Customer Reviews


704 Reviews
5 star:
 (464)
4 star:
 (117)
3 star:
 (53)
2 star:
 (28)
1 star:
 (42)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


120 of 137 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek XI
THIS YEAR'S IRON MAN
I guess there are different sorts of die hard fans. I'm of the type who has lapped up everything Star Trek for 40 years. The orginal series was great and so were most of the even numbered movies. TNG was a great ride but with each successive series thereafter, the ideas got less an less original - not that the shows weren't created by hugely...
Published on 14 Oct 2009 by Kobiyashi Maru

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars New Frontiers
2009's reboot of Star Trek is certainly an enjoyable improvement over the ailing Next Generation series of movies, but despite all the love and US box-office success (the film wasn't nearly so popular with ticket-buyers in the rest of the world), it still doesn't make the leap to being a great film. The opening with the birth of Kirk and the death of his father during a...
Published on 21 Sep 2010 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 271 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars New Frontiers, 21 Sep 2010
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
2009's reboot of Star Trek is certainly an enjoyable improvement over the ailing Next Generation series of movies, but despite all the love and US box-office success (the film wasn't nearly so popular with ticket-buyers in the rest of the world), it still doesn't make the leap to being a great film. The opening with the birth of Kirk and the death of his father during a battle packs a surprising emotional punch and the film consistently does an interesting job of showing how the characters we know and love evolved - a cocky young Jim Kirk learning to brush that chip off his shoulder and earn responsibility, Spock still struggling with his half-human impulses - but there are things that don't work that well playing against the film. J.J. Abrams tendency to put lens flares in every other shot becomes increasingly distracting and, if anything, the refit of the Enterprise is much worse than in the 1979 film, making it look distractingly like a wildly overlit nightclub or computer salesroom. It's also a shame that for someone so cavalier about using other composer's music, Michael Giacchino's score eschews Jerry Goldsmith's iconic movie theme in favor of a combination of Tan Dun oriental scoring for the Vulcans and a Danny Elfman Batman-lite theme for the Enterprise itself. Even his version of Alexander Courage's original TV theme in the end credits is typically a rather hollow reorchestration.

The plot is another time travel/revenge story that ingeniously allows the filmmakers to create an alternate timeline for future entries with a well-motivated but otherwise rather underdeveloped villain in Eric Bana. It's blessed with particularly good casting, with Zachary Quinto's Spock and Karl Urban's McCoy uncannily catching the essence of their predecessors without falling into slavish imitation, and the film does work in many nods to the original series in the form of green women in bikinis, Commander Pike in his wheelchair, Sulu showing off his fencing, Kirk taking the Koboyashi Maru test, Chekov having twouble with his `r's and `v's and those perennially ill-fated redshirts. There's even a little bit of emotion with Leonard Nimoy's final scene talking about friendship defining both Kirk and Spock, though it's a pity that it wasn't William Shatner who delivered the iconic `Boldly go' end narration. It's a fun film filled with neat touches that's better than anyone had a right to expect, but there's still room for improvement in future voyages.

The single-disc version is extras-lite - just an audio commentary, featurette, outtakes and a couple of trailers for other movies, with the two-disc version offering deleted scenes and the expected self-congratulatory featurettes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


120 of 137 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek XI, 14 Oct 2009
By 
THIS YEAR'S IRON MAN
I guess there are different sorts of die hard fans. I'm of the type who has lapped up everything Star Trek for 40 years. The orginal series was great and so were most of the even numbered movies. TNG was a great ride but with each successive series thereafter, the ideas got less an less original - not that the shows weren't created by hugely talented people but how could they stay hot after hundreds of episodes? By the time we limped to Enterprise, the franchise needed a shot in the arm if it was going to survive. I was hugely sceptical about Abrams' version - Simon Pegg as Scotty, come on! I mean we love him but that definately felt like credibility was being stretched.

What a true delight it was then to see a true pumped up, rock 'n' roll version of Star Trek! Abrams and his gang did a clever thing, they created their very own Star Trek leaving the original series and everything we know fully intact sat happily in its own time line. Don't misunderstand though, this is the very same Kirk, Spock, McCoy and co. we all know and love, just sent down a slightly different path. So we can take a few liberties, mix things up a bit and generally have a ton of fun.

The story does what it needs to, the casting is great (especially Spock and McCoy), the effects are fantastic and Abrams manages to do character moments on the move so there's hardly time to take a breath - oh and Simon Pegg is great as Scotty!

Overall I got a real sense of joi de vivre, hence it being this year's Iron Man something that's been missing from Trek for a long time.

Maybe the best thing is, die hards and newbies alike will all find something to like.

Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good effects, but poor story, 25 Feb 2010
Good special effects, especially on Blu-ray, although a bit too fast moving to absorb what was going on. The story was a bit empty and it was difficult to make a connection with the characters. Ok overall, but probably worth renting rather than buying as I don't feel the urge to watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great characters in a tried and tested theme, 4 Feb 2010
This review is from: Star Trek [DVD] (DVD)
I've rated this 3/5 because of the great characters, not the story. As one would expect, the special effects are impressive and the story carries itself along well, but the strength of this movie is in re-introducing the familiar characters to us and giving us a back story to all the adventures that subsequently happen. Chris Pine must be singled out for his portrayal of James T. Kirk, sometimes unnervingly like William Shatner's original.

Weaknesses are many. Why have a romance between Spock and Uhura? Perhaps there's more to come, as there's bound to be a sequel or two. If you're at all scientifically literate you will cringe at the unecessary invention or "red matter," the notion that a supernova could destroy a galaxy, a complete misunderstanding of black holes and much more.

The story is probably the greatest weakness, a basic bad-guys-from-the-future-seeking-revenge plot with a big spaceship and lots of tattoos. There's not much more to say about it.

After hard-SF writers such as Stephen Baxter have so effectively dealt with the ins and outs of time travel I would have hoped for something less derivative of aging pulp SF. Perhaps sometime there will be a movie that is entertaining as well as scientifically literate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


118 of 142 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek, 3 Oct 2009
By 
C. MacLellan (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Trek [DVD] (DVD)
So, I've something to tell you all; something not even some of my closest friends are aware of...I'm a MASSIVE Star Trek fan. I've seen pretty much every episode of Star Trek ever made, I've seen every film made (even the one where Kirk fights God!), and I could have a debate with any other Trekkie about who is the best captain (Janeway, naturally). However, in recent years, Star Trek was a franchise on its knees. Since the end of Enterprise in 2005, there was no Star Trek series on TV for the first time in 18 years and the last film, Nemesis, effectively signalled the end of the line for the Next Generation crew. What was to be done? Well step in Lost, Alias and Mission Impossible man J J Abrams to breathe life into the once great franchise. To paraphrase Spock: "It's Star Trek Jim, but not as we know it."

After the death of his father aboard the USS Kelvin, James T Kirk (Chris Pine) runs wild in his directionless life. Meanwhile, on Vulcan, Spock (Zachary Quinto) is ostracised due to his mixed Vulcan-human parentage. Both are headed for the USS Enterprise, both there is only room for one in the captain's chair.

Reinventing Star Trek was never going to be an easy job for J J Abrams and his team, as there was almost forty years of canon behind them. However, from the first frames of the new film, the Star Trek timeline has been completely torn apart, due to the premature death of George Kirk, James Kirk's father. Some fans have complained that this isn't `real' Star Trek, but it gives the writers the opportunity to completely reinvent the franchise, both in this film and the inevitable sequels. This is an opportunity which Roberto Orci and Alex Kurtzman seize with both hands, with a major re-writing of the Trek universe occurring. All bets are off from this point onwards, which is what Star Trek needed, after having picky fans moaning for years that x couldn't have happened, as y had happened earlier, but this also affected z. Let the reinvention begin.

Despite this reinvention, the focus stays on the relationship between Kirk, the passionate human, and Spock, the logical Vulcan. Chris Pine is good as the cocky, self-assured, skirt-chasing Kirk. Although he doesn't have the same bizarre speech pattern as Shatner, when the words come from his mouth, you believe that he is James T Kirk. The way he holds him self is similar too, especially in a moment where he sits in the captain's chair with his fist under his chin, which is completely reminiscent of Shatner's Kirk. The superb performance though comes from Zachery Qunito as Spock. Not only does he have the advantage of already looking like Leonard Nemoy, there is a real belief that beneath the Vulcan exterior, there is a battle raging between the human and Vulcan aspects of his personality.

The rest of the cast put in strong performances as well. Zoe Saldana's Uhura finally has a story arc that Nichelle Nichols would have killed for, Simon Pegg's Scotty and Anton Yelchin's Chevok provide the comic relief, and John Cho's Sulu getting to take part in a pretty tense sword fight. The highlight amongst the supporting cast though is Karl Urban, as Leonard `Bones' McCoy, who has mastered the mannerisms of the grumpy ship's doctor to perfection. More of him in the eventual sequel would be more than welcome.

Abrams has also succeeded in doing something no previous Trek did - Star Trek is now sexy. The original crew we ancient by the time they started making films, and by the time they made Nemesis, the Next Generation crew had too many wrinkles and expanding waistlines. In this film, the hem lines of the skirts are that little big higher, Kirk is caught in bed with a green alien, and the USS Enterprise is very much suited to the iPod generation. The film is also quick paced and action packed, with some fantastic special effects.

The Verdict
Set expectations to stunning - thanks to J J Abrams, Star Trek will live long and prosper. Oh, and it made me cry...twice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


102 of 125 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, but some Trek fans may run away screaming, 17 July 2009
By 
This review is from: Star Trek [DVD] (DVD)
OK, from a general film perspective this is an absolutely brilliant, entertaining and exciting film; the best I've seen for a good few years.

From a personal perspective (I Like Star Trek, and always enjoy watching it, I'm just not a card carrying, uniform wearing, kitchen converted into a transporter pad, fan) I think its a great twist on the series; the fact the film doesn't resolve everything that happens in it by the end, means they can now do loads of different things, free from Star Trek history.

But, I can understand why some people may not appreciate it; it is a big shift in concept and implementation: the film is VERY different from olde Star Trek.

But frankly; get over it, Star Trek needed a rejuvenation, and this is a superb one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STAR TREK DVD, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek [DVD] (DVD)
As a huge fan of the original series I approached this with caution. Never been a fan of the Captain Picard crew as the character balance/writing was sorely lacking the magic/humour from the Kirk/Spock era.
While viewing the film I recall thinking how good the writing was and how it captured the spirit, camaraderie and feel of the original series, although on a much grander scale.
I have to take my hat off to JJ Abrams, he has really nailed it with a direct hit in the bullseye. The visuals are amazing and the sets are awesome. The budget is all there for the viewer on the screen, it is a visual treat, coupled with the writing and great casting (all of the main crew members are superbly cast) it is a genuine blockbuster that continues the Star Trek legacy with honour. I look forward to more of the same please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliance, 15 Oct 2013
By 
David P (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek [DVD] (DVD)
A superb introduction to a new Star Trek universe. I saw this at the cinema, but as the new film is about to come up on the satellite film channels, I thought I would like to see this one again before seeing the new one, so I just bought the DVD.

Bringing new versions of much loved characters in to the public eye is always a tremendously difficult task. To cast nearly all the major roles with actors who manage to convey so much of their original counterparts without going so far as to be just outright impersonating them is a work of genius, and their own acting abilities are also remarkable in this regard. The only exception perhaps would be Simon Pegg, who is definitely not really channeling Scotty at all, but makes the character his own, and very well he does it too. The small injections of humour from him, and indeed other characters too, work really well, I just hope they don't over develop it and go too far in future films. (Well, OK, maybe the whizzing about in a conveniently transparent pipe full of water was a bit too daft).

The little potted histories of some of the main characters and how they all meet for the first time is handled very cleverly and really adds depth to the story. Fabulous entertainment. Mr Abrams certainly knows his craft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Updates Inc., 12 Jan 2013
By 
Furio (Genova - Italy) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Star Trek [DVD] (DVD)
One should take this film for what it is: a US blockbuster-style action-packed special-effectorama with good-looking actors quoting a famous TV-series of the past. It is no worse than most spin-offs from original series that, each in their way, could not keep up with the original one.
As such it works perfectly fine as many US films are known to do.
Neglect the usual simplistic ethics, the trite underdog plot, the intricate but so convenient time warps, the action scenes copied and pasted from countless action movies to this replica. Doing otherwise would be highly illogical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You Don't Need To Be A Trekkie To Enjoy This, 19 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Science fiction is my favourite genre but i never was a star trek fan, I did fall into that popular belief star trek was for trekkies... not that there is anything wrong with being a trekkie... and that the series had just become habitual for most. Star trek the reboot 2009 has completely changed my view, YOU DON'T HAVE TO BE A TREKKIE to enjoy this film, it is spectacular from start to finish and in certain parts awe inspiring.
And Regardless wether you are a sci fi junkie or not you will still enjoy this thrill ride of a movie if epic action packed blockbusters are your thing.
Ressurecting the original Iconic characters with younger actors was a gamble... a gamble that paid off. Every actor is matched well... you realy do belive you are looking at a young captain kirk and spock. Realy can't think of anything to complain about in this film, im sure the hardocre fans may do some nit picking but as a casual outsider this movie worked and reeled me in for the sequels.

As for the blu ray disc... i would say its the best looking high def film since Avatar.

If the movies producers had set out to reastablish star trek among the movie going massess, pump new blood and fresh ideas into what was a stagnant series, while recruiting new fans along the way... then star trek 2009 was an unequivocal success!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 271 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Trek [DVD]
Star Trek [DVD] by J.J. Abrams (DVD - 2009)
3.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews