Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars60
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£3.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 December 2009
From the first 2 minutes of Pull Me Under, you should be realising what an awesome musical journey you're in for. This album is one of Dream Theater many classics, and one of my all-time favourites.

This album is so many things. From mainstream metal in Pull Me Under, to a Pop-Rock Ballad, A piece of Prog-metal brilliance and a 70's prog rock that sounds awesome without sounding jaded. And that's just the first half. This is not just a prog album, nor is it just a metal album. Its diversity is what makes it so unique, so awesome. There's something for everyone on this album, so don't say, 'nah, it's prog, don't like it.' or 'it's metal, don't like it.' This album is especially brilliant because it is impossible to stereotype.

The best songs then: I could not believe when i found out the band was 'surprised' that Pull Me Under is their best known song. It has all the hallmarks of a mainstream song, just a bit longer. The chorus is a proper anthem, the verses are clever, the drums are pounding throughout this and the rest of the album... a great track. Surrounded is another excellent song, with an odd time feel in some parts, but it is still a great rock track. If you don't think you like prog, listen to this. Metropolis and Under A Glass Moon are both great metal tracks, the latter with one of the best guitar solos in rock history. Learning To Live is difficult to get into, but after you've listen to it 3 or 4 times, you realise just how awesome a song this is. It has everything you like in a prog, rock or metal track. Just believe me: It is awesome. Like the entire album. I may not have mentioned all the songs, but they are all as good as each other.

To finish, I will simply say this: Don't stereotype Dream Theater or this album. Get it, and you'll find out what all those die-hard fans are on about.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2013
This album is often credited as being the archetypal progressive metal album and I think it deserves that status. It has all the trademark tropes of the genre or Dream Theater (which came first?). You have complicated musical parts containing shifting time signatures, virtuosic playing, adventurous harmonies and rhythms. You also have soaring vocals and inventive lyrics.

This formula has been followed by many many bands in subsequent years (even by Dream Theater themselves!) but usually the results are never as musical and emotional as 'Images and Words'. Everything just gels on this album. The songs are strong rather than just the technique.

The other good thing about this album is that it contains no bad tracks at all. It's a smooth journey through surreal musical landscapes but powered by the raw energy of metal.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2010
This album opens up with the most famous dream theater song Pull Me under
whic starts of with a guitar plucking single notes and then a keyboard sounding like a guitar lead then the drumm and bass come in playing a open E rythmn and then it kicks off a little bit later a fast paced song with some very good bassing and drumming and keyboarding in it the vocals soar although it can be difficult to hear what is sung it is in tune and very powerful.the next song is a slo one but is also very good and has a saxophone in it and shows the diversity of the song because the next song is a like a funky song or jazz even. the album is very diverse with many different rythmns and sound going on in it
but it is also catchy alot of the vocal melody lines are very very catchy

my only complaint is the snare drum is a 80's sounding snare drum
but its not that annoying

a very original sounding animal
at least to me i like it
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2015
It was back in 2003 that I was looking in a Virgin Megastore (remember those?) with the noble intention of investing my money in a band I'd never heard before. These were before the days when Youtube and streaming were so easily accessible. When we had to take risks with our money to try out new artists. I had stumbled across an album by a band I'd only heard of in name, but that risk was about to pay off; Dream Theater.

Being a 16-year-old heavy metal fan at the time, raised on a healthy diet of groups such as Megadeth, Metallica, Kiss and Rammstein, my initial thoughts were, quite simply; “this album sucks”. However, one thing piqued my interest, and it should come as no surprise that it was the amazingly heavy intro to the opening track, ‘Pull Me Under’.

As I heard more and more, the album grew on me. All these random traits of progressive music were becoming clearer. Odd time signatures, long, complex arrangements, the eclectic mixture of styles, keyboards (a heavy metal no-no), the creative lyrics and massive instrumental sections... It all started to make sense. To this day, 'Images and Words' not only introduced me to a new style of music, but a whole new way of looking at music.

So what makes it so great?

'Images and Words' is an album that defined a genre. Without Dream Theater, progressive metal might never have become what it did. Coming at a time when the genre was in its infancy, Dream Theater had that intangible X-factor that bands like Fates Warning, Queensryche, and even a group like Rush, were all missing at that point.

There's a perfect combination of everything on this album. There's metal songs, there's ballads, there's funky songs and there's jazzy songs too. The musicianship came at a time when there weren't many bands displaying such incredible technical prowess, at least in the mainstream anyway. Every song is perfectly crafted, with interesting musical passages and mind-boggling lyrics. 'Pull Me Under', 'Take the Time', 'Learning to Live' and the monstrous epic 'Metropolis Pt. 1; The Miracle and the Sleeper' are all staples in prog metal history.

This is the record that put Dream Theater on the map, and defined all progressive metal bands/albums for years to come. Every fan of the genre needs this in their collection, immediately. And I'm sure most old-school progressive rock fans will at least appreciate the importance this album had on prog music as a whole. Undeniably my favourite album of all time, 'Images and Words' is better than perfect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2013
I hate hardcore, death metal, doom and black metal, even thrash metal bands such as Slayer. But James LaBrie's childlike voice takes away all the evilness from Dream Theater's music, and just makes it incredibly fun to listen to. It takes a while to get used to the five-miniute guitar solo's and complex patterns just for the sake of it, but if you bypass that, we have a musical treasure here.

1. Pull Me Under
The first track is the most depressing on here, talking about death in Shakespeare fashion. A hit, this is a majestic song (get it?) and deserves to be a classic. 8/10
2. Another Day
A lighter song here, about John Petrucci's father battleing cancer. It is truly uplifting, but probably the worst song on the album. 7/10
3. Take the Time
Classic Dream Theater, this is one of the most fun songs i have ever heard. 10/10
4. Surrounded
A spiritual and feel good song, opens with Kevin Moore's piano, and builds into a brilliantly shining chorus. 9/10
5. Metropolis Part 1: The Miracle and the Sleeper
This spawned an entire concept album, Scenes from a Memory, but the song itself really shines, with a brilliant but pointless guitar solo, and alot of shouting from James LaBrie. 10/10
6. Under a Glass Moon
The heaviest song on the album, this is slightly progressive but all in all back to basic metal majesty here. 9/10
7. Wait For Sleep
Haunting and quite mellow for Dream Theater, prehaps the best song on the album. 10/10
8. Learning to Live
Despite having a great first four miniutes, this song does drag on for much longer than it needs to, and for that, i will award it a 7/10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2005
I bought this album after hearing only tiny bits of Dream Theater at school and on this site. I was a bit apprehensive given some of the negative reviews they've been given but i needn't have worried.
Thankfully, I found much to like in this album. From the eerie riff-laden opener "Pull Me Under" and the emotive ballad "Another Day" to the multi-dimensional extremity of "Metropolis..." and "Learning to Live", every song on this album reached out to me in a way no music has ever done previously.
And of course, we must not forget the superior musicianship that this band possesses. I cannot think of another band where all the members are this talented in their respective fields. That includes singer James LaBrie, whom a lot of people dismiss as being too camp and whiny, but I think he's very underrated.
I must warn you though, Dream Theater are most definitely not for everyone. I thought they were too over-the-top after the first listen but my opinions quickly changed. But it must be remembered that there is no middle ground with Dream Theater whatsoever; this album will either be the best or worst thing you have ever heard. If you like heavy music with a strong sense of melody, as in Iron Maiden, Rush and, at times, Metallica then you will probably lap this up. If, however, you buy this album expecting a straight down-the-middle heavy metal album then I suggest you reconsider.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2010
Images and Words was the last Dream Theater album and I layed my hands on and after thinking I had their sound figured I still found something fresh.

It's much unlike their other albums with a generally softer sound and more of an 80's rock feel with a lot of quirky synthesizer work and soundbites however I totally love that. It has to be one of their best albums for it, with each track feeling quite fresh and easy-going instead of some of their later work which can be hard to approach.

Some of the best tracks for me are Pull Me Under, Take The Time, Surrounded, Metropolis Part 1, Wait For Sleep (a nice little "interlude" track) and Learning To Live. Surrounded has to be the best track for me on this album... it has this otherwordly trippy quality, unlike much of the DT I'd experienced before.

Don't get me wrong, I also love their heavier stuff like A Nightmare to Remember, Systematic Chaos and Six Degrees of Inner Turbulance (really I like all their albums).

Images and Words is a great addition to the DT collection and seemingly a forgotten style that Dream Theater once had, definately going into my playlist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2014
Released in 1992, 'Images And Words' is the second album by American progressive metal/rock band Dream Theater and the first to feature the talented James LaBrie as lead vocalist. With a running time of 57 minutes - there are 8 featured tracks of varying lengths - the punter certainly gets good value for money, in my opinion. This is a highly enjoyable experience with the highlights including the wonderful 'Metropolis - Part 1' (9:30) which has a glorious instrumental middle section and 'Under A Glass Moon' (7:03) featuring a stunningly good guitar solo from John Petrucci. The rest of the band are no slouches either - Mike Portnoy's thunderous drumming is a strong feature throughout and superior keyboards and bass are supplied by Kevin Moore and John Myung respectively. For me, there is enough variation and quirkiness on this album to keep me interested and there are plenty of quieter moments in amongst the heavy artillery to impress me. Well worth giving this a try, metal fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2011
Dream Theater's second album is definitely a strong offering. I'd say about 5 of the songs are excellent, two are pretty good and one is bad. Where this album succeeds though, it really succeeds. This is what prog metal is all about -- strong melodies, great musicianship, mind-blowing solos and long epic songs. On paper it's great, but the execution is flawed on some songs like Learning To Live and Pull Me Under. Other times though, Dream Theater really pulls through with one hell of a song

But one more thing: the classic question of is it prog? Well, sometimes yes, definitely like Learning To Live and Metropolis pt. 1, while other stuff is heavy/thrash metal with some great prog influences like Take The Time and Under A Glass Moon, while finally Pull Me Under and Another Day are just straight rock. So yea, half the time it's good prog... some may find this unacceptable, but to the more open-minded of us, it's fine because the whole album is quite good!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2006
Dream Theater, by now, have been around for 20 years. They've trotted out the lines, done the tours, got the rabid fanbase, brought out tons of magnificent CDs, and clawed their way to the very peak of their genre along the way. From becoming the minor band of Majesty, they've come a long way to top the world- and this album is perhaps what really lifted them into the stratosphere in terms of popularity.

Images and Words remains the benchmark that all prog artists (or even metal!) need to try and maintain- in my opinion, even Dream Theater haven't quite managed to recapture the glory on this album, though they've come close. That said, it's mainly to do with the sheer quality of the album, rather than any ineptitude on behalf of the band. Dream Theater are prime musicians, arguably the best collection of individual musicians ever to grace the international stages. John Petrucci's guitar is electrifying at times, with heart-wrenching solos, or simply pace that will fry your brain. Mike Portnoy hammers away on his drums so much, and with such timing, that it seems as though his arms might fall off at any moment. James LaBrie compliments the music well with some excellent vocals. Moore on the keyboards, ace. And John Myung, who is the man that all bassists aspire to be, is brilliant as always. But enough of me rhapsodising, onto the track anaylsis.

1)Pull Me Under- A pretty decent opener, and a live favourite. Whilst not the best track, it sets the tone and atmosphere for the rest of the album, from the haunting opening riff. Also, bass fans- this is one of the easiest lines on the album (which is distinctly worrying >_>).

2)Another Day- You'll either love it, or hate it. A very emotional song that coaxed a soul-stirring performance from LaBrie, accompanied by a fairly nifty sax-solo on the end.

3)Take The Time- Hehe. The song overall is good, from Myung funky little bass grooves to Portnoy's timing on the drums. But what really distinguishes this song is Petrucci's axe-work, namely the solo that has to rank as one of the greatest of all time. Over 2 minutes long, insanely well timed and quick as you like, it's just ridiculous- if you can play this solo, you're a better guitarist than I. :P

4) Surrounded- A fairly similar deal to Another Day, though I think I prefer this one. The overall mix of the song is good, with a good climax.

5)Metropolis- I could go on forever about this song, but I'll do my best to restrict myself. Personally, I think that this is insane, and it's a firm fan favourite in most areas. It opens with the haunting melody that every fan has come to know so well, then the drums come in...and then, bang! Everything else comes in. :P But this is basically just a masterpiece, combining vocals and well written sections of music together exceptionally adeptly. It's quite fractured later in the song, but this only adds to the overall quality. Petrucci turns in an excellent performance on the guitar, too. Oh, and there's always the matter of the bass solo- probably amongst the hardest and greatest bass solos ever, I still can't see how Myung pulls it off with so much pace. I've never seen such quick double-tapping.

6) Under a Glass Moon- Meh. This is probably the only let down of the album for me, but that might only be because it's just after Metropolis. It's a nice contrast to the previous songs, combining the frenetic aspects of Take the Time with the softer melodies of 2/4. Pretty decent.

7) Wait for Sleep- I always considered this more of an interlude to Learning to Live than anything else, but it's actually a good song in it's own right. A lovely piano melody and a great vocal show from LaBrie help this one along into the endgame of the album.

8) Learning to Live- A lot of fans consider this to be the best track on the album, and it's easy to see why. Written by the redoubtable John Myung, his songs are rare, but well worth the wait, and this is no exception. It's tough for be to describe it, so you're going to have to listen to it yourselves- if you've got this far, you'll assuredly like it. :)

So, yup! A cracking album from one of the better bands of the modern(ish) generation, and well worth the price tag nowadays. Definitely pick it up if you see if going.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)