Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Track listing
Although the release of this wonderful DVD box is still a couple of months away, I thought I'd post the track listing here. Needless to say this is a must have for any John Denver fan!

TRACKLISTING - JOHN DENVER - AROUND THE WORLD LIVE

Disc One - Thank God I'm A Country Boy - Live In Australia 1977
1. Farewell Andromeda
2. Spirit
3...
Published on 25 July 2009 by Jeroen

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
Disk 1 and 4 don't load !
Published 8 months ago by Mr. Ronald John Burns


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Track listing, 25 July 2009
By 
Jeroen (Maastricht, The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Around The World Live [DVD] [2009] [NTSC] (DVD)
Although the release of this wonderful DVD box is still a couple of months away, I thought I'd post the track listing here. Needless to say this is a must have for any John Denver fan!

TRACKLISTING - JOHN DENVER - AROUND THE WORLD LIVE

Disc One - Thank God I'm A Country Boy - Live In Australia 1977
1. Farewell Andromeda
2. Spirit
3. Fly Away
4. Looking For Space
5. Come And Let Me Look In Your Eyes
6. Baby You Look Good To Me Tonight
7. Druthers
8. I'd Rather Be A Cowboy
9. How Can I Leave You Again
10. Singing Skies And Dancing Waters
11. Love Is Everywhere
12. Pickin' The Sun Down (Blue Grass & High Sierra)
13. I Want To Live
14. Rocky Mountain High
15. Follow Me
16. Moreton Bay
17. To The Wild Country
18. Grandma's Feather Bed
19. Back Home Again
20. Matthew
21. Thank God I'm A Country Boy
22. Take Me Home, Country Roads
23. Annie's Song
24. Eagle And The Hawk
25. Calypso
26. Sunshine On My Shoulders
27. Leaving On A Jet Plane
Bonus Tracks:
1. It's A Sin To Tell A Lie
2. Thirsty Boots
3. Boy From The Country
4. Like To Deal With The Ladies
5. When I'm 64
Total Running Time: 136 minutes

Disc Two - Rocky Mountain High - Live In Japan 1981
1. Starwood In Aspen
2. Take Me Home, Country Roads
3. Follow Me
4. I'd Rather Be A Cowboy
5. Leaving On A Jet Plane
6. Goodbye Again
7. Rocky Mountain Suite
8. Matthew
9. Fly Away
10. Dancing With The Mountains
11. Back Home Again
12. Thank God I'm A Country Boy
13. Sleepin' Alone
14. Rocky Mountain High
15. Eagle And The Hawk
16. Annie's Song
17. Calypso
18. Sunshine On My Shoulders
Bonus Tracks:
1. Mother Nature's Son
2. How Mountain Girls Can Love
3. Sweet Surrender
4. Johnny B. Goode
5. Memphis
6. Lil Suzie
7. Boy From the Country
Total Running Time: 99 minutes

Disc Three - Country Roads - Live In England 1986
1. Farewell Andromeda
2. Take Me Home, Country Roads
3. Grandma's Feather Bed
4. Back Home Again
5. Matthew
6. Dreamland Express
7. The Harder They Fall
8. I Can't Escape
9. Flying For Me
10. What Are We Making Weapons For
11. Sunshine On My Shoulders
12. Eagle And The Hawk
13. Wild Montana Skies
14. Relatively Speaking
15. I'd Rather Be A Cowboy
16. How Can I Leave You Again
17. I'm Sorry
18. Shanghai Breezes
19. Fly Away
20. My Sweet Lady
21. Heart To Heart
22. Rocky Mountain High
23. Annie's Song
24. Calypso
25. Peace (poem)
26. It's About Time
27. Perhaps Love
Bonus Tracks:
1. Boy From The Country
2. Claudette
3. Don't Close Your Eyes Tonight
4. I Remember You
5. Sweet Surrender
Total Running Time: 142 minutes

Disc Four - Solo Acoustic Show - Live In Japan 1984 / Farm Aid
1. Rocky Mountain High
2. Sunshine On My Shoulders
3. Leaving On A Jet Plane
4. Goodbye Again
5. Follow Me
6. Matthew
7. Grandma's Feather Bed
8. I Want To Live
9. Rhymes & Reasons
10. Eagle And The Hawk
11. The Gold And Beyond
12. Take Me Home, Country Roads
13. Biwako Shuko No Uta
14. Seasons Of The Heart
15. Annie's Song
16. Calypso
17. It's About Time
Farm Aid 1985:
1. Take Me Home, Country Roads
2. Back Home Again
3. Thank God I'm A Country Boy
Farm Aid 1987:
1. Take Me Home Country Roads
2. Matthew
3. What Are We Making Weapons For
Farm Aid 1990:
1. Rocky Mountain High
2. Matthew
Total Running Time: 99 minutes

Disc Five - Documentaries
1. The Bighorn (1972)
2. Earth Day Documentary (1990)
Total Running Time: 116 minutes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what John Denver fans have been waiting for! Get it!, 25 Oct. 2009
By 
M. Donegan (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Around The World Live [DVD] [2009] [NTSC] (DVD)
Like many fans around the world I have been counting the days since this superb John Denver 5-DVD boxset's expected release was first announced early in the summer. It seemed too good to be true. Fans would finally be getting what they have been longing for: a difinitive high quality DVD live record of this remarkable man in concert through the years. John Denver's great performances have been neglected for far too long and fans could only access such material on Youtube.

It is my hope that John Denver Around the World Live is a huge success, and that fans everywhere will buy it, so that there will be further releases from John Denver's remarkable legacy as a singer songwriter and performer around the world. The tapes are gathering dust in TV archives around the world, and fans are longing to see them.

Now here it is and it has been truly worth waiting for! What we get, in this European edition at least, are four complete concerts from Australia (1977), Tokyo (1981), Birmingham (1986), each with additional bonus songs, and a solo acoustic show from Lake Biwa, Japan (1984); plus various brief appearances at Farm Aid concerts in 1985, 1987 and 1990. The boxset is rounded off by two of John Denver's documentaries: Earth Day 1990 and Bighorn (1972).

This superb boxset comes in the NSTC format, which can be played on almost all recently manufactured PAL DVD players, and is region 0, so it can be played in all regions around the world. Also included is an attractive booklet containing concert setlists, with lots of unseen fan photos, and notes by Executive Producer Hal Thau.

The Australia 1977 outdoor show has John giving his more animated and light-hearted 1970s style of presentation that delighted fans around the world. In all there are 27 songs in the concert proper and five bonus songs. The concert is, sadly, without the much loved crowd-pleasing 'Today' which was cut because of damage to the master tape, but it does include 'Leaving on a Jet Plane', and of course 'Boy From the Country', which apppears as a bonus song. These two performances are seen here for the first time since they were not in the original TV broadcast. This show is outstanding! John is backed by Lee Holdridge and his orchestra and by some of the finest singers and musicians available anywhere: Hal Blaine, Herb Petersen, James Burton, Mike Crumm, Danny Wheatman, Glen D. Hardin, Emory Gordy Jr., and Renee Armand.

The Japan concert of 1981 has 18 songs, with a further seven bonus songs, performed before an audience that included the then Japanese crown prince and princess. It is simply superb! This impressive concert is also available as a separate single DVD release with the title 'Rocky Mountain High: Live In Japan'.

The England concert of 1986 presents John again in a more sober and laid-back mood singing at the NEC, in Birmingham. Again, there are 27 songs in the concert proper, with five bonus songs. John is said to have been quite ill during this concert, and it shows in his voice in the second half, but he delivered a masterful performance right to the end: including memorable duets with backing singers Conrad Reeder on 'Fly Away' and Elizabeth Lamers on 'Wild Montana Skies'.

Even with 9 hours and 52 minutes of DVD playing time it is impossible for any boxset to include all the great hits, all the true classic John Denver songs, but this boxset is very representative of this great artist's work up to 1990. Sadly, there is no 'Poems, Prayers and Promises', 'For Baby (For Bobbie)', 'Windsong' and a host of other favourites.

It appears that the boxset version on sale in the United States does not have the 17 bonus songs available on this set. I wondered why the Michael Martin Murphey classic 'Boy From the Country', which became one of John Denver's signature songs, appears only as a bonus song on each of the discs for the Australia, Birmingham and Tokyo concerts, and not at all on the Lake Biwa show where it was the first song in the programme.

Among the highlights of these 17 bonus songs are two delightful Everly Brothers classics: 'Wake Up Little Susie' sung as a duet with musician and backing singer Herb Petersen in Japan 1981; and 'Claudette' another duet with backing singer Denny Brooks in Birmingham in 1986.

The Lake Biwa live acoustic show is my personal favourite in the boxset, even though it is listed as having only 17 tracks. In fact there are 18 tracks! Here was John for the most part by himself, just his soaring voice and his guitars giving his all on a rainy day in Japan. There are beautiful renditions of his classics 'Rocky Mountain High', 'Goodbye Again', 'Follow Me', 'Matthew', 'I Want To Live', 'Rhymes and Reasons' and more. I was especially thrilled to find an extra unlisted track after the 'Song For Lake Biwako', where John performs 'The Lord's Prayer' in Indian sign language. This hidden treasure is mentioned nowhere in the booklet or on the DVD's menu - but believe me, it is there!

This wonderful John Denver DVD boxset leaves me pleading for more. I can only congratulate and offer sincerest gratitude to the producers for the superb job they have done in restoring the footage presented on these discs, and I look forward to future releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, 21 Oct. 2009
By 
Pymander (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Around The World Live [DVD] [2009] [NTSC] (DVD)
Finally some John Denver concerts on DVD. I've been waiting for so long for this. No more bad copies of old VHS videotapes. The box looks great. The notes in the booklet are nice. Love the shows and documentaries. Hopefully there will be more cd's and dvd's released of John Denver. Love to see all his albums remastered on the market, now you can only get a few remastered cd's from Japan.

Oh, by the way, my NTSC DVD does contain all the bonus songs. On the back of the box is mentioned the correct number of songs on each disc including the bonus songs. In the booklet are mentioned all these songs also including the bonus songs. You can choose for the bonus songs on the opening menu of the dvd's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Denver at his best, 8 Nov. 2009
By 
Christine Moon (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Around The World Live [DVD] [2009] [NTSC] (DVD)
John Denver was at his best when singing to an audience - I always felt that his studio albums didn't do him justice. So, this DVD set reveals the full extent of his talent! Most of his well-known songs are here, as well as some lesser-known gems that deserve this opportunity to be enjoyed by a wider audience. There is even an unlisted surprise - John's wonderful rendition of `The Lord's Prayer' in American Indian sign-language is included in the 1984 solo concert from Lake Biwa. This goes some way to compensate for the omission of `Boy from the Country' from this concert (though that beautiful song is included as a bonus track in each of the other three concerts).

John's performances in Japan of `Johnny B. Goode' and `Memphis Tennessee' and his duet on `Wake up Lil Suzie' with Herb Pedersen, plus his 'Claudette' with Denny Brooks in Birmingham, are interesting departures that will no doubt come as a surprise to those who know him only as a country and ballad singer.

The two documentaries on the final disc show something of John's concerns for the natural world and the environment. The 1990 Earth Day documentary reminded me a little of Al Gore's excellent film `An Inconvenient Truth', though of course it pre-dated that film by 16 years! `Day at the Bighorn' was, I believe, the first of John's documentaries about the natural world; it would be great to follow this with `Rocky Mountain Reunion' or `Alaska: America's Child' on the next boxed set.

Heartfelt thanks are due to Barry Ehrmann, producer of this set, and his colleagues who helped to bring us this treasure. I look forward many more DVD releases from the John Denver archives!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Man with a Message, 27 Oct. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Around The World Live [DVD] [2009] [NTSC] (DVD)
John Denver's honesty and spirit have been wonderfully captured on this set of DVDs. The warmth and sincerity of this man is clear to see both in the featured documentaries and the live performances. This is an absolute must for any John Denver fan. Denver was an accomplished musician, a devoted father as well as a true humanitarian - his songs are a true reflection of his inner beauty. His music is ageless...it is hard to believe that some of this material is over 30 years old - his words are as true today as they were back then. Tragically the world lost John Denver too soon - but he left behind a wonderful legacy. These DVDs are highly recommended for everyone...the picture quality and sound are fantastic .... oh and....please sir, can we have some more?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The World is Waiting of This DVD, 21 Aug. 2009
By 
Ken Ashby "kashby14" (Hobart. Tasmania. AUS) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Around The World Live [DVD] [2009] [NTSC] (DVD)
As a John Denver fan, just cannot wait for this release..If the Sydney Concert is Re-mastered then this is what everyone has been waiting for.....Hope the DVD is a world wide release, have pre-ordered mine and many Australians will have happy memories...Well done
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its About Time, 29 Oct. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Around The World Live [DVD] [2009] [NTSC] (DVD)
John Denver was a brilliant live performer and the quality of this dvd collection does justice to his performances, his music and his legacy.John Denver fans new and old have waited a long time for his work to be realized into modern quality format and we have not been disappointed.

Lets hope that the studios get the message...There are an awful lot of like minded JD fans waiting for more and a new audience waiting to discover the music of a remarkable individual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW WOW WOW!!!!!!!, 14 Jan. 2010
By 
Mrs. Carole Thompson (north hykeham, lincolnshire, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Around The World Live [DVD] [2009] [NTSC] (DVD)
Ive been a John Denver fan now for 40 years... Phew.. well I was only 18 when I discovered this man. Living in England we only got to see," John Denver live" or when he was a guest on another show shown on the BBC. There was never enough of him on our screens, so this DVD is an absolute joy, in fact I have nearly worn it out, its been played that much. I was lucky enough to be at The Birmingham concert in 1986, so many happy memories.
Please buy this dvd and celebrate the life of this so talented human being..
The more that are sold, the more chance we have of Barry Ehrmann being able to give us more. I have bought them for either christmas or birthday presents, so enjoy this exceptional value DVD. warmest regards Carole x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular! A true demonstration of the artist's worldwide popularity, 5 Jan. 2010
By 
Kevin Bruce Legge (Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Around The World Live [DVD] [2009] [NTSC] (DVD)
I've been a JD fan since much longer than before "Take Me Home". Being a native West Virginian, I didn't truly appreciate his lack of knowledge of WV geography. However, the popularity and rise to stardom in a career marked with such great musician/songwriters is nothing but incredible. In viewing the last disk aimed at world environmental issues, more than twenty years since its release, makes a person wonder. He would have been awarded a Nobel peace prize instead of former VP Al Gore. What would the world've been like had he not died before his time. A remarkable man that knew how to work the entertainment industry. I miss him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JOHN DENVER "AROUND THE WORLD LIVE", 14 Oct. 2009
By 
This review is from: Around The World Live [DVD] [2009] [NTSC] (DVD)
AS AN AVID JOHN DENVER FAN I EAGERLY AWAIT THE RELEASE OF THIS DVD AND I FORECAST THAT IT WILL BE WORTH WAITING FOR.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Around The World Live [DVD] [2009] [NTSC]
Around The World Live [DVD] [2009] [NTSC] by John Denver (DVD - 2009)
£24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews