Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


199 of 210 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gladiator remastered: know your product
Unreserved five stars for PQ on the remastered edition (the AQ was always excellent).

Now what you really want to know: how can you be sure you're getting the new edition, and not the shoddy first release? As of 9 September, NBC Universal UK have confirmed three things:

1. They have started shipping the new edition to retailers, but it's up to...
Published on 8 Sept. 2010 by M. SCOTT

versus
196 of 230 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Such a dissapointing transfer for such a great film
As the title suggests, this is a great film but has unfortunately been butchered on blu ray. The picture quality is absolutely dreadful, the studio has applied so much DNR (Digital Noise Reduction) to try to remove grain that they have actually removed a lot of detail in the picture itself! Crucially though, Ridley Scott filmed this with the intention of many of the...
Published on 28 Aug. 2009 by K. Bukowski-Kruszyna


‹ Previous | 1 2 375 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 29 April 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gladiator [DVD] (DVD)
I have to admit it's been a while since I saw it on TV, but the fact that I'm here writing a review of it proves what a memorable movie this is. For me the most memorable and moving moment of the movie is the end, where he is reunited in the Elysian Fields with his family. The scene of him walking through long grass is quite stirring, and has stayed with me. For the rest of the movie, it's a clasic tale of revenge, Russell Crowe playing a Roman soldier, a "husband to a murdered wife, father to a murdered son" who sets out to avenge their deaths at the hands of a wicked power-hungry leader. It's full of epic battles both in an out the arena, and well as a big dollop of gore (akin to "Braveheart"). A narrative well told, spectacular scenery envoking the age it is set in, and a timeless reliable tale of betrayal and vengeance. Certainly Crowe's best (not that I've seen many Crowe movies).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good transfer, audio clips in a couple of places, 3 Jan. 2011
By 
P. Morris (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
*Possible spoiler*

I have the new "good quality" blu-ray transfer (the one with the "pocket blu" logo).

The picture quality appears to be good. The audio is good for the most part, but there is clipping in just a couple of places. The audio in the musical score noticably overdrives at the part of the film just after Claudius is shocked to meet Maximus in the Colusseum for the first time, and lets him live.

It's definately clipping on the disc's digital audio and not my system. PS3 volume level is set to "normal" (bit-perfect), but clipping occurs just the same even when levels are reduced on the amplifier and indeed the PS3 system. Audio data is being output via optical to a Cambridge DacMagic, then in analogue to a Cambridge 840A via XLR cabling.

A bit more care would have made the audio perfect, it sounds just fine for almost all of the rest of the film.

A great film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Modern Epic to date., 25 Feb. 2010
Gladiator is a masterpiece and here's why, The film sees Russel crowe who acts the main caracter Maximus a Roman general who, after acts of betrayal is arrested and sentanced to death, he free's himself from capture and after many emotional events becomes enslaved and and bought as an illeagal Gladiator. I don't want to give away any more of the film because it has to be watched to be experienced.

Pro's:

It is a masterpiece of cinema

the camera work is breathtaking

the efects were ahead of thier time and still look fantastic 11years later

The DVD version is actually superior to the Blu-ray version

Con's:

None that i can think of

There should be a sequel..........Gladiator 2 return of Maximus............Ha Ha, only joking but it would be funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Ridley Scott Masterpiece, 7 May 2004
This director is trully gifted to create something as brillliant as this. The whole way through it keeps you completely gripped and the beggining is a rather magnificent scene which leads you into the main plot, and ending with a stunning finale. The depth of the characters plays a major role in acheiving a brilliant film; designed for entertainment for most people - historically interested or not. Russell Crowe delivers an excellent performance as the betrayed Roman General who loses his family to the evil and weak emperor, Joaquin Phoenix.
It all weighs out - the battle and arena scenes, the characters and the script. It definately stays in my Top 5 until any other film tries to take it's place. I strongly recommend this film to all who have not seen it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Believe the Hype!, 13 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Gladiator [VHS] [2000] (VHS Tape)
Who is Russell Crowe? This Kiwi actor (noted for LA Confidential) rises above all others (including the spectacular CGI scenery) to stand as a monument of Caesarean proportions. He IS Maximus Decimus Meridius. The rest (including the brilliant Joaquin Phoenix, and scene-stealing Oliver Reed) must all play supporting roles in the truest sense of the word.
Gladiator has it all: An opening scene to take your breath away and at last lend credence in the 21st century as to why the Roman Army dominated Europe and North Africa; combat sequences that are often vicious, always visceral; the ubiquitous delusional, power-mad Caesar; the twisting, turning voyage our hero must undertake...
We must all own Gladiator on video or DVD, but not yet! Not yet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Modern Classic If Ever There Was One!!!, 20 April 2004
By 
John Corbett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This film is magnificent. It's involving. It's well acted and directed,and the score is incredible. Yes, it gets you emotionally involved withthe characters, but I'd much rather have that than a bland film thatdoesn't make you care about what's going on. I'm speaking to all youpeople who complain that this film plays on your emotions. It doesn't. Itis emotive in that you can't help but want Maximus to win; for Commodus todie; for Maximus to kick some historical Roman butt!
The bottom line is that this film is quality entertainment for all (exceptfor the slightly squeamish among you). It comes highly recommended, andthe only thing wrong with it is that it was robbed of a best directoroscar for Ridley Scott. It's the best thing he's ever done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful and emotional epic at its best., 16 May 2007
By 
Mr. Andrew Moore "lord derfel cadarn" (Worcestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Okay. so you have probably already seen Gladiator either at the cinema or on DVD. So whats special about this version and why should you but it? Thats the question I asked myself. Well, I already have the original version and so has to think about getting this one, but I am glad I did. I read other reviews saying not much was in this that isn't in the original, but I say they are wrong.

Okay, so theres nothing really new here, everything is the same right through to when Maximus (Crowe) gets to Rome. After this, there is nothing brethtakingly new, no new battle scenes, no amazing effects... but there is depth. The additional scenes add to the intigue, build the characters even further and adds a more understanding to the minds of the main characters. We have more behind the scenes plotting to bring about the downfall of the insane Commodu (Phoenix) including one scene where he stands in front of the fireing squad while two Soldiers are executed (if thats not mad I don't know what is!).

So, is it worth getting if you already have a copy of the original? In my view, yes it is because the understanding is heightened far beyond what we had before. If all you want is more battles and gore... don't bother. I will watch this version over and over, the original will stay in my collection bit this is the version for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


101 of 120 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid - 10th Anniversary Remastered Edition to be released in 2010!, 1 Sept. 2009
This review is from: Gladiator (Limited Edition Steel Book) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
...quite how this abomination slipped through Universal's quality control department remains a mystery, but I wouldn't be at all surprised if people have been fired over this disaster. Gladiator is one of their premium catalogue titles and they've made a complete and utter mess of it. It appears they've used the old transfer from 2000 and run it through a grain scrubber (half-a-dozen times by the looks of it), thus eliminating all fine detail. Of course, it wouldn't be the first Blu-ray title to have excessive DNR applied, but scrubbed to the point it actually removes parts of the film? I believe that IS a first. Arrows and fireballs that magically disappear and then re-appear? I know the Romans were a rum bunch but I'm pretty sure they didn't have cloaking technology back in the day.

Just as Sony did with The Fifth Element, Universal need to do a new high-definition transfer and issue a recall notice as a matter of urgency...and for those unlucky folks who've already coughed-up their hard earned, an exchange programme needs to be implemented at Universal's expense.

As an aside, the Braveheart transfer is nothing short of stunning.

Edit: Amazon.De have now have the re-mastered "10th Anniversary Edition" up for pre-order with a release date of May 6th. This will have a brand new 1080p transfer due to the "inferior quality" of the first release. No doubt the apologists will continue to bury their heads in the sand and insist the first release looks "stunning", but for those of us without eyesight problems & correctly calibrated displays, this comes as very welcome news.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FIGHT OR DIE !, 11 Oct. 2007
By 
Mr. William Oxley "oxenblocks" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gladiator [DVD] (DVD)
A masterpiece in every sense. Right from the opening battle scene you are entertained with magestic cinematography, superb action, plot twists, death and revenge, truly an emotional rollercoster.

The story follows Maximus (Crowe) as a great General who is politically outmanoevred by the Emperor's son Commodus (Phoenix). Maximus ends up as a slave bought by a man in charge of a gladiator school (Oliver Reed). As a gladiator Maximus now has to fight for a living, but he is living for revenge.

As good as Braveheart.

Truly a Ridley Scott epic with both action and drama as you would expect from a Director who has done both Black Hawk Down and Thelma & Louise. Buy this now and prepare to be entertained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We were promised a film equal to those of the epics of old -, 11 Sept. 2000
By 
Amazon Customer "AngieT" (NORTHANTS United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gladiator [VHS] [2000] (VHS Tape)
We were promised a movie equal to "The Fall of the Roman Empire" - and for once that promise was fulfilled - in fact this film in BETTER than some of the epics of old. It may not have Charlton Heston or Stephen Boyd but for a lead actor it has the equally impressive Russell Crowe playing a hero who you would willingly follow to hell just for the honour of dying for him. I thought my days of yelling "Those who are about to die salute you!" were over - until I saw this film - six times at the cinima and counting... Ridley Scott creates such a wonderful world that spending two hours in it and with his hero is a slice of pure happyness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 375 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gladiator (Limited Edition Steel Book) [Blu-ray]
Gladiator (Limited Edition Steel Book) [Blu-ray] by Russell Crowe (Blu-ray - 2009)
Used & New from: £15.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews