Customer Reviews


791 Reviews
5 star:
 (536)
4 star:
 (125)
3 star:
 (57)
2 star:
 (30)
1 star:
 (43)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable but not mind-blowing
When JJ Abrams, the man behind eerie plane crash TV hit 'Lost', announced that he intended to make the next installment in the somewhat creaky Star Trek franchise, the reaction from fans of the series was mixed. What Abram's did though was revive a movie behemoth that seemed to have been left in the past, after the original cast either passed-on, retired, or in William...
Published on 11 Jan 2010 by Captain Pugwash

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars New Frontiers
2009's reboot of Star Trek is certainly an enjoyable improvement over the ailing Next Generation series of movies, but despite all the love and US box-office success (the film wasn't nearly so popular with ticket-buyers in the rest of the world), it still doesn't make the leap to being a great film. The opening with the birth of Kirk and the death of his father during a...
Published on 21 Sep 2010 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 280 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable but not mind-blowing, 11 Jan 2010
This review is from: Star Trek [DVD] (DVD)
When JJ Abrams, the man behind eerie plane crash TV hit 'Lost', announced that he intended to make the next installment in the somewhat creaky Star Trek franchise, the reaction from fans of the series was mixed. What Abram's did though was revive a movie behemoth that seemed to have been left in the past, after the original cast either passed-on, retired, or in William Shatner's case re-invented themselves as post-ironic legends. The result of Abrams' labours is a spectacular, and surprisingly faithful Star Trek film, that acknowledges the show's past without slavishly adhering to continuity. To be honest, I anticipated fewer nods to the past, but this is obviously an official part of the franchise, that pulls off the trick of providing openings for further Star Trek movies whilst remaining a decent stand-alone Sci-fi actioner in its own right. With some surprising casting choices (Simon Pegg as Scotty!), current acting talent (Zachary Quinto was surely born to play Spock), and heart-warming cameos (?), the movie is hardly ground-breaking, but is ultimately satisfying, and proves that Trekkies everywhere can be reassured that their show will continue to boldly go, for many years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars New Frontiers, 21 Sep 2010
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
2009's reboot of Star Trek is certainly an enjoyable improvement over the ailing Next Generation series of movies, but despite all the love and US box-office success (the film wasn't nearly so popular with ticket-buyers in the rest of the world), it still doesn't make the leap to being a great film. The opening with the birth of Kirk and the death of his father during a battle packs a surprising emotional punch and the film consistently does an interesting job of showing how the characters we know and love evolved - a cocky young Jim Kirk learning to brush that chip off his shoulder and earn responsibility, Spock still struggling with his half-human impulses - but there are things that don't work that well playing against the film. J.J. Abrams tendency to put lens flares in every other shot becomes increasingly distracting and, if anything, the refit of the Enterprise is much worse than in the 1979 film, making it look distractingly like a wildly overlit nightclub or computer salesroom. It's also a shame that for someone so cavalier about using other composer's music, Michael Giacchino's score eschews Jerry Goldsmith's iconic movie theme in favor of a combination of Tan Dun oriental scoring for the Vulcans and a Danny Elfman Batman-lite theme for the Enterprise itself. Even his version of Alexander Courage's original TV theme in the end credits is typically a rather hollow reorchestration.

The plot is another time travel/revenge story that ingeniously allows the filmmakers to create an alternate timeline for future entries with a well-motivated but otherwise rather underdeveloped villain in Eric Bana. It's blessed with particularly good casting, with Zachary Quinto's Spock and Karl Urban's McCoy uncannily catching the essence of their predecessors without falling into slavish imitation, and the film does work in many nods to the original series in the form of green women in bikinis, Commander Pike in his wheelchair, Sulu showing off his fencing, Kirk taking the Koboyashi Maru test, Chekov having twouble with his `r's and `v's and those perennially ill-fated redshirts. There's even a little bit of emotion with Leonard Nimoy's final scene talking about friendship defining both Kirk and Spock, though it's a pity that it wasn't William Shatner who delivered the iconic `Boldly go' end narration. It's a fun film filled with neat touches that's better than anyone had a right to expect, but there's still room for improvement in future voyages.

The single-disc version is extras-lite - just an audio commentary, featurette, outtakes and a couple of trailers for other movies, with the two-disc version offering deleted scenes and the expected self-congratulatory featurettes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


123 of 141 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek XI, 14 Oct 2009
By 
THIS YEAR'S IRON MAN
I guess there are different sorts of die hard fans. I'm of the type who has lapped up everything Star Trek for 40 years. The orginal series was great and so were most of the even numbered movies. TNG was a great ride but with each successive series thereafter, the ideas got less an less original - not that the shows weren't created by hugely talented people but how could they stay hot after hundreds of episodes? By the time we limped to Enterprise, the franchise needed a shot in the arm if it was going to survive. I was hugely sceptical about Abrams' version - Simon Pegg as Scotty, come on! I mean we love him but that definately felt like credibility was being stretched.

What a true delight it was then to see a true pumped up, rock 'n' roll version of Star Trek! Abrams and his gang did a clever thing, they created their very own Star Trek leaving the original series and everything we know fully intact sat happily in its own time line. Don't misunderstand though, this is the very same Kirk, Spock, McCoy and co. we all know and love, just sent down a slightly different path. So we can take a few liberties, mix things up a bit and generally have a ton of fun.

The story does what it needs to, the casting is great (especially Spock and McCoy), the effects are fantastic and Abrams manages to do character moments on the move so there's hardly time to take a breath - oh and Simon Pegg is great as Scotty!

Overall I got a real sense of joi de vivre, hence it being this year's Iron Man something that's been missing from Trek for a long time.

Maybe the best thing is, die hards and newbies alike will all find something to like.

Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where No One Has Gone Before, Again, 17 Nov 2014
This review is from: Star Trek [DVD] (DVD)
Paramount and producer/director JJ Abrams took the bold step of taking "Star Trek" back to square one with this terrific, spirited re-boot of the classic tv series from the 60s.
The fabled "five year mission" of the Starship USS Enterprise under Captain James Kirk lies in the future when we pick up the story. Captain Christopher Pike (Bruce Greenwood) commands the Enterprise when Romulan renegade Nero (a splendidly hard nosed Eric Bana) arrives from the future via a black hole, hell bent on wrecking havoc against the Federation which he misguidedly blames for the destruction of his home world. Pike must lead his new crew, with young officers Kirk, Spock, Uhura, McCoy, Scotty and co, into a desperate fight for survival; so it's a whole new cast, but the same old thrills and spills!
I must admit to having my doubts to begin with. For this to work, the studio had to get things spot on in terms of "re-casting" the iconic Shatner, Nimoy, Kelley and the rest with new faces to take their place, but thankfully they got things pretty much spot on. Chris Pine swanks about in the manner born as a headstrong young Kirk, Karl Urban and Simon Pegg are great as a comedy double act McCoy and Scotty, and the outstanding Zachary Quinto as Spock looks as though he's undergone a mild meld with Leonard Nimoy.
To add to this, we've got a great script which packs in a ton of action and a load of humour, and first rate special effects, all handled with terrific panache and due reverence for the original series by director Abrams. This might not be cutting edge sci fi, but by gum, if you want entertainment for your cash, "Star Trek" delivers in spades. Get out the beer and crisps, settle back, and let the crew of the Starship Enterprise take you where no one has gone before, again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Get rid of that ******* lens flare!, 18 Mar 2010
By 
D. Harrison (Northampton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
My wife bought this on Blu-ray a few weeks ago and I've now watched it three times, so felt it was ripe for a review.
As far as the film itself is concerned I really quite enjoyed it. I felt that the prequel idea was one that worked pretty well and it was interesting to see how the characters might have been in their formative Starfleet years. On the whole I think the film brought this off quite well, and some of the actors chosen to play the characters, most notably Zachary Quinto as Spock, really do look like they would have done many years before.
The story was for the most part convincing, although for me any tales involving time travel tend to get a bit confusing and require a large suspension of disbelief, hence the three viewings required to get my head around the machinations of the plot.
The most frustrating and annoying thing about the film for me, however, were the constant streaks and flashes of coloured light across the screen. At first I thought it might be a problem with the disc or even my Blu-ray player. Even though it's still new I updated the firmware on my player thinking that might solve the problem - it didn't. I checked loads of other Amazon reviews to see if anyone else suffered this problem - evidently not. My wife told me that a few of her friends on a Doctor Who forum had complained about this too but had not suggested an answer or solution.
Eventually I discovered what the problem was with a few well chosen Google searches - and there is no solution! These streaks and flashes of coloured light are apparently a phenomenon known as lens flare and, by all accounts, are put there deliberately by the film maker using a Knoll Lens Flare filter. Some people actually appear to think that this lens flare enhances the film. Well, sorry, but for me it is annoying in the extreme and completely detracts from my enjoyment of the film. I found someone posting on Twitter who had invented the Star Trek XI Lens Flare Drinking Game - I would have been comatose before the film was half way through if I played this game!
Without this I would have given a 4/5 rating, but the lens flare must reduce it to only 3/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well-paced, stunning visuals, great one-liners..., 31 Dec 2009
By 
Colin McCartney (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Star Trek [DVD] (DVD)
...suspend disbelief at the plot though. "Star Trek" is very much a "go with the flow" film. There are some genuine raise-the-hairs-on-the-back-of-your-neck moments - both cinematically and dramatically but, thankfully not, sentimentally (the inclusion of the Leonard Nimoy Spock is, for me, surplus to requirements).

This "Star Trek" film goes right back to pilot episode "The Cage" for its source material. It cleverly manages to dovetail with the original TV series whilst demanding very little in the way of prior knowledge from newcomers. The film just about strikes the right balance between action and futurism without getting entangled in the political and philosophical aspects that all too often bogged-down "The Next Generation". Simon Pegg turns Scotty into a Red Dwarf/Hitchhikers Guide-type comedy turn to good effect. His Scottish accent's OK (better than James Doohan's anyway). Zoe Saldana as Uhura is also impressive in taking Nichelle Nicholls "spare part" character to centre-stage.

Not a perfect film, but with this and District 9 [DVD] [2009] we really have been spoiled for science fiction in 2009 - possibly the two finest movies from the genre this decade coming right at its very end.

4.5 stars rounded down to 4. Rounded DOWN due to the use of "Sabotage" by the Beastie Boys in the soundtrack: look, if Kirk listened to classic 20th/21st century music he would listen to Model 500 or Underground Resistance NOT the Beasties. Even if he DID listen to the Beasties, he would have preferred something off Paul's Boutique or Check Your Head, not Ill Communication. Why is it that movie-makers' lack of musical knowledge so often lets them down?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not really Star Trek?, 11 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Star Trek [DVD] (DVD)
When I saw the film at the cinema I felt angry that so much that had been created and developed by previous writers, directors and actors had been jettisoned by the change in the time line. How could Leonard Nimoy have supported it? But after seeing the DVD at home where it was possible to evaluate the creativity of the new idea I changed my mind. Some have said that the plot is poor; but compared with the modern trend to have noise, multiple explosions and far too much CGI this film is a pleasant change. The actors actually act! There is drama. The director's use of anamorphic filming brings back the feeling that what you see is really happening. I was impressed. The problem for those of us who have loved Star Trek in all its manifestations is how to reconcile what will, if the new time line continues, be difficult to associate with the characters so well created and developed over the years. Kirk will be much the same(brash and quite unsuitable to be in charge in many cases!) but Spock? What are we to make of him now? And a universe without the wisdom of a fully developed civilization such as the Vulcans? Great new opportunities for writers, granted, but for those new to Star Trek so much will be missed that I have enjoyed over the years. But JJ Abrams has trod a difficult path between the old and the new and all in all he has succeeded in breathing new life into what, admittedly, could become a tired old series. The DVD is well worth having.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars reinvigorating a dying series, 25 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek XI (3-Disc Edition) - with Free Comic Book and Bonus Digital Copy (Exclusive to Amazon.co.uk) [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
first off, blu ray quality is top for audio and video -> 4.5/5 stars for lack of DTS HD master audio

movie itself gives new life to a series which has been a yawner for a while. I liked the original TV series, but the spin offs were tedious and movies not excellent (except for Wrath of Khan ;)). I was pleasantly surprised that an 11th episode could be so good - it was. Kirk is no Shatner (with his OTT lovable/comedic style) but at least he is a captain with some pep and emotion unlike those Picard and Co. (/yawn) - that said the new young Kirk is OK but they could have casted better; however, Spock and Bones were really well casted.

Obviously some will hate it because it doesn't follow the prime directive religiously as Next Generation dictated - political correctness fanaticism (/runs away); but frankly Kirk never followed that rule once, so don't know what Next Gen was on about. I think that high budget production is actually closer to the original series than the movies from episode 5 onwards. Anyway glad to see they brought in more grand action scenes in a Star Wars style, which i always felt lacked a bit in the movies. -> movie gets 4.5/5 - only Blade Runner and Gattaca get 5 for Sci-fi in my book ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek X1, 23 Dec 2009
When I saw this on the cinema, I was not sure if this latest in the Star Trek saga, would like up to it's predessors. The film did live up to my expectations! I had only just purchased a blu-ray player, so I ordered Star Trek in that format. what a difference from DVD format. Viewed on a wide-screen LCD television and with 5.1 sound, amazing it was almost like being back in the cinema. I am now sold on HD and Blu-ray! Look forward to getting more of classics in this new format.

Live long and prosper!

Terry BridgesStar Trek XI (3-Disc Edition) with Bonus Digital Copy [Blu-ray] [2009]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars STAR TREK [2009] [Blu-ray], 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
STAR TREK [2009] [Blu-ray] Action Movie of the Year! Spectacular Action!

The future begins in J.J. Abrams "high-octane hit" `STAR TREK' that has taken audience by storm. When the Romulan Nero comes from the future to take revenge on the Federation, rivals Kirk and Spock must work together to stop him from destroying everything they know. On an "exhilarating" journey filled with "spectacular action," comedy and cosmic peril, the new recruits of the U.S.S. Enterprise will voyage through unimaginable danger, boldly going where no one has gone before. "Even if you've never seen `Star Trek' before, this movie is for you!"

Cast: Chris Pine, Zachary Quinto, Leonard Nimoy, Eric Bana, Bruce Greenwood, Karl Urban, ZoŽ Saldana, Simon Pegg, John Cho, Anton Yelchin, Ben Cross, Winona Ryder, Chris Hemsworth, Jennifer Morrison, Rachel Nichols, Faran Tahir, Clifton Collins Jr., Tyler Perry, James Cawley, Pasha Lychnikoff and Lucia Rijker

Director: J.J. Abrams

Producers: Damon Lindelof and J.J. Abrams

Screenplay: Alex Kurtzman and Roberto Orci

Composer: Michael Giacchino

Cinematography: Dan Mindel

Video Resolution: 1080p

Aspect Ratio: 2.40:1

Audio: English: 5.1 Dolby TrueHD, English: 5.1 5.1 Dolby Digital Audio Description, German: 5.1 Dolby Digital, Spanish: 5.1 Dolby Digital, French: 5.1 Dolby Digital and Italian: 5.1 Dolby Digital

Subtitles: English, English SDH, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, French, German, Italian, Norwegian, Spanish and Swedish

Running Time: 127 minutes

Region: Region B/2

Number of discs: 1

Studio: Paramount Home Entertainment

Andrew's Blu-ray Review: Rebooting old film franchises is all the rage in Hollywood these days. When a once-popular film series starts to lose its lustre and outlive its usefulness, the time may come to hit the Reset button and start over fresh. This strategy worked wonders for both Batman and James Bond. Superman really could have benefited from the same, but unfortunately the non-reboot quasi-sequel we got instead disappointed on many levels. Still stinging from that one, the studio behind it is currently discussing the reboot option for its next attempt.

But when is a reboot not really a reboot? Is it possible for a movie to be a linear sequel, a prequel, and also a reboot all at the same time? That's the conundrum posed by the newly-revamped 'Star Trek.' The title alone boldly declares its intentions. This isn't 'Star Trek XI'. It's just 'Star Trek' full stop. Start over. Reboot. And yet, it's also not. Can a film have it both ways? In this case, amazingly, yes.

Truth be told, it took a lot of cojones on Paramount's part to even contemplate the prospect of rebooting its venerable 'Star Trek' franchise. Undeniably, 'Trek' was on pretty shaky ground in recent years. The last movie, 'Nemesis,' was its first outright box office bomb. And the most recent TV series, 'Enterprise', was cancelled due to poor ratings. Nevertheless, 'Trek' still boasts an enormous and famously ill-tempered fan base that doesn't take easily to change or to disruptions in the series' labyrinthine canon, and starting over. Could any film manage the near-impossible task of appeasing old fans while attracting new ones? That was the challenge laid out for director J.J. Abrams and his writers. The solution they came up with is really quite ingenious.

Plans for a prequel film that would revisit younger versions of the "Original Crew" characters Kirk, Spock, McCoy, and others during their Starfleet Academy days had been in discussions at least as far back as 1990. For various reasons, the project was scrapped. For their reboot, J.J. Abrams and company decided to revive that concept, but also cleverly tied it to the original continuity via the convenient excuse of time travel. In the new story, a villainous Romulan named Nero [Eric Bana] from the 'Next Generation' era has travelled back in time to the early 23rd Century and set in motion a chain of events that will change history and directly affect the life of young James T. Kirk. Thus, all of the events of the 'Star Trek' that fans have followed for four decades still happened, while this new movie creates an alternate, parallel timeline. "Whatever our lives might have been, if the time continuum was disrupted, our destinies have changed," Spock explains. This avoids the pitfalls of a typical prequel, in which the fates of all the characters are already set in stone. Anything can happen in this new timeline. The entire history of 'Star Trek' has just shot off in another direction.

The opening scene sets the tone. From out of nowhere, the Federation Starship U.S.S. Kelvin is set upon and attacked by a gigantic Romulan vessel of superior technology. The ship's captain is taken prisoner and executed, leaving First Officer George Kirk in command. Meanwhile, Kirk's pregnant wife is in the throes of labour on a lower deck. This culminates in a huge battle simultaneous with the birth of their son James. The scene is epic in scope, operatic in emotions, and immediately declares the movie's agenda to wilfully break with 'Trek' canon. It's utterly fantastic. From that point, the film jumps ahead to show the rebellious Jim's youth in Iowa and enlistment in Starfleet Academy, where he meets important characters such as McCoy, Spock, and Uhura. Eventually, he winds up on the bridge of the U.S.S. Enterprise right as Nero returns to launch the second phase of his diabolical plan. Naturally, out of all of Starfleet, only our crew of fresh-faced cadets will have what it takes to oppose this threat.

In a project like this, casting is critical. If the audience can't believe that these young actors are portraying the iconic characters they've known and loved for decades, the entire film will fall apart. It's in this regard that J.J. Abrams takes his biggest risk and scores his greatest coup. I don't know where the director found Chris Pine. The actor (smartly) makes a conscious decision to avoid any overt Shatner impressions, which would almost certainly come across as terribly corny. And yet, without at all seeming like William Shatner, he very much embodies all the characteristics of James Kirk - his charisma and his cockiness, his smug self-satisfaction and his irresistible magnetism, his hot-headed temper and brilliant tactical mind. If Pine's performance had at all missed the mark, he could have derailed the movie. Somehow, it just works. When I first heard that Karl Urban, the tough-guy villain from 'The Chronicles of Riddick' and 'The Bourne Supremacy', had been cast as Leonard "Bones" McCoy, I couldn't imagine how he'd pull it off. I'm glad to say that I was mistaken. Urban absolutely nails the character's acerbic wit and homespun charm. He couldn't possibly be better.

This new 'Star Trek' is almost all about the action. It's (mostly) well-plotted and has excellent character development, but lacks the philosophical depth of the best 'Trek' outings. The film does the seemingly impossible and it makes 'Star Trek' a great deal of fun and relevant again in the 21st Century. Paramount's big gamble paid off. The movie was a huge box office hit (the biggest in the franchise's history). Unlike some of 2009's other big money-makers, it scored widespread praise from both critics and audiences. And of course the sequel `Star Trek: Into Darkness' in 3-D which has now been released and will be reviewing this also. Let's just hope that the franchise series can keep up the momentum for many years to come.

Blu-ray Video Quality - As if there had been any reason to doubt, 'Star Trek' looks totally brilliant on Blu-ray. Personally, I think it looks better than several other recent high-profile releases. Some viewers may take issue with the director's overuse of lens flares shining directly into the camera, but there's little denying that the 1080p transfer captures all of his stylistic affectations just as he'd want them. Likewise, a number of close-ups on the Enterprise Bridge were shot with wide-angle lenses and appear slightly stretched. That's not a transfer flaw. It was evident in cinemas as well.

For the most part, the 2.40:1 image is very sharp and detailed. Many close-ups are amazingly vibrant. However, in certain parts of the movie, especially during the first half, shots with visual effects seem slightly less detailed than those without. This probably has to do with the resolution at which they were rendered and composited. It's never a dramatic drop-off, but is somewhat noticeable on a large screen. That problem works itself out as the film goes along. By the last hour, just about everything looks virtually flawless.

The picture has vivid colours and great contrast throughout. The black of space is suitably inky, yet shadow detail is well defined. A little bit of film grain is apparent and appears unprocessed. 'Star Trek' is a good-looking movie that will make terrific home theatre eye candy, even on large projection screens.

Blu-ray Audio Quality - I've been watching a lot of high-octane action and sci-fi pictures lately, the type of movies where loudness is valued as the most important aspect of sound design, and deafening cacophonies are used to bludgeon the audiences' senses. I'd seen 'Star Trek' in the cinema and knew it to be another action-packed film. Firing it up in my home theatre, I set my expectations (and my Pioneer A/V receiver's volume) accordingly. Listening in the home environment, what struck me the most about this soundtrack is just how well balanced it is. The mix certainly has plenty of dynamic range, but never does the dialogue sound suppressed in comparison to overly-loud music or sound effects. All of the levels are appropriate, not obnoxious.

The Dolby TrueHD 5.1 soundtrack features bold and brassy music that swells up very nicely. Directional effects and bass rumble are smoothly integrated. Sound effects like the phasers are crisply recorded. Listen closely, and you'll also hear plenty of classic 'Trek' noises and effects subtly integrated into the soundscape. The action scenes build up to tremendous power. The surround channels buzz with excitement, and the subwoofer gets a workout as well. This is just a great soundtrack all around.

Blu-ray Special Features and Extras:

Commentary by J.J. Abrams, Bryan Burk, Alex Kurtzman, Damon Lindelot and Robert Orci: Director J.J. Abrams, producers Bryan Burk & Damon Lindelof, and writers Alex Kurtzman & Roberto Orci (all recorded together) have a great rapport in this fast-paced, information-packed commentary. Among the topics discussed are script development, 'Trek' canon and continuity, last-minute editorial changes, and tailoring the film to appeal to women. This is a consistently interesting and engaging track.

BD-Live Feature - NASA News: With this feature, viewers may access an RSS news feed from the NASA web site.

Finally, the 'Star Trek' reboot accomplishes the nearly-impossible task of resetting the dial on a widely-beloved franchise that was clearly past its prime, while both respecting old fans and inviting new ones. If not a perfect film by any means, it's a tremendous amount of fun. The Blu-ray excels in every area, from video and audio, but sadly on this Region B/2 Blu-ray the supplements are a little sparse, compared to the Region A/1 Blu-ray disc 'Star Trek.' But despite this, it is a fantastic Blu-ray and I have viewed it several times and I still get excited watching it, as there is so much going on, you miss stuff and it has now gone pride of place in my Blu-ray Collection. Very Highly Recommended!

Andrew C. Miller - Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 280 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews