Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Time Low - Nothing Personal
Following up a genre defining hit album like So Wrong, It's Right, is a colossal assignment. Fans and critics alike, care about what you put out; they scrutinize, criticize and/or idolize every riff, hook, and lyric.

Determined to surpass the bliss of their 2007 effort, Maryland pop punkers All Time Low return at the heart of summer, with their third album...
Published on 16 July 2009 by A. Rowlinson

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A bit predictable
Well crafted songs from sub-elvis (Costello) talent. It is all a bit twee and predictable i'm afraid. Nothing wrong with that if you like it, but it is hardly original nor poignant.
Published on 7 Oct. 2012 by Seeker


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Time Low - Nothing Personal, 16 July 2009
By 
A. Rowlinson (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nothing Personal (Ocrd) (Audio CD)
Following up a genre defining hit album like So Wrong, It's Right, is a colossal assignment. Fans and critics alike, care about what you put out; they scrutinize, criticize and/or idolize every riff, hook, and lyric.

Determined to surpass the bliss of their 2007 effort, Maryland pop punkers All Time Low return at the heart of summer, with their third album Nothing Personal, armed with the support of production powerhouses of Matt Squire (Boys Like Girls, Panic! At The Disco), Butch Walker (The Academy Is..., Avril Lavigne, Midtown), and David Bendeth (Paramore, Underoath, Madina Lake).

It's evident from the onset of "Weightless" that All Time Low have slightly tweaked their sound. First to be observed are the vocals. While remaining recognizable, vocalist Alex Gaskarth's voice undergoes an unusual, minor change; sounding noticeably higher. We are assured by Mr. Gaskarth himself, that his is `how he sings`, and not caused by vocal effects, which will be the inevitable allegation accompanying such a faultless vocal performance.

Furthermore, an experimental side to All Time Low is seen; with the band willing to try different structural approaches, and many songs see a departure from their previous, predominantly guitar driven sound, with many songs heavily integrating drums and synthesizers.

Nothing Personal begins as it aims to continue, with "Weightless"; a classic All Time Low song, with inviting lyrics and initially tame, yet intensifying instrumentals slowing surging towards a monumental, memorable chorus, featuring the best, most imaginative hooks the genre has to offer. Immediately after, is "Break Your Little Heart," an exuberant, self empowering revenge song, which stands out as an undoubted highlight, compiled with an inventive, quick witted introduction, followed by an irresistibly catchy chorus.

Question: Does Nothing Personal have a hit single? Answer: Yes, in the form of the suggestively titled "Damned If I Do Ya (Damned If I Don't)". Composed and produced to pop perfection, the inescapable, contagious chorus looks set to propel All Time Low onto the radio. Gaskarth's songwriting abilities are reaffirmed in the upbeat "Stella";

"You're only happy when I'm wasted / I point my finger but I just can't place it, feels like like I'm falling in love alone, Stella would you take me home"

Sure, the song doesn't feature lyrical themes venturing far beyond their usual trio of GAP (Girls, Alcohol, Parties), but this is what All Time Low do so exceptionally well, better than any of their contemporaries. The album continues with "Sick Little Games," an honest relatable song which displays insecurities and fears, with regards to fame, followed by "Hello Brooklyn," a jovial `party' song, which is fatally scarred by the pointless naming of thirteen major world cities. Why?

It's around this stage that Nothing Personal becomes hit and miss. "Walls" is an exceptional song, depicting figurative `walls', which have been self imposed, preventing love. Emotion is felt here; this is obviously a very `personal' song. The album's low points start to arrive, with the repetitive and seemingly pointless "Too Much," and the intrusive and cliched "A Party Song (The Walk Of Shame)"; this is where All Time Low start to run low on ideas;

"Let's drink to feelings of temptation / you and I, we're a one night invitation"

The record concludes with "Therapy," an exquisite, optimistic ballad, reminiscent of "Remembering Sunday," which showcases Gaskarth's vocal ability.

Despite some possible minor reservations, Nothing Personal is the album most pop punk fans dreamed of. All Time Low have done it again; immaculate vocals, witty lyrics, thrilling riffs, and hooks as catchy as herpes (The band would know all about this - Nothing Personal). Looking beyond the impact on the pop punk scene, All Time Low could be pop punk's representative in the mainstream music world. They `could be a reason to stare'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really, Very good!!!, 21 April 2010
By 
D. Cressey "Sports lover" (West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nothing Personal (Audio CD)
I only came across All Time Low as I am a Baltimore Ravens fan and saw them band members wearing Ravens shirts on their video to 'Lost-in-Stereo'- they are all from Maryland USA and big Ravens fans of course. Intrigued I did a bit of looking around at their other vidoes on you-tube. I was so impressed I bought this album - mainly on the strength of Lost-in-Stereo and Stella.

One thing - their songs are REALLY good. Described as Pop/Punk theirs is a real sense of fun with all the songs on this album. A lot like the early Green Day, but without the West Coast angst and depression, and with a lot more beer drinking!

If you ever want to take a 'punt' on an album - this is the one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Time Low - Nothing Personal - Most Excellent!, 26 Aug. 2009
By 
Jilan Gaskarth (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nothing Personal (Ocrd) (Audio CD)
Nothing Personal
The new Album from All Time Low is worthy of a place in anyone's CD collection. The songs are catchy and upbeat, the production strong. ATL have remained loyal to their pop-punk roots, but have moved forward in their musicality.

"Stella" and "Lost in Stereo" could easily become club anthems. I hope they get the radio play they deserve.

Well done boys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All Time Low- Nothing Personal, 21 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Nothing Personal (Audio CD)
After dowloading this album off Amazon, I was surprised by how catchy and simple the songs were. So many people have recommended All Time Low, and after my friend went to go and see them live, I thought I'd get the album.

The songs are very catchy and after listening to the album once I'd picked the best songs. "Hello Brooklyn" is probably the best, closely followed by "Sick Little Games" and "Stella"

Overall, a very good album and well worth buying. Don't think twice about getting it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best pop-punk albums ever made, 7 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Nothing Personal (Audio CD)
One of the best pop-punk albums ever made. Almost every track (with the exception of the appalling Too Much) is a catchy, singalong anthem - highlights are too many to mention in detail but Stella and Hello Brooklyn are fantastic, while the first 8 songs can be played on a loop for ever without them sounding tired!
A brilliant album, and probably All Time Low's best, as it hasn't yet strayed too much into the boy band style pop which takes over a few of the songs on Dirty Work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Gift For Granny, 23 July 2009
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Nothing Personal (Ocrd) (Audio CD)
If you want a fine little band to fill the hole
that Fall Out Boy fell into when they strayed off
the safe path and lost their way in the deep, dark
woods of mediocrity then you may not need to look
further than All Time Low and their splendid new
album 'Nothing Personal'.

There is electricity and pazazz aplenty in these 12
sparkling power-pop compositions. More than a little
formulaic perhaps but when you've got something that
works (and works perfectly well) don't try to fix it.

Strong melodies; driving guitar-led arrangements;
efficient singing from Mr Gaskarth and able harmonic and
instrumental support from Messrs Barakat, Dawson and Merrick.

All the material would doubtless scrub up well
live as there is very little that can go wrong
with music of such pristine simplicity.

'Weightless' kicks things off in fine style. The staccato
opening creates just the right kind of anticipation
before the killer chorus kicks in with anthemic splendour.

'Damned If I Do Ya (Damned If I Don't)' has enough
pent-up energy to power the streetlights of a small
Midlands town for at least a month (I will admit that
this hypothesis is untested).

'Stella' is nothing short of delightful and very,
very funny. Rabelaisian frat-house shenanigans.

'Walls' is another well crafted composition.
The skittering percussion and driving refrain
are one of the album's true highlights.
Mr Dawson is here, as elsewhere, a cracking little drummer.

'Party Song (The Walk Of Shame)' is another lolloping slice
of laddish mayhem. These boy's know how to party methinks!

'Therapy' brings the album to a quieter and more reflective
ending. A pretty tune, prettily performed. A little evidence
somewhat late in the day that even lads might have a softer side.

If you are going down to the woods yourself today this album
would make a wonderful gift to take to your Grandmother.

I played it to Frank (The Woodcutter) and he agrees
wholeheartedly (We reconciled our differences many moons ago).

I'll tell Granny you're coming and Frank has
promised to turn a blind eye on this occasion.

Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nothing Personal, 7 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nothing Personal (Audio CD)
This is the 3rd all time low album I purchased. It has some great songs, weightless, break your little heart, damned if I do ya (my fave) and lost in stereo. Some of the other songs seem like fillers as the album starts of strongly but finishes weekly, shame, but still recommended just for the beginning of the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nothing Personal, 7 May 2011
This review is from: Nothing Personal (Audio CD)
Only started liking this band when I went to one of their recent gigs in London with a friend who had a spare ticket...so glad I went!
Ordered this album straight afterwards, and cannot stop playing it!
Favourite songs are Lost in Stereo and Walls.
Worth buying it and can't wait for the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars lp, 17 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nothing Personal (Audio CD)
love the band and this cd! perfect Christmas gift or birthday present! ATL at their best! good price and it came early - I have brought it for some friends and I have had no complaints
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Favourite, 7 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nothing Personal (Audio CD)
My favourite album from All Time Low, the songs all have this "my life sucks but at least music is here" thing. I can't choose a favourite song I love them all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nothing Personal
Nothing Personal by All Time Low (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews