Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Menuhin and Grappelli, 7 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Menuhin & Grappelli: Friends in Music (Audio CD)
Wonderful recordings from two wonderful musicians. Choice of composers for all tracks couldn't be bettered. Well recorded and great listening. The box set arrived very quickly and in good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If I could give 6 stars, 19 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Menuhin & Grappelli: Friends in Music (Audio CD)
If I could rate this with 6 stars I would. A marvellous set of audio CDs. The music is wonderful, played by 2 of the greatest violinists. The quality of the recordings is good and the selection of songs is extensive. The players blend their styles so well and their enthusiasm for working together comes across in their music. I listen to these cds over and over and never tire of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for winding Dow., 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Menuhin & Grappelli: Friends in Music (Audio CD)
I've got some of this on vinyl, but the other CDs are fantastic and so easy to listen to but complex and clever if you want to sit and dissect the music if you're in the mood. Great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best buy, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Menuhin & Grappelli: Friends in Music (Audio CD)
Wonderful and nostalgic - superb seemingly effortless expertise from this amazing duo!
Bought after seeing a documentary on Menuhin, so glad I saw that which promoted this essential CD for anyone's collection - brilliant price for such a multitude of songs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pity there are only 5 stars, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Menuhin & Grappelli: Friends in Music (Audio CD)
These two musicians have left such an amazing body of work in their own sphere - then to top that off they give us these joint recordings - music in the sublim
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Menuhin & Grappelli: Friends in Music (Audio CD)
Been building up a collection of this music. This disc essential. great price and good delivery. Will use again without doubt Brilliant content, well worth a listen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great to have all their collaborations in a box set., 29 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Menuhin & Grappelli: Friends in Music (Audio CD)
Great to have all their collaborations in a box set. Very good value and delivered promptly. It was a present for my wife who had some of the old vinyls. She has been thrilled with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two musicians from different fields making music together, 13 Feb 2011
By 
DMH "music lover" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Menuhin & Grappelli: Friends in Music (Audio CD)
This box is an incredible bargain. Menuhin and Grappelli came from very different backgrounds and musical fields, but they enjoyed making music together and the results are often highly spontaneous and enjoyable. Buy it while you can!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 23 May 2014
This review is from: Menuhin & Grappelli: Friends in Music (Audio CD)
I love these albums. My dad was a big fan of both musicians before this collaboration and had Jealousy and Fascinatin' Rhythm, which he played a lot. I argued with a friend about the merits of those albums around 1980. He thought it was middle class lazy music. I think he mistook Stephane Grapelli's French accent for posh, which is a common mistake we also make in Scotland with a number of English accents. The music here is very smooth and perhaps there is not a huge variety across the six albums (yes you get all 6 albums for around a tenner here) but that is not the point of this collaboration. it is two musicians from different musical genres combining to produce something unique and beautiful. If I want more radical jazz I look elsewhere in my music collection, I've still got John Coltrane and the rest, but this if lovely music; great tunes, played to perfection, and I love it. As I indicated earlier some of my affection for this music is the memories of my father and that too is priceless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 2 genius musicians having fun., 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Menuhin & Grappelli: Friends in Music (Audio CD)
I could listen to these 2 men playing their music for hours. It is wonderful, and so rhymic, and playful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Menuhin & Grappelli: Friends in Music
Menuhin & Grappelli: Friends in Music by Yehudi Menuhin (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews