main theme - and its production is cloudy. (The good thing about the extended mix on disc two allows for The Chieftains at the end to almost play solo.)

All in all, `U-Vox' comes over as a lazy album. Warren Cann's absence must have been quite a blow too, as he and the rest of the group did not see eye-to-eye over the commitment to full electronic percussion. This, together with the inclusion of brass and female backing vocals also hints at the rest of the group trying for the more traditional US market. In short, this was a wrong turn for the group, who lost their distinctiveness and became just another band - the `Same Old Story'!

The second disc contains seventy-four minutes of extras, featuring B-sides, extended mixes, as well as live and instrumental versions of the album's songs. The only good B-side is `Dreams?', like a lamenting echo of what used to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Still awful, 9 Aug 2012
This review is from: U-Vox (MP3 Download)
The only good thing about this album was the cover and that was terrible.

Well, actually Time To Kill and Dream On are ok and I quite like uileann pipes so All Fall Down is listenable but as for the rest... oh dear, brass? female backing singers? where's the electronica?

It's hard to say if the songs are any good or not, they might have benefitted from better arrangements but this ain't Ultravox. I've long since thrown away my vinyl copy, with its interesting sleeve, but didn't the centre label say "U-Vox" and not "Ultravox"? I hope it did.

The band had really lost their way. I seem to recall Billy Currie (who wrote most of it) saying there were barely on speaking terms at the time so perhaps not surprising that this half-hearted effort was the end result.

Still awful. This brings back memories of the enormous disappointment of 1986.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ultravox - Just ran out of ideas?, 21 Feb 2012
This review is from: U-VOX: Remastered Definitive Edition (Audio CD)
When the first single came out from this album I bought the 12" of "Same old story" and played it on my Dad's music centre.Initially I thought there was a problem with the music centre as Midge's vocal was almost lost in the mix!I was really disappointed at the time as I was (and still am)a huge Ultravox fan and tried at the time to like this single.When the album came out it only got a couple of plays as I thought at the time "this aint Ultravox that I know?" Most of the tracks were instantly forgettable and the production very average.Listening to it now I would say that for me the only 3 memorable(slightly)tracks that I enjoy are "All fall down","All in one day" and err...oh sorry no that's it really!No that's not fair I do actually play "Same old story" but given the previously wonderful "Lament" etc this is really a very weak effort indeed from the band; not sure that even Warren's input would have changed much had they not sacked him!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Very ordinary, 23 May 2011
This review is from: U-VOX: Remastered Definitive Edition (Audio CD)
I owned this on vinyl as a kid and played it again recently.

I played this LP first and then the Ultravox LP Lament from 1984 and was staggered how much better Lament is than this very poor collection of songs. Lament is a beautifully crafted and cohesive collection where U-Vox is a directionless LP with very little sustance and lacks any of the beautiful melodies and sounds that were clearly evident on lament.

Avoid !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars End of The Adventure, 16 Oct 2009
This review is from: Uvox (Audio CD)
From Sleepwalk to Love's Great Adventure, Ultravox were on a great adventure. Then sadly when Warren Cann departed from the band, Ultravox were diminshed. The great adventure had come to an end.

On this pink thing, Ultravox certainly lost their way. This by no means an "Ultravox" album & should never be considered as such. But amongst the very poor tracks such as Sweet Surrender & especially The Prize which is quite frankly diabolical, there are some glimmers of hope. All In One Days is a reasonably good track and All Fall Down in my opinion rates as the best on this poor album.

The collaboration with the Chieftans should not be sniffed at. They are a very talented group and probably helped rescue this album from Room 101.

Some people have stated that had Ultravox not parted at all, they would have gone on to become one of the most iconic bands in music history. Their part in the history of pop music is undoubted. But had they continued, who would they be compared to today? I have heard a suggestion that they would be compared to Radiohead. I personally can hear tones of Ultravox in the music by Muse. Maybe one day Ultravox will start to write again and the question will be answered. Dare they risk it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ULTRAvox, 5 Aug 2009
This review is from: U-Vox (Audio CD)
I dont know why this album is so disliked, Time to Kill, Moon Madness and Follow your Heart are all powerful Ultravox songs-Time To Kill sends a shiver down the spine when it segues into 'Watch those minutes turn to hours...'' doesnt it make you think of your own life..its a really poignant and sad song. The singles are a bit weak (but not Same Old Story), however to me this album has always sounded like Ultravox and its a good last album from the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Don't Bother..., 15 Dec 2008
This review is from: U-Vox (Audio CD)
This album probably never should have released. Turgid mid-late '80's rubbish. Pity that this trash is part of the legacy of Ure-era Ultravox. One star because I can't give it less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Some good tunes, 17 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Uvox (Audio CD)
Ok, it might not be their best album, and it might not sound like a typical Ultravox album. However, I find there are some very interesting tunes on this album.
I especially like the second part of the album, i.e. the songs "Time to kill", "Moon madness", "Follow your heart".
I find the arrangements within these songs were quite original at the time of the release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

U-VOX: Remastered Definitive Edition
U-VOX: Remastered Definitive Edition by Ultravox (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews