Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful for various jobs.
A well made unit. Ideal when you really want to be sure that the gate will not come open.
Published on 27 July 2010 by Biker one

versus
25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars locking carabiners
total waste of money.One threaded clip just about works and the other just slides up and down on the thread.Obviously there is no quality control checks in the manufacturing process.I can`t even get my own nut to fit the thread in our vast mechanical store at work.
Save your money,some might say it`s only a fiver so what do you expect?
I expect it to work,fiver...
Published on 12 Dec 2011 by bbg


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars locking carabiners, 12 Dec 2011
This review is from: Mil-Com 6mm Screw Gate Locking Carabiners - 2 Pack (Misc.)
total waste of money.One threaded clip just about works and the other just slides up and down on the thread.Obviously there is no quality control checks in the manufacturing process.I can`t even get my own nut to fit the thread in our vast mechanical store at work.
Save your money,some might say it`s only a fiver so what do you expect?
I expect it to work,fiver or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Useless, 14 May 2012
By 
G. Berry (leeds, uk.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mil-Com 6mm Screw Gate Locking Carabiners - 2 Pack (Misc.)
Ordered these as I was convinced that they were the same as my current ones, used for my keys, turns out these are way smaller and cheaper. lasted about 30 secs after I attached my mag lite via a key ring. Spring gate stopped working and then the gate bent and went passed where it attaches to. Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable value, 21 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mil-Com 6mm Screw Gate Locking Carabiners - 2 Pack (Misc.)
These items appear to be quite robust for their weight and as described elsewhere they appear to be more than adequate for light - medium loads which can be carried with confidence. For example, I have placed reasonably valuable items in pockets of my rucksack and secured these objects to D rings on straps using a lanyard, e.g. camera, tactical torch, keys, etc., with confidence just so I know they won't get lost if they fall out inadvertently. They would also be perfect for attaching items to belts, etc. The screw fixing mechanism appears to be tight enough to remain in place securely although others have expressed concerns in this regard. This is the only reason I have given 3 stars and not 5. I will wait and see what happens in the future with more robust use. I have, however, ordered 2 more pairs because they are such good value for money and I can simply attach them to belts, loops or webbing, etc, in case I need them in future. The additional weight is negligible and their utility far outweighs the cost of having them 'just in case'. Recommend.

Addendum(Jun'11):having bought 3 more prs of this item I would just like to add a further comment. There does appear to be a quality control issue with this item as at least 2 items have had problems with the threads which secure the screw locking barrel. One had no threads whatsoever whilst the other (in a separate pack) had inadequate thread depth which meant that barrel wouldn't lock gate properly. However, would still rate 3 stars for above reasons.

Addendum (May '12): Wilkos have now started selling very similar carabiners along with their camping goods. Slightly bigger and very similar quality. The main difference is the price - 2 for less than 2.00!!!!! Just bought a couple of packets and currently trying them out. Appear to be reasonable quality and all screw locking barrels actually work properly unlike these ones. Try Wilkos first! Good luck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Light duty carabineer, 5 April 2011
By 
Ekij (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mil-Com 6mm Screw Gate Locking Carabiners - 2 Pack (Misc.)
When these arrived they appeared very light duty. At only 11g each they don't seem as sturdy as they looked in the picture and while the trap side has the screw to lock it closed the trap side doesn't clip to support any weight. This means that from a mechanical strain point of view the carab is a `C' shape rather than an `O' shape which makes it much weaker (much less than half as strong).

This is not a climbing rated carab (and it's not supposed to be), a climbing rated carab is rated at a static loading of over 2000kg. I wondered just how weak this carab would be so I carefully applied some static load, I had a convenient 80kg bloke to use as a test weight.
A single carab supported 40kg (a rope loop supported the 80kg weight with the carab holding only one half of the loop) but on changing the set up to support the whole 80kg weight the carab deformed open (see pic).
Clearly in this instance this failure was `customer abuse' but I felt it was disappointing as an 80kg dynamic load could easily be reached doing something like hoisting a backpack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful for various jobs., 27 July 2010
By 
Biker one "Cooperman" (Royal Leamington Spa, UK.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mil-Com 6mm Screw Gate Locking Carabiners - 2 Pack (Misc.)
A well made unit. Ideal when you really want to be sure that the gate will not come open.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great value, 11 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mil-Com 6mm Screw Gate Locking Carabiners - 2 Pack (Misc.)
Obviously not for climbing but good for light/medium weight loads.
Light in weight, better quality than I was expecting and delivery was very quick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One of them turned out fine but the othe was messed up, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mil-Com 6mm Screw Gate Locking Carabiners - 2 Pack (Misc.)
One of the Carabiners works fine (for now), but the other had the screw stuck in the lock position. It took a significant amount of effort to unlock it and then i found out that it doesn't screw on and off it just slides and the only way to get it to stay in the lock position is to slide it up enough that it gets stuck there.

No quality control on this product. Don't buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A bit disappointed, 5 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mil-Com 6mm Screw Gate Locking Carabiners - 2 Pack (Misc.)
Bought these to attatch light kit to my rucksack or use at the end of a lanyard. They are very lightly built and the screw locks wiggle about when done up, so give the impresion of not done up wouldn't get them again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY IT!!!!!, 29 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mil-Com 6mm Screw Gate Locking Carabiners - 2 Pack (Misc.)
I sadly noticed it too late that one of the carabiners were useless as the srew top was just hanging coz it was too big.... By then I have opened it and tried out the other one so I could not send it back.
Can't say money well spent :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not satisfactorily 'lockable', 4 Nov 2012
By 
Robert Groom (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mil-Com 6mm Screw Gate Locking Carabiners - 2 Pack (Misc.)
Manufactured from aluminium, these are quite light, though I have no reason to doubt their strength. The gates are spring closed as you would expect.

My criticism concerns the 'locking' action which consists of a knurled aluminium nut which can be run up to the top of the gate to prevent it from being opened inadvertently.

The length of the locking nut and the thread which it runs on means that by the time it has come to rest at the top of its run, it's off the top of its thread. This effectively means that there is no resistance to it running back down the thread due to vibration.

Passable for casual use in a non-critical, relatively low load application, but I think you will want to look elsewhere for something which is going to give you a truly secure connection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews