Customer Reviews


100 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Pop At It's Best
Madonna's 3rd greatest hits CD is packed full of hit song after hit song. Its only when you play them back to back you realise what a fantastic back catalouge this ICON of pop has. Each song will transport you back to when you heard it first or saw the video. 80's classics like Into The Groove and Papa Dont Preach are still as fresh today as when first played. Love the...
Published on 11 May 2012 by Duncan Prendergast

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buy the double
I am a big fan of Madonna but this collection with its awful cover is a bit of a disappointment.in fact if we are all honest it is a great disappointment. There are enough tracks that did not appear on either the million selling Immaculate collection and GH2 to have a Greatest hits 3.
So we could have had, This used to be my Playground, True Blue, Gambler, Causing a...
Published on 11 Sep 2009 by Mr. R. G. Prizeman


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buy the double, 11 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. R. G. Prizeman "Dickie 1" (croydon UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Celebration (Audio CD)
I am a big fan of Madonna but this collection with its awful cover is a bit of a disappointment.in fact if we are all honest it is a great disappointment. There are enough tracks that did not appear on either the million selling Immaculate collection and GH2 to have a Greatest hits 3.
So we could have had, This used to be my Playground, True Blue, Gambler, Causing a commotion, You must love me, me against the music(Britney duet) I could go on.
For the fans its just going over the same tracks that were on the other collections and considering everyone who like Madonna will most likely have the other collections then this is a very missed opportunity.If we are going to revisit Madonna past in full she does deserve a three disc set or more. There appears to be little point in this single disc i mean who is really designed for?, and even more so now you can buy the two disc set for such a cheap price. Maybe it is just a parting gift to her record company great music poor selection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Pop At It's Best, 11 May 2012
This review is from: Celebration (2 CD) (Audio CD)
Madonna's 3rd greatest hits CD is packed full of hit song after hit song. Its only when you play them back to back you realise what a fantastic back catalouge this ICON of pop has. Each song will transport you back to when you heard it first or saw the video. 80's classics like Into The Groove and Papa Dont Preach are still as fresh today as when first played. Love the remastered version of Like A Prayer, probably her best track to date. CD2 contains her 90's and 00's work with Ray of Light and Dont Tell me showing she was never going to slow down. Unlike other artists Madonna has remained fresh by trying to be different and not depending on her past hits to ensure her continued success. Lots of great songs have been left off this collection which is a shame but maybe someday we will get a definitive box set of all her material in one. Look forward to whats to come, am sure we will probably all still be dancing to the Queen of Pop in 20 years time. Often imitated but never duplicated - Madonna is the last great pop Icon of the 80's to still stand out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Madonna - Celebration (2 Disc Version), 26 Aug 2009
This review is from: Celebration (2 CD) (Audio CD)
Celebration is a pretty comprehensive collection of Madonna's singles over the past 25+ years. Sure, there are some songs missing, but to the casual fan this is a good launch pad for getting into Madonna's music.

DISC ONE

1 Hung Up ("Confessions" Album Version)
2 Music ("Music" Album Version)
3 Vogue ("Immaculate Collection" Version)
4 4 Minutes (Radio Edit)
5 Holiday ("Madonna" Album Version)
6 Everybody (7" Single Mix)
7 Like A Virgin ("Immaculate Collection" Version)
8 Into The Groove ("Like A Virgin" Album Version)
9 Like A Prayer ("Like A Prayer" Album Version)
10 Ray Of Light (Radio Edit)
11 Sorry (Radio Edit)
12 Express Yourself (Video Version Edit)
13 Open Your Heart ("Immaculate Collection" Version)
14 Borderline ("Immaculate Collection" Version)
15 Secret (Radio Edit)
16 Erotica (Radio Edit)
17 Justify My Love ("Immaculate Collection" Version)
18 Revolver (New Song)

DISC TWO

1 Dress You Up ("Like A Virgin" Album Version)
2 Material Girl ("Like A Virgin" Album Version)
3 La Isla Bonita ("True Blue" Album Version)
4 Papa Don't Preach ("True Blue" Album Version)
5 Lucky Star ("Immaculate Collection" Version)
6 Burning Up ("Madonna" Album Version)
7 Crazy For You ("Immaculate Collection" Version)
8 Who's That Girl ("Who's That Girl" Album Version)
9 Frozen ("Ray Of Light" Album Version)
10 Miles Away (Radio Edit)
11 Take A Bow ("Bedtime Stories" Album Version)
12 Live To Tell ("True Blue" Album Version)
13 Beautiful Stranger ("Austin Powers Soundtrack" Album Version)
14 Hollywood ("American Life" Album Version)
15 Die Another Day ("American Life" Album Version)
16 Don't Tell Me (Radio Edit)
17 Cherish ("Immaculate Collection" Version)
18 Celebration (New Song)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you have the Immaculate Collection you also need this, 29 Jan 2011
This review is from: Celebration (2 CD) (Audio CD)
Where The Immaculate Collection left off Celebration continues, ok so the album is missing a few Madonna hits but it's only a 2 CD compilation and to produce an ultimate greatest hits it would have taken 3 discs. Madonna's career has been long and varied and this album covers most musical genres and goes a long way to prove she isn't just an 80's artist of even a 90's artist. Madonna moves with the times, sometimes she creates new sounds and also trends. The definitive female artist and queen of pop owns and earns her place as an Icon and and the reason why so many female artist exist today. Celebration includes no.1 hits over 3 decades and an extensive top ten selections. My one issue is the track placement but then it's a digital age so you place them in any order you prefer. This CD is a must for anyone and the DVD to accompany is jaw dropping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Celebration, 1 May 2010
By 
maz "maz" (Kent , England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's hard to believe that it's over 25 years since Madonna burst onto our unflat TV screens and into our FM/AM radios. Back then CD's were beginning to get off the ground and MTV was in it's infancy.

In the 1980's Madonna was the only musician who could come anywhere near Michael Jackson's stature. Unlike Michael Jackson, she managed to continue her credibility through the following decades, by evolving her music and staying relevant without being hip and trendy.

Naturally the 1980's era is prominent with the likes of Vogue, Borderline, La Isla Bonita, Papa Don't Preach, Into The Groove, Holiday etc.

The early 1990's (perhaps Madonna's least appealing era) is skated over with some of it's better songs such as Take A Bow and Secret. In 1998 she reasserted herself with the lauded Ray Of Light album, containing the smash hits Ray Of Light and brilliant Frozen. The follow up album Music, although not as strong, still produced the noteworthy title track and Don't Tell Me.

I was pleased that the Madonna nugget, Hollywood is also included. We also get one of Madonna's best ever songs, Sorry, from Confessions On A Dance Floor, along with Hung Up with the brilliantly sampled, classic ABBA track.

It's no means perfect, I would have loved the likes of True Blue and American Life to have been included and Material Girl and Dress You Up to have been left off. However, all in all very worthy compilation and a good introduction for a new listener.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hit and Miss, 19 Sep 2009
By 
R. L. Judd (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Celebration (2 CD) (Audio CD)
Unfortunately, this album (although a greatest hits compilation) is abit of a 'hit-miss' because its not a true retrospecive of her career and its also not a complete discography either.

I don't understand why so many tracks, already included on her other two 'best of' albums, are included again here - surely it would have made more sense to include tracks not previously featured on The Immaculate College and GHV2, so that fans can have a definitive collection of her chart singles.

I'm also amazed at how poorly her 1990's career release's are represented here, only a handful of tracks across three albums (Erotica, Bedtime Storey and Ray of Light) - why has so much track space been given to her early 80's and more recent hits?

Its a true mystery too why such wonderful Madge tune's such as 'Rain', 'Nothing Really Matters', 'This Used To Be My Playground' and 'True Blue' as well as a few others, have been consistently ignored both on this and previous Hits albums.

Who doesn't love Madonna though, and wouldn't appreciate a trek back through her wonderful career? Its just a shame that this collection, if encompassing songs from her previous two Greatest Hits collections, wasn't more developed and providing a fuller (if not complete!) history of her chart tracks up to her current release 'Celebration'.

3-stars - could've been better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Consistently great album.., 31 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celebration (2 CD) (Audio CD)
This is a really great collection of hits encompassing all the various styles throughout her career, only after listening to this from start to finish did I remember what a great body of work she has.. Great pop music..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mad-on-her !!, 27 Dec 2013
This review is from: Celebration (2 CD) (Audio CD)
Top album. All the hits you need!! This was bought as a present for my wife and we all love it. Brings back all those classic Madonna hits we all loved!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Queen Of Pop, 15 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celebration (2 CD) (Audio CD)
There is no doubt Madonna is the Queen of pop. This album is perfect. contains all her best and most well known hits.

Only downside is that some of the ballads like Rain, Bad Girl, Power Of Goodbye all miss out on a place but given Madonna has spanned so many hits not everything was going to get a look in.

A must buy if you love pop music. No collection would be right unless this is in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not 5 stars, 15 Oct 2009
This review is from: Celebration (2 CD) (Audio CD)
The good:

Contains most of her best known songs, and the digital mixing is excellent, and it's great to hear her older songs updated in terms of audio, i.e. they've been processed and sound as loud as her newer songs.

The not so good:

As said by others, it lacks several of her hit songs, and some of the mixes used are not the best ones. Where's the single versions of 'Holiday' and 'Express Yourself'? Some songs still remain in their Immaculate Collection remixed form, when the single versions were again superior. A lot of people like to hear radio versions, and it would have been good to have them.

In summary, a very decent 'best of' collection, and superior to the previous ones released. That said, a 3 disc set of all her singles in chronological order, in their single/radio version form would have been far preferable. Also, how about a 12" 'best of' compilation too?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Celebration (2 CD)
Celebration (2 CD) by Madonna (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews