Customer Reviews


184 Reviews
5 star:
 (140)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British Pulp Fiction
Snatch is a criminally underrated film, partially because superficially it's pretty similar to Lock Stock, Guy Richie's debut. Critics everywhere leaped on it for lack of originality, but in my eyes it's more similar to Tarantino's classic Pulp Fiction than Lock Stock. Everything is here- gangsters, guns, cross-wiring plots and characters, loads of famous faces and a...
Published on 18 Sep 2004 by D. Moss

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Guy Richie Follows Up Lock Stock
Usual Guy Richie stuff. Geezers Guns and ridiculous situations throughout. A fine three star watch. Get it for a rainy Sunday afternoon.
Published 6 months ago by Jeremy Johnson


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British Pulp Fiction, 18 Sep 2004
By 
D. Moss "systemj" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Snatch is a criminally underrated film, partially because superficially it's pretty similar to Lock Stock, Guy Richie's debut. Critics everywhere leaped on it for lack of originality, but in my eyes it's more similar to Tarantino's classic Pulp Fiction than Lock Stock. Everything is here- gangsters, guns, cross-wiring plots and characters, loads of famous faces and a platinum script with top-draw dialogue. There are even more literal links between the two films, such as rigged boxing matches, corpse disposal and something precious causing hassle (in this case an 84 carat stone, in Pulp Fiction a briefcase full of gold).
It's impossible to describe the plot to Snatch in one sentance, but it basically involves a diamond that everyone wants, and a boxing match nobody wants. There's also a fantastic twist at the end, that thankfully nobody has given away. There are some great characters in the film- Turkish and Tommy, the lead characters enjoy loads of dry banter. Brick Top, the lead gangster, is brilliantly malicious "No thanks Turkish... I'm sweet enough". It also boasts one of the best ideas in cinema history- superstar pin-up actor Brad Pitt as an incoherant gypsie with a leather hat. Pitt pretty much steals every scene he's in, making even the crackling Cockney dialogue seem dull in comparison.
Sure Snatch isn't all that original, but it's a damn fine movie. There are dozens of funny and catchy one-liners, loads of mouth-watering dialogue, the plot is excellently managed by Richie, and there are some smart directorial tricks thrown in. And the soundtrack is brilliant, fitting the film perfectly. One of the finest films, British otherwise, of recent years, and ranks up there as an unmissable film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly entertaining, 31 Oct 2001
By 
There are inevitable echoes of Guy Ritchie's other
work,but this movie(at least in my opinion) is not
"Son of Lock Stock" by a long way.Brad Pitt is in
great form here,and backed by a strong supporting
cast of British talent and the always-watchable
Bernicio Del Toro.Even a cameo role for Mike Read
(imagine Rabbi Frank Butcher to get the flavour!)
fits in well with this enjoyable comedy drama.The
best way to appreciate this film is to just watch
it without analyzing it too closely - some of the
comic moments are simply sublime!All in all,a good
effort all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lock, Stock... but Bigger and Better, 22 Aug 2002
By 
Guy Ritchie strikes again with another cockney crime caper with a hilariously twisted plot, very much in the same vein as the fantastic Lock, Stock & Two Smoking Barrels. The main difference here is that everything is bigger, better and faster; the budget, the stars, the locations, the editing, the endlessly quotable dialogue and the music. The ball starts rolling when Franky Four Fingers (Benico Del Toro) steals a huge priceless diamond from Antwerp and brings it to London on route to New York. Cue murder, betrayl, mayhem, strong language, thievery and a dog that'll eat just about anything. Endlessly watchable and entertaining. The best British film in years. Where else are you going to see Brad Pitt and Frank Butcher in the same feature?
The DVD is a corker too. Boasting many fantastic features including a commentary, deleted scenes, a documentary, interviews, trailers, TV spots, storyboard comparrisons, photo library and some absolutely hilarious hidden features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended Without Reservation, 1 Mar 2003
By 
N. Clay "noel_robert_clay" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
British director Guy Ritchie's follow-up to the hugely entertaining low-budget Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels is simply excellent. Lock, Stock was largely ignored by the British Film Institute (which is peculiar because it's the first decent British film we've seen in years), so it's probably a good thing that this sequel is more americanized with the involvement of Columbia Pictures.
As well as the best actors from Lock Stock, Jason Statham and Vinnie Jones, this sequel includes Brad Pitt and Dennis Farina in excellent performances. It is not directly related to Lock, Stock, as both Statham and Jones play different characters in this film, but the influences are still extremely apparent. Guy Ritchie has made it just different enough to make it a great and entertaining film by it's own rights.
The DVD features a decent commentary with director Guy Ritchie and producer Matthew Vaughn, as well as a 'Making Of' with interviews, some pretty interesting deleted scenes, behind the scenes footage, TV spots, trailers, and some interesting hidden extras. Pretty much all you could ask for other than commentary from the cast themselves. For this price, it's an excellent DVD...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Snatch, 1 Mar 2005
By 
Rich Milligan (Thatcham, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
I have seldom been so entertained by such a fantastic film. It is really a sublime piece of work and I would heartily recommend it to all film fans.
So what makes it so good? Well apart from the fact the cast boasts a bevy of brilliant character actors who all pull their parts off amazingly well it also has a slick and witty script which keeps the action and the film bowling along at breakneck speed. Add to this some realistic and ok albeit sometimes gruesome violence and you end up with a black comedy thriller that really delivers.
Don't get me wrong it's not all violence, amongst all the thrills and spills there is time for some amazingly poignant moments which brings tears to the eyes. The burning of Mickey's mother's caravan is an obvious one but take the subtlety of Tommy being held by the Pikeys and gentle weeping as he knows his fate is in the hands of others. Quite moving.
The stars of the film are excellent, I though Brad Pitt was simply phenomenal, but it is really with the minor parts that the film succeeds. The joy of having the plot shared round such a large and diverse group of actors is that they all seem to really give their best for the time they are on film. I simply cannot criticise any of the cast.
Finally mention must be given to the composition of the film as a whole. The shaking up of the time frame was a technique that first gained notoriety in Pulp Fiction, but Snatch does an equally fine job of it and with the sharper humour it employed it might just sneak it on a one to one comparison.
Brilliant Film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "...A Blindin' British Film...", 13 Jun 2001
By A Customer
Snatch is a perfectly designed and constructed film from the one and only, Guy Ritchie. Even though many of the characters from "Lock Stock.." were used, (which to me didn't seem such a good idea) a new range of stars such as David Farina and Brad Pitt, not forgetting a more substantial role for Alan Ford, have complemented the film thanks to their acting abilities. I do not feel, however, that they were used just, what Guy Ritchie said, "to put bums on seats". As DVD have numerous special features which let you take a closer look into the minds of the crew and the actors, the movie doesn't just feel like a movie, but an experience and I have to say that this is the first film that I have watched all of the "Makings of.." and "interviews". Many observant people would have noticed that "Snatch" has been rated an 18 and this is for 2 reasons: the violence and the harsh swearing. But the prblem is that there is too much repetition of the same word which, after a while turns into just that, a word, not a curse. Overall, "Snatch" is one of the best movies that have come from the British film industry. Well done Guy Ritchie!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vere are Zee Stonzes?, 2 Mar 2001
By 
Simon Cunningham (Tring) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Snatch (VHS Tape)
Snatch is wildly entertaining and wickidly funny. If you enjoyed 'Lock, Stock & Two Smoking Barrels' you have to see this flick as it is superb. Brad Pitt's Irish gypsy accent is highly comical along with Benicio Del Toro's line; "Vere are zee Stonzes?" in a cool Turkish accent. The rest of the script is typical Ritchie, filled with the witty one-liners and London colloquialisms that made 'Lock, Stock...' so entertaining. The storyline in Snatch tells the tale of a very large diamond and the several groups of people trying to get their grubby little poors on it and of the unfortunate souls who get landed with it. An excellent film, highly amusing with exceptional dialogue and a killer soundtrack - you can't ask for much more. No film fan should miss 'Snatch'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well It's only my favourite film of all time!, 9 Oct 2004
This film is in my eyes a masterpiece. I loved 'Lock Stock and Two Smoking Barrels' too but this is even better as it has more humour and less violence. It is also a film that you can watch repeatedly and notice new things so that it doesn't get tired. The characters in this film are fantastic, ranging from the heartless Brick top who could put the fear of God into anyone, to Sol, Vinny and Tyrone who are hilarious as the worst robbers ever. Brad Pitt as the unintelligable Pikey is brilliant, and it shows his versatility as it so unlike his usual roles. The music on the film is masterfully done and boasts some great tunes that also enhance the action. The best thing in the whole film though is the quality of the script; full of quickfire lines that are funny as well as clever. Many people say that this is a film that only appeals to the lads, but I loved it and even my Mom thought it was ok except for the violence. I would recommend this film to anyone, it is my number one film of all time!
By the way, number two and three are 'Fight Club' and 'The Talented Mr Ripley' for anyone who cares!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Can you understand a word he is saying ?, 22 July 2003
By 
J. Hammond "Big John" (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Snatch [VHS] [2000] (VHS Tape)
The follow up film to the fantastic Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels, although not quite as good in my view.
However don't let that put you off this film, because its only second best to the original, nothing else has the same good old gangster appeal like this film.
Brad Pitt's performance as the Irish Bare Knuckle fighter is fantastic, although Vinnie Jones doesnt really get a chance to shine like he did in Lock Stock.
The plot revolves around the double crossing underworld of illegal boxing and the theft of a desirble diamond.
Funny and action packed - it keeps you entertained all the way through, with a fantastic ending scene.
It has an excellent soundtrack all the way through and is well worth seeing if you like the Guy Ritchie film style!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good movie, 29 Jan 2012
By 
Edgar Frog (Sawston, Cambridge. UK.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Snatch [Blu-ray] [2009] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Bluray transfer is good for this disc.
Sound is crystal.
Good story,directing and actors.

Jason Statham and Bradd Pitt shine in this little diamond.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Snatch [Blu-ray] [2009] [Region Free]
Snatch [Blu-ray] [2009] [Region Free] by Guy Ritchie (Blu-ray - 2009)
£7.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews