Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A decent game, needed more depth...
After seeing James Cameron's Avatar at the cinema, I was enthralled by the huge and diverse world of Pandora. Naturally I bought this game to experience the world of Avatar once more. The previous reviewer stated that the graphics were nothing special... try turning the settings up a few notches; the game is built on Ubisoft's Dunia engine and so contrary to previous...
Published on 31 Dec 2009 by S. J. BIDDLE

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Avatar
This game is definitly beautiful to look at, with large maps and varied scenery. Beyond that, it plays like pretty much any shooter ever done. I'm not a big fan of the third person view, but this one was done well enough that it wasn't completly annoying. I haven't seen the movie so I can't really comment on how faithful the game is to the movie, but it does seem to have...
Published on 13 Feb 2010 by Wordsmith


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars avatar, 29 Sep 2011
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: James Cameron's Avatar: The Game (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
brought this game for a good price, just to see what it was like, only played it a bit so far seems ok, not as open world as would have liked but still ok never the less, plenty of action, nice graghics,visuals to look at etc, story very similar to film so a bit more linnar than one would wont but still worth a punt, Any how for the price you can't go wrong,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avatar, the game, 15 Oct 2010
A Kid's Review
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: James Cameron's Avatar: The Game (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I have technical problems to play it since it didn't say it was an online product and when I got it says on line on the cover, I have an internet package that doesn't allow me to play games online.It should say clearly that is a game online in the offer.
Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Cameron's Avatar: The Game (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice game., 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Cameron's Avatar: The Game (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Great graphics haven't played it much yet but am looking forward to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Avatar the game, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Cameron's Avatar: The Game (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
first of all - i love this game despite its obvious flaws
i don't even refer to it as Avatar i call it Pandora as the shining star here is the environment of the jungle planet it looks absolutely stunning and the detail of the environment is sometimes overwhelming even now it looks like a next gen game i have played a lot of jungle games - Crysis, far cry 2 etc and this looks the best by far.
the only problem i had was playing as the RDA and killing the Navi but once i distanced myself from the film and had to fight them that changed as the Navi are vicious fast big and strong and show no mercy, at one point i came across a lone navi being ambushed by a bunch of wolverines and he was going down so i helped out and blasted them, his response was to try and kill me so after that they were fair game.
when you play as the Navi at first its very tough you are armed with a bow and club fighting against assault rifles grenade launchers, flame throwers, mechs, and flying craft of doom.
but as you level up your bow becomes extremely powerful and has a greater range than there weapons.
then there is the special ability's which take some getting used to but once you find how best to use them they become indispensable and fun to use like a blast wave that knocks anything to the ground handy when surrounded a camo ability, regeneration, and super speed it takes a long time to get the game as there is little to no help or direction and the vehicles are clunky at best unusable at worst but once you get over the Cam and just use the direction some are not so bad the best being flying a banshee insanely difficult at first but once you get it its amazing flying around Pandora.
its a game that requires a lot of investment and patience but its worth it to be on another planet that looks so fantastic. sadly there are no screen shoots or u tube footage that dose the game justice. so you will just have to try it yourself and at this price its a cinch.
one more very important thing the game is an abomination on consoles so PC is the only way to go. one more thing you don't need a super powerful rig to run it at max settings its a masterpiece of programming runs without a hitch every time in fact it is the most bug free game i have played.
in short its a hardcore vision of Mr Cameroons tree hugging vision and better for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Avatar the pc game, 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Cameron's Avatar: The Game (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Loved the film but the game is a bit of a let down.
Graphics could have been better and just didn't hold my attention for very long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Cameron's Avatar: The Game (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
bought this for my son,he loves it, arrived when they said it would, and my son was not dissapointed, thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Cameron's Avatar: The Game (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
New and a good play if you loved the film you will enjoy playing this. Games environments are stunning and great to explore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ames Cameron's Avatar: The Game (PC DVD), 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Cameron's Avatar: The Game (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
bought as a present.. yeah it's ok. i can not say much about this item as it's was bought as a gift.!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brill, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Cameron's Avatar: The Game (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
got the film loved it the game is great didn't know you got it for pc its great to play so go on get a copy you will love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

James Cameron's Avatar: The Game (PC DVD)
James Cameron's Avatar: The Game (PC DVD) by Ubisoft (Windows Vista / XP)
£5.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews