Customer Reviews


6 Reviews

4 star
0

3 star
0


1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Focus on the moment...
Adam Freeland has created a real little gem of an album here.
The samples are excellent, containing philosophical musings, commentary on modern pop culture and greed and exploitation. All of this happens to the backdrop of some excellent break beats. Squelchy synths, fat basses and crisp percussion all combine to give a real depth to the sound and keep you coming...
Published on 25 Feb. 2005 by Turntableslave

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty average
Another also ran I'm afraid.

Once again the reviews provide a picture of an album that isn't matched by the reality. I like Adam Freeland remixes so was expecting quite a bit from this, but was disappointed.

There are flashes of inspiration on here. Burn The Clock rumbles along with a bit of menace and some nice synth bits in there. the last couple...
Published on 20 July 2006 by tomsk77


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Focus on the moment..., 25 Feb. 2005
This review is from: Now and Them (Audio CD)
Adam Freeland has created a real little gem of an album here.
The samples are excellent, containing philosophical musings, commentary on modern pop culture and greed and exploitation. All of this happens to the backdrop of some excellent break beats. Squelchy synths, fat basses and crisp percussion all combine to give a real depth to the sound and keep you coming back again and again.
The album may have got four stars for a few of its more meandering tracks (LIFE and Nowism go on a bit too long for my liking), but the fantastic Heel And Toe just tips it over to the five camp. Superb stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome release, 8 Sept. 2003
This review is from: Now and Them (Audio CD)
Lucky enough to have a promo. Now & Them is thought provoking, superb and adds to Freeland's compilation releases. The single out now - We Want Your Soul is good but wait till you hear the rest....Big Wednesday [of Animatrix fame] is a wicked instrumental. My favorites are Supernatural and Mind Killer but then again LIFE and Nowism are great too. Hell the whole album is amazing and an absolute must
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty average, 20 July 2006
This review is from: Now and Them (Audio CD)
Another also ran I'm afraid.

Once again the reviews provide a picture of an album that isn't matched by the reality. I like Adam Freeland remixes so was expecting quite a bit from this, but was disappointed.

There are flashes of inspiration on here. Burn The Clock rumbles along with a bit of menace and some nice synth bits in there. the last couple of tracks are ok. but too much of this album is way too poppy in a nondescript way. and Heel & Toe is just annoying.

how the Amazon review can describe this album as 'brutal' and 'incendiary' I really don't know.

I have to comment on We Want Your Soul as this is the track I was really looking forward to and actually disappoints the most. it just doesn't even break a sweat trying to do anything new. the computerised voice sounds like one of the standard voices you can access within 2 mins on any Mac/PC. why not put a bit of effort in and use something a bit different. but the biggest sin is the Bill Hicks quote. there is plenty of Bill Hicks anti-corporate material to pick from, so why choose a bit that a) doesn't say much and b) has a very American focus (is American Gladiators even on the TV anymore?).

it's a very badly done anti-corporate statement if that's what it's supposed to be. am I being to cynical or is this just something to be seen to do? to paraphrase Bill Hicks himself in his rant against marketing people:

"He's going for that anti-corporate dollar. That's a good market, he's very smart."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pushing the progresive breaks title further, 18 Sept. 2003
This review is from: Now and Them (Audio CD)
I have to admit to be a little biast towards Mr Freeland, I like his stuff before i even listen to it with first hearing play on kiss 100 he would find fresh new forms of the progressive break formats. This album being no different one listen and it went straight onn again each track is pure progression but not boring deep bass and even lyrics, if your looking for summin different and fresh it is here no matter wat sort of electronic music your into if your not into your breaks buy it........ you will be
diverse, fresh, and of course progressive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this album, 9 Aug. 2004
This review is from: Now and Them (Audio CD)
Even if you're not a hardcore fan of this genre of music. Buy this anyway. If, not only for the Bill Hicks sample on 'We want your soul'! Hearing this track is unity for any music fan! After the first relatively bassy track. Things cool down and chill out somewhat. Then Heal and Toe cranks up. This guys vocals are amazing. Reminds me of Knifehandchop, a hypnotic tune that will not only get your feet tapping but your whole body moving as if possessed. A quality version of Supernatural thing. I forget who produced the first. I'm swaying toward Otis Redding but I'm sure that's wrong, anyway this album is a must for anyone! So buy it and love it. Feel Freeland's philosophy and breath!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 25 Aug. 2003
This review is from: Now and Them (Audio CD)
Having not heard the whole album it is difficult to pass judgement on it; But if live performances of it are anything to go on then you have to have this album it is an essential dance record not too poppy not too leftfield just amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Now & Them [Explicit]
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews