Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well produced Black Metal that WORKS
An album which is extremely well produced and sounds fantastic! It allows you to hear every instrument at its best; with the constant pounding drums, the precision of the guitar and the change of pace at every stage, along with Abbath's vocals which are instantly recognisible and lays down the stamp of Immortal, it all leads you through the album from start to finish...
Published on 31 Jan 2010 by Miss-Morgue

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The aural equivalent of frostbite
I, for one, was somewhat surprised at the left turn Immortal made after they decided to call it a day after the majestic Sons of Northern Darkness era came to a close.

When I heard they were back, I was hoping for a new album that would be equal to Sons itself.

What I got when All Shall Fall was released, wasn't as good as Sons, and an album that was...
Published on 3 Jun 2010 by Azz McMahon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well produced Black Metal that WORKS, 31 Jan 2010
By 
Miss-Morgue (Mount North, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: All Shall Fall (Audio CD)
An album which is extremely well produced and sounds fantastic! It allows you to hear every instrument at its best; with the constant pounding drums, the precision of the guitar and the change of pace at every stage, along with Abbath's vocals which are instantly recognisible and lays down the stamp of Immortal, it all leads you through the album from start to finish perfectly.
Favorite tracks: The Rise of Darkness, Norden on Fire and Mount North
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My first Immortal album!, 22 Aug 2011
This review is from: All Shall Fall (Audio CD)
I first saw Immortal at Wacken Open Air 2010. I knew of them and their musical styling but never knew anything more about them. Immortal's performance was the highlight of the entire festival and immediately got me hooked on them. I got All Shall Fall shortly after returning home from the festival and started listening...
All Shall Fall is quite simply a stunning piece of frost bitten black metal from the sons of northern darkness! Album opener All Shall Fall gets things going with its blast beats and tight musicianship, something that continues throughout the album. My personal favourite however is album closer Unearthly Kingdom. With its ominous church organ opening keys it effortlessly moves into a slow tempo masterpiece. There is not a bad track on this album and I am an official Immortal convert. I cannot praise this album anymore. I feel that it is a good album for anyone remotely interested in Abbath and co to start off with or a passing interest in black metal itself. Hail Immortal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The return of the northern frost, 4 Feb 2011
By 
D. L. Wilkinson "Dean" (London,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Shall Fall (Audio CD)
Immortal are back.Thundering drums,frostbitten guitars and vocals from an icy cavern,epic soundscapes and a dynamic sweep unlike any other.Immortal back in black and blue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Immortal rule!, 24 Sep 2010
This review is from: All Shall Fall (Audio CD)
Having discovered at this years Bloodstock festival that the mighty Immortal are to headline the Saturday at next years event i decided to get up to date with their most recent albums.All Shall Fall is their best album yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful and Dark, Immortal return with a Black Hole., 27 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Shall Fall (Audio CD)
Their last effort, Sons of Northern Darkness was another massive album and with a back catalogue as strong as Immortal's you'd be forgiven for thinking that they'd struggle to top previous works. However, this tops it.

Horgh's drums are unstoppable and all encompasing, his work really has to be heard to be believed, intricate rhythms, double kick pounding and fills from satan, everything you've come to expect from him, and more. Abbath's vocals are coarse and powerful and sound like they're crossing an abyss whilst his guitar work shreds your soul to pieces. Appolyn's bass is as ever present and Demonaz's lyrics, frosty and cold, have been carved from the frozen mountains themselves.

This really is a massive album. Refusing to be shackled by the "puritans" of Black Metal, Immortal are one of the great innovators, and you are welcome to join their next crusade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The aural equivalent of frostbite, 3 Jun 2010
By 
Azz McMahon (NSW, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: All Shall Fall (Audio CD)
I, for one, was somewhat surprised at the left turn Immortal made after they decided to call it a day after the majestic Sons of Northern Darkness era came to a close.

When I heard they were back, I was hoping for a new album that would be equal to Sons itself.

What I got when All Shall Fall was released, wasn't as good as Sons, and an album that was not immediately accessible to me, but it grew on me.

There's a feel of earlier Immortal here - somewhere between Blizzard Beasts and At the Heart of Winter, though a frosty breeze of Sons of Northern Darkness makes it's presence felt towards the later songs on the album.

The Production is raspier, for want of a better term - and musically, you know it's Immortal, but it does lack a certain something to make the album killer.

The artwork is superb though - and there are some good songs here - just not enough fire in the bellies of the beasts themselves to show what they're capable of this time around.

Personal favourite of the album - the epic closing track Unearthly Kingdom - classic latter day Immortal.

All in all - this is the aural equivalent of frostbite - cold, dark, takes time to grow on you and really seep in, but All Shall Fall is a welcome return from a true black metal legend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Metal Masters!!!!, 15 Nov 2009
By 
Johnathan Beasley (Nottinghamshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All Shall Fall (MP3 Download)
Immortal have been, and always will be the Masters of Black Metal. The entire cd is 5 star! How many cd's can you honestly say you love EVERY song on it? With this one, you money will be well spent!
If you are new to Immortal or even Black Metal, this would be the perfect gateway cd to get!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

All Shall Fall
All Shall Fall by Immortal (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews