Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fresh new talent, 6 May 2004
This review is from: Peter Cincotti (Audio CD)
I first became aware of Peter on the Parkinson show, both on tv and radio and liked what I heard. Got the album and thought wow! what a pianist. I wouldn't say that he's the best singer in the world, but his delivery is good. The piano playing is something else though. Listen to Ain't Misbehavin' and you'll see what I mean. I wouldn't like to compare him to anyone else, they all have their individual styles too. Other favourites include Michael Buble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Promising, 16 Sep 2003
By 
Mr. A. C. Gilbert "thegilb" (Chatel sur Rolle, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Peter Cincotti (Audio CD)
A very worthwhile debut album from one of the hottest young jazz talents out there, Peter Cincotti will please a wide-ranging jazz audience. The album contains a good mix of new and old styles, some virtuoso playing backed up by an excellent band, and a couple of really catchy tunes, particularly tracks 3 and 4. The production is smooth and classy, well done Phil Ramone.
This guy can only get better and better, being still very young, precociously so for such a talent. Having seen him at Montreux this summer, his live performances are also promising and his piano-playing blew the audience away.
Two slight negatives – a tendency to get a bit crooner-y from time to time, not my style; and a voice that can be a little reedy. I hope time will affect his vochal chords, and give his voice a little more substance and individuality. But his music is a breath of fresh air in the world of jazz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PETE'S THE MAN!, 20 Jan 2004
By 
j m becker (Cheadle, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Peter Cincotti (Audio CD)
Forget all the hype surrounding Buble & Cullum, Peter Cincotti is outstanding and this first album is very classy. There's nothing wrong with the other two of course but whilst Buble's arrangements are superb, his voice is only just above average. Anyway, if you're going to listen to Come Fly With Me etc, there's really only one man to listen to. As for Mr Cullum, very different yes but his versions just wander too much for me. Cincotti has a really good voice, a very smooth band working with him, and there's some Godfather memorabilia in there too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More from you Mr Cincotti!, 25 Jun 2005
This review is from: Peter Cincotti (Audio CD)
Peter Cincotti has a stirring voice filled with emotion. I simply love his rendition of Kermit the Frog's Rainbow Connection. Only he could have made a muppet song so beautiful! Was a lil tear-y after hearing it. Simply just beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Promising, promising, 27 Aug 2003
By 
Mr. A. C. Gilbert "thegilb" (Chatel sur Rolle, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: CD (Audio CD)
A very worthwhile debut album from one of the hottest young jazz talents out there, Peter Cincotti will please a wide-ranging jazz audience. The album contains a good mix of new and old, some virtuoso playing backed up by an excellent band, and a couple of really catchy tunes, particularly tracks 3 and 4. The production is smooth and classy, well done Phil Ramone.
This guy can only get better and better, being still very young, precociously so for such a talent. Having seen him at Montreux this summer, his live performances are also promising and his piano-playing blew the audience away.
Two slight negatives – a tendency to get a bit crooner-y from time to time, not my style; and a voice that can be a little reedy. I hope time will affect his vochal chords, and give his voice a little more substance and individuality. Maybe he should take up smoking for a while! Still, a fresh and enticing new talent in the world of jazz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice man, good album, 27 April 2014
By 
Mr. J. H. Wheeler "Easy Street" (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peter Cincotti (Audio CD)
I've played this a couple of times now, and overall find it to be listenable, but not particularly memorable...to the point where it will only come off the shelf once in a while. Having said that, Cincotti is a talented guy and thoughtful in the arrangements he chooses, so maybe a Cole Porter song book--Gershwin songbook next?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This was a gift, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peter Cincotti (Audio CD)
This was a gift especially chosen by my son and i know he is pleased with it and is enjoying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 25 Dec 2003
This review is from: Peter Cincotti (Audio CD)
Very good album. Excellent voice and a great relaxing album. Very promising indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Whole New Tour of Jazz, 14 July 2003
By 
Simon (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: CD (Audio CD)
Peter is undoubtedly the most outstanding new jazz pianist/vocalist of the time - a student at New York's Colombia University he also manages to write, along with his mother, excellent original tunes and bring a refreshing touch to some of the old classics.
In this, Peter's debut recording, the jazz legends that have influenced him (Harry Connick Jr among others) shine through and he demonstrates a unique and talented style, covering a wide range of tastes from standards such as "Miss Brown" and "Comes Love" (themselves broad enough for most people) to the popular "Sway" then further to include his own swingy "I Changed the Rules" and romantic "Are You The One?".
What makes listening to Peter entertaining? In three words: He enjoys it. This gives the CD an effervescence that makes the listener enjoy it but it's more than that, in the dreamy numbers, Peter has a mellow and intimate singing voice that seduces and in the swingy/upbeat tracks he moves to a buoyant style that will have you finger-snapping and toe-tapping.
Don't be fooled by Peter's 19 years on this earth - his youthfulness brings a fresh face but his talent that is way beyond his years - he is the youngest performer to have played at the famed "Oak Room" in New York.
To close: Peter is the most promising new jazz artist that will not only please existing jazz appreciators but fresh style will bring the genre to a whole new audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Peter Cincotti
Peter Cincotti by Peter Cincotti
Buy MP3 Album8.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews