Customer Reviews


1,668 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,158)
4 star:
 (195)
3 star:
 (133)
2 star:
 (69)
1 star:
 (113)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3D Makes it a better film
I purchased this at HMV due to promising a movie night at my house and unfortunately my Amazon purchase did not arrive on time (yet - Royal Mail issue?), but this is exactly the same film - therefore is not an Amazon verified purchase.

Like I always say, I am dubious of reviews before the product is released as I do not feel this is a true representation of...
Published 24 months ago by Mr. Russell A. Thomas

versus
366 of 410 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, but special edition on the way...
Ok so the film we all know about, how can you not? Personally I expected to dislike it given the enormous amount of hype that went with it, but in actual fact I thought it was an amazing film, dazzling, exciting, well acted, great effects and an immersive adventure, which whilst simple in story was perfect in execution. The Blu-Ray disc is pretty much going to be the...
Published on 26 April 2010 by Deckard


‹ Previous | 1157 158 159167 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Avatar, 18 May 2010
By 
Mrs. L. M. O'brien (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Avatar [DVD] (DVD)
Received in good condition and on time, have not yet had time to watch the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 10 May 2010
By 
S. Gue "Simon" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Avatar [DVD] (DVD)
I thought this was an amazing story and the computer generated stuff is seamless. I would only say that the 3D was not as good as I expected
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant film-making., 2 May 2010
By 
Mr. T. A. Maurice "Film Addict" (Essex,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Avatar (DVD + Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
One can forgive a film having a simplistic storyline if that film captures,and holds,one's imagination,and interest.
I was quickly drawn into the alien world created by James Cameron,and remained spellbound to the end credits.
All credit to James Cameron for his breadth of vision,and to his team for so ably realising that vision on screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 27 Mar 2010
By 
Hanne Böckhaus "Eikica" (Sandager, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Avatar [DVD] (DVD)
Got to the best made film I've seen till now! Fantastic universe they created! Great!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
YES
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars True Blue...., 1 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Avatar [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this at the cinema yesterday in 3D and was left rather flat by the experience. Clearly if you are the kind of person who judges films and games by the graphics or special effects then you will love this. But you only need to look a little deeper to realise that the film is actually rather dull and predictable. It felt very much like the film was made by a company that usually produces games based on blockbuster movies which is an odd volte-face.

I found my attention starting to drift after about an hour and it was only re-engaged towards the end which was nothing if not exciting though nonsensical. 99% of people will find this film a thrill ride from start to finish. If you prefer something with a little depth (and I know that is a taboo word in this country) then look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 107 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cash-in, 9 Oct 2010
By 
V. K. Manglaveras (thessaloniki, greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
We own the original blue ray theatrical version and now we get 8 more minutes and for this we must pay 17 MORE UK POUNDS ?
Sorry but i i'm not a sucker....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars crap, 30 May 2010
By 
Krystie Maddox-lue (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Avatar [DVD] (DVD)
one word: pocahontas. that's all this film is, pocahontas in space, and without the amazing songs. the storyline's as predictable as the characters; i think James Cameron must have thrown up and this script was one of the contents of his stomach because there's simply no value to it whatsoever. well, that might be a little harsh, it has good sfx... yeah that's it for the positives. if you like hollywood's regenerated vomit - such as district 9 - buy this. if you value cinematography as an art, rent it or borrow it, cause you'll only want to see it once and that's for the sfx.

oh, and just so people know, this is only the 'highest grossing film ever' when you forget to take in the rate of inflation - casablanca's still technically the highest grossing film. a true masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Avatar - A Must See, 6 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. P. E. Garner (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Avatar: Limited Edition Steelbook [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Have seen Avatar in 2D and 3D and its just brilliant. Parts of the 3D film were mega but at the same time some of surrounding picture was blurred. However overall, wouldn't have missed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars rerelease in Autumn?, 17 Mar 2010
This review is from: Avatar [DVD] (DVD)
I have watched Avatar in cinema and enjoyed it, my main complaint about this DVD is that the movie is being considered for 'rerelease'in the cinemas in the autumn, so i wouldn't buy the DVD now as it's not going to have the full story, and it won't have all the special features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1157 158 159167 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Avatar: Limited Edition Steelbook [Blu-ray]
Avatar: Limited Edition Steelbook [Blu-ray] by James Cameron (Blu-ray - 2010)
£12.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews