Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For all Mankind
I find this compelling. It preserves and communicates all the feelings and emotions of the astronauts on the hazardous Apollo missions better than any other film has. They tell the story, as it happens, through their own "home video" taken throughout all the Apollo missions. It's an irony that we've become so familiar with the jerky, spontaneous style of home recording...
Published on 21 July 2009 by Nicholas Walker

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For All Mankind [Masters of Cinema Version]
I first saw this documentary when it was aired on the BBC in 1989. I found it visually and audibly stunning. Luckily, I videoed it at the time and was able to enjoy this masterpiece time and time again.

However, in time VHS gave way to DVD and I was no longer able to enjoy it. Recently, I was delighted to buy the Masters of Cinema DVD version and eagerly sat...
Published on 12 May 2011 by alan sparkes


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Achingly profound., 20 Sept. 2010
By 
M. Carter (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was already a big fan of 'In The Shadow of the Moon' and thought that it represented the final say in documentaries about the Apollo missions. Whilst that is still a superb documentary, I think 'For All Mankind' pips it. Whilst Ron Howard's documentary featured talking heads of the astronauts and kept them in the spotlight throughout, we only ever hear their voices in this documentary. I feel that we gain a much deeper insight into the thoughts, feelings and inner voice of these remarkable men, as a result.

Some of the comments send chills down my spine, especially the words of Eugene Cernan. He is a man of whom I have a great deal of respect and admiration, because he really does seem to have a higher level of awareness than the average human being, or even astronaut. When I watch this documentary, I get a sense of what it must have been like to be him, at that time, rather than simply listen to him recount his story of how he went to the moon.

Other highlights are the voice of one of the guys who had to stay behind in the orbiter. His disappointment and bitterness at not being able to walk on the moon was palpable 'Wish the damn thing could carry three men'. Also Charles Duke's recollection of his vivid, lucid dream he had on the moon's surface. I won't spoil it for you, but it gave me chills.

Final mention must go to Brian Eno's incredible soundtrack. I cannot imagine a more appropriate music to go along with the breathtaking scenes we are exposed to. Words simply cannot do it justice. Thank God for high definition, that's all I can say.

This is more than simply the account of how some Americans went to the moon during the Cold War. It goes much, much deeper than that, touching upon existence, reality and the ultimate purpose of life in the universe. It really is that profound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For All Mankind (Al Reinert, United States, 1989) - Blu-ray Edition, 4 Jun. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Blu-ray Specifications:

Disc specs - AVC encode, BD50, Region 'B' locked.

Case Type - Slimmer U.S style plastic case

Video - 1.37:1 aspect ratio in a 16x9 frame (Black bars appear on the left and right of the screen). 1080p/24fps.

Audio - English Language. Dolby Digital 2.0 stereo, Dolby TrueHD 5.1, DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1.

Subtitles - Optional English for the hard of hearing. Optional subtitles also available to identify Astronauts and mission control specialists during the film.

Supplements -
Commentary by Director Al Reinert, and Astronaut Eugene A.Cernan.
'An Accidental Gift: The Making of For All Mankind' documentary (approx 30 mins).
Gallery of Astronaut Alan Bean's artwork (approx 40 mins)
NASA sound and lift off footage.
Booklet.

Censorship? - No censorship or cuts have been made to the film on this disc. The film has been exempt from BBFC certification and contains no violence, bad language or sex.

Given the source material (16mm film) the picture quality is excellent and the blu-ray gives the best possible representation of this documentary film. No grain has been removed and there has been no digital tinkering (Edge Enhancement, Digital Noise Reduction etc..). This is a pristine transfer, and the audio is equally as good. Brian Eno's ambient score sounds immaculate - especially the moving 'Ascent' (also used in Danny Boyle's 2002 science-fiction film '28 Days Later...'). The making of documentary gives an insight at the highly secured NASA archives and how the director put the film together from hours and hours of footage. The commentary is well worth a listen if you have an interest in space exploration, and the Alan Bean art gallery is also a welcome addition to the package.

The U.S Region 'A' locked Criterion Collection blu-ray features an additional 20 minute featurette that is not found on this edition. Apart from that, this masters of cinema release is the same.

If you like documentary films, have an interest in space exploration or just enjoy a visually impressive film, then this will make a fine addition to your Blu-ray collection. Definately recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD production., 14 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For All Mankind [Masters of Cinema [DVD] (DVD)
Would imagine it would be even better on blu-ray.
Fascinating, even if it was shot many years ago.
Could watch it over and over again.
Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for any Apollo Geek! really wonderful., 1 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There is a lot of footage i have seen before but this is made from original prints of the film rather than the mass produced media copies from the 60's. The picture quality is great . especially nice is the length of the shots. the editor of this movie really lets the images breathe so no quick cuts here, you can take time to enjoy the shots. most notable are ed white's spacewalk which is pin sharp.
brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Found again after many years., 19 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had this preserved on an old VHS tape recording for many years and was quite pleased to be able to find this on a BD version.
The quality and production are excellent for its time, but compared with contemporary footage some of the space shots look a bit dated using older film equipment. I miss the sound track from the original TV version, particularly with the shot of the earth receding in the distance as the command module accelerates away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars for all mankind dvd, 8 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film wonderful if you are interested in the moon landings.Having owned this movie on vhs and wearing the tape out it is great to be able to enjoy again on dvd fully restored .The film takes you on a journey from the launch pad to the moon then back again to earth. With commentary from the apollo astronauts .sadley to say now some are no longer with us. The sound and the roar of the mighty saturn5 and sight takes your breath away along with jfk's going to the moon speech at the begining of the film and the films sountrack make up for a wonderful experience to enjoy over and over again .The dvd also comes with a excellent booklet on the making of the film along with a great selection of dvd extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars We came in peace, 5 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I find the Apollo program fascinating, and this DVD is an excellent way to get an insight into what our exploration of the Moon meant to the people who went there. The footage is incredible, particularly stirring with Brian Eno's soundtrack. The format has been covered elsewhere, but for me it works; though I did put the subtitles on so I could keep track of who was talking and what mission I was watching. If I had one criticism it would be that the journey back to Earth was barely covered. Which is a shame.

I recently learned that the Apollo program is the most money humanity has ever spent on anything that was not devoted to war. And from watching this it's very easy to get caught up in the 'wonder' of the whole experience. Of course there's nothing controversial here, but that's fine for me.

I thoroughly enjoyed this Blu-Ray, some of the footage and anecdotes are genuinely moving, and it's brilliantly edited together. Watching it again I find it incredible that the general public had lost interest in the Apollo program after Neil Armstrong's "One small step". What could one possibly be doing that is more interesting than travelling to the Moon?

But I digress. This is not particularly informative from a technical perspective, but it's fantastic from a 'human' perspective. And if. like me, that's what you want, then it's perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating & enjoyable, 25 Mar. 2015
By 
Dave (CARDIFF, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For All Mankind [Masters of Cinema [DVD] (DVD)
Really enjoyed this. The pace is quite slow, but that really doesn't matter - it's much more about enjoying the unique footage, coupled with fascinating and insightful comments from the astronauts themselves. Also really interesting extra on the story of where all the footage came from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must get for me, 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a space buff this was a no brainer..buy with confidence..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best film about the Apollo project ever, 8 July 2010
By 
Ransen Owen (Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The starkly real images, the calm voices of the people involved, and the music of Brian Eno, his brother and Daniel Lanois makes this a must have film.

It is a film you should watch every 5 years or so...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

For All Mankind [Masters of Cinema [DVD]
For All Mankind [Masters of Cinema [DVD] by Al Reinert (DVD - 2012)
£7.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews