Customer Reviews


1,580 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,081)
4 star:
 (190)
3 star:
 (130)
2 star:
 (66)
1 star:
 (113)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3D Makes it a better film
I purchased this at HMV due to promising a movie night at my house and unfortunately my Amazon purchase did not arrive on time (yet - Royal Mail issue?), but this is exactly the same film - therefore is not an Amazon verified purchase.

Like I always say, I am dubious of reviews before the product is released as I do not feel this is a true representation of...
Published 22 months ago by Mr. Russell A. Thomas

versus
365 of 409 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, but special edition on the way...
Ok so the film we all know about, how can you not? Personally I expected to dislike it given the enormous amount of hype that went with it, but in actual fact I thought it was an amazing film, dazzling, exciting, well acted, great effects and an immersive adventure, which whilst simple in story was perfect in execution. The Blu-Ray disc is pretty much going to be the...
Published on 26 April 2010 by Deckard


‹ Previous | 1 2158 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3D Makes it a better film, 24 Oct 2012
By 
Mr. Russell A. Thomas (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased this at HMV due to promising a movie night at my house and unfortunately my Amazon purchase did not arrive on time (yet - Royal Mail issue?), but this is exactly the same film - therefore is not an Amazon verified purchase.

Like I always say, I am dubious of reviews before the product is released as I do not feel this is a true representation of what you get. So reviews from 2 years ago are obviously not basing it on the product that was released a week ago.

The film is ok in my opinion, seems to be a mix of Ferngully, Aliens & Dances With Wolves. But my opinion is my opinion and I suggest you form your own. However, when seeing this movie in 3D it is SOOOO much better! I was amazed with the 3D which made the film far more engaging.

The packaging is quite nice - the lenticular art is a nice look. Inside you get a run of the mill blu-ray disc box with 2 discs. One is the DVD and the other is the mixed 3D/2D blu-ray. Of course you get the 'Titanic' flyer - what film doesn't get an insert in it these days? Thankfully the film wasn't covered in all that shrink wrap that does my head in.

The film is 161 minutes long - this is NOT the extended edition. I am sure that one will crop up one day in yet another limited edition super mega steelbook. Disc one (the blu-ray) does not have any extras beyond the film, the DVD disc does not have any special features either. There was a collectors edition release a while ago that will have all this bonus content, but no 3D version of the film. Both discs are THX mastered and the blu-ray had DTS 5.1 Master Audio which sounds amazing on my Onkyo home theatre system. Of course the films are letterboxed on a widescreen telly. Picture quality in blu ray is obviously stunning though I did catch a few bits of ghosting (crosstalk) in 3D but this could be from my viewing angle from the LG passive 3D tv I have. The film in 3D has TONS of depths and quite a bit of pop as well.

I was 'meh' on the film as I did not see it in the theatre in 3D. Then, when I actually saw it in 3D the film plot was still 'meh' but with more enthusiasm if you understand what I mean. I enjoyed it far more in 3D, and would recommend anyone with a 3D telly to rent or buy this film and see it as it was intended to be seen. The cliche plot is still too predictable, but far more enjoyable in the extra dimension - at times you get really immersed in it.

I would give the film itself 3*'s for plot, the visuals & sound quality 5* so to balance it a solid 4*'s would be fair. Though I would say this film is a must have for someone with a 3D home cinema system - it really does show off the capabilities of your tv. My only hope is that the sequel doesn't have a predictable & cliche story line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive 3d, 15 Oct 2012
By 
Chris Hoare "Chris" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Its been a very long time coming Avatar 3d BluRay having been exclusive to Panasonic for a long time. Now that its here its good to remember how much time and money James Cameron spent getting the 3d right in Avatar. Even now 3 years late only the stark but visually stunning Prometheus has come close to giving the consideration as to how the 3d should look.

The 3d box comes with 2d and 3d versions on bluray and a dvd; Im not sure why they include DVD's anymore and would far rather they had included a digital copy. THe heart of the matter is the 3d version; something i have been waiting for some time. The blu ray transfer is outstanding; with no motion juddering and the super bright colours of Pandora still look especially great. As the film progresses he alien environment comes to life with plants and flies buzzing around the actors.

The sound is as epic as the visuals; and as the film builds to its climatic ending if you have one your subwoofer gets more and more work.

Its an impressive visual feast; the plot is perhaps a little hokey; but its the 3d film you will show your friends to demonstrate your TV every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


174 of 193 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Special Features for the DVD, 11 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is not a review but just as important. for those wishing to choose between the dvd or blu-ray as amazon have listed the blu-ray features.

So Actually: just for the info, the DVD version will only have 4 hours of special features (this is verified elswehere and on the hut website). where as the blu-ray will have the full 8hrs. Cheers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Return to Pandora for a further eight minutes!, 15 Oct 2010
After the phenomenal theatrical run of Avatar not least in the US but worldwide, $2.7 billion and counting, Fox Pictures had to reluctantly withdraw the movie from exhibition on IMAX screens to make way for the 3D and IMAX presentation of Alice in Wonderland. Cameron claimed that pulling Avatar from screens.."left money on the table"..so has re-released this picture to scoop up the remaining dollars, and taken the opportunity to release a slightly longer cut of the picture, once again on DVD and Blu Ray. Although quite how much they need the extra money is another matter! I personally was very happy to return to Pandora again for another 2 hours and 30 minutes. I found the movie again very immersive, and very moving.

James Cameron's movies are always long and he always cuts them: Aliens, Terminator 2 and The Abyss are prime examples - the missing footage incorporated later in their respective Director's Cuts and DVD/Blue Ray Extended Versions. However, the additional footage on display in this Special Edition comprises only eight minutes. It features noticeable extra scenes only on a few occasions; a scene set in Grace Augustine's abandoned school with colouring books littering the floor and bullet holes in the wall. It points to an interesting back-story off screen, and explains Jake Sully's questions later on when asking Neytiri how she learnt English so well. Photos of Grace, Neytiri and some Na'vi children on the locker door at the Hallelujah Mountains mobile site also fleshes this small plot-line out. Other scenes feature a short segment showing a newly-initiated Jake hunting a stampede of Pandoran Buffalo-type creatures (Sturmbeasts) during a flying montage. Other little snippets see Jake and Neytiri exploring the jungle floor with Jake staring in wonder at some bizarre flora and fauna. The only additional scene of any note features the Na'vi warriors jubilant after setting ablaze a convoy of automated forest clearance ploughs, the aftermath of which sees a mobile camera mount showing a live feed of the corpses of the RDA soldiers riddled with arrows. The rest of the additional footage is merely extended scenes you've already seen with just a few more lines added that were probably cut originally due to time constraints. However, it does feel like a longer experience, and a very welcome one. There is one final scene, after the final battle that show Tsu'tey (Jake's rival for Neytiri's affections) dying on the floor of the jungle after falling from the RDA bomber after his brave attack. During this scene Tsu'tey asks Jake to kill him ceremonially and take leadership of the tribe. The only scene that is missing, and indeed, a scene that I very much wanted to see, is the scene set on earth (that was featured in the trailer) showing Jake in a bar in his wheel chair moving towards the camera before starting a fight with a fellow patron. Afterwards he shares a conversation the two RDA representatives that wish to discuss with him his `fresh start on a new world, where he will make a difference'. Both of the theatrical cuts only ever featured these two fellows fleetingly - so it will be interesting to finally see this scene that until this time has only been viewable on the internet on sites like 'youtube', where it has been subject to the usual foul-mouthed and illiterate insults by 'postees'. This scene will feature in another version of the movie within this pack that is a further 16 minutes long, and was originally intended to introduce the film.

What impacts upon you first is the sheer Deep Canvas of being surrounded by the environment of Pandora. Absolutely remarkable visual effects! The quality of Blu Ray discs will very likely bare out a very rich colour scheme, but I am sure the DVD will be equally as detailed. When 3D home viewing starts being introduced to the consumer I am sure this movie will be one of the first to be converted.

Avatar is a beautiful piece of work we hope that Cameron takes us back to Pandora soon, Fox Pictures have recently announced that Avatar 2 & 3 will be James Cameron's new projects, shot back-to-back and sadly due to arrive no sooner than 2014!! The DVD content features the First Theatrical Cut, the Special Edition Cut and the Collector's Edition Cut(with the additional 16 minutes) all presented on Disc 1 split into Parts 1 and 2, Part 2 of all the Cuts presented on the second disc. The third disc features a 90 minute documentary into the revolutionary 3D technology used to make the film and a very detailed Deleted Scenes Presentation featuring previously unseen footage, incomplete visual effects concepts and green screen shots. The other extras include access to the additional scenes that were cut, and then restored for the 2 latter cuts. The Blu Ray has more additional content which is unavailable on the DVD. This is frustrating but the 90 minute documentary is of a very high standard. Those who have a thirst for some additional materials will be quenched by this release (I have not upgraded to Blu Ray as yet), the additional Blu Ray features seem somewhat frivolous, and include some additional production featurettes, production notes and something referred to on the back of the Blu Ray case as 'a message from Pandora' - whatever that means?! The extra Blu Ray content is the kind of material that was originally standard on most Special Edition DVDs before the advent of Blu Ray enabled film companies to restrict content to the Blu Rays as way of compellling audiences to upgrade and therefore make more money out of us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


365 of 409 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, but special edition on the way..., 26 April 2010
By 
Deckard (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Avatar (DVD + Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
Ok so the film we all know about, how can you not? Personally I expected to dislike it given the enormous amount of hype that went with it, but in actual fact I thought it was an amazing film, dazzling, exciting, well acted, great effects and an immersive adventure, which whilst simple in story was perfect in execution. The Blu-Ray disc is pretty much going to be the reference quality disc for anyone wanting to show off their system, it boasts an absolutely staggeringly beauitful high def picture that's so vibrant and detailed it's a pleasure on the eye. The lossless DTS-DH Master audio is more than a match for the visuals, Pandora literally comes alive in your living room with varied and effective use of the whole surround set-up, crystal clear dialog, thunderous punchy action sequences and dynamic delivery of James Horner's score. #

So buy it then yes? Well, it depends.. If you absolutely can't wait to own it, then chances are you already have it. However if you're deliberating, and can wait a few months I would suggest holding fire because this release, believe it or not, in an absolute crime against home cinema releasing has NO EXTRAS. Yes that's right, ZERO, nada, zilch none. Not even an Avatar trailer, a 2 minute intro from james cameron, or even a flimsy Avatar coaster to stand your cuppa on.

But, of course, you know why... It's yet another massive title that distributors can dangle in front of you like a sizeable carrot while the film studio picks your back pocket. And then in 6 months time, oh yes, they will do it again.. There is a 4-DISC SPECIAL EDITION due for release in November which will include a two-hour making-of documentary, deleted scenes, and no doubt a whole wealth of other such coolness And then let's not forget that there will also be the inevitable 3D release a little further down the line from that one.

Whichever way you look at it, this is a barer-than-bare bones release of the film, which whilst utterly spectaular and jaw dropping, doesn't really deserve the hard earned cash of people itching to get behind the scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


152 of 171 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Blu-ray for techincally-awesome, narratively so-so Avatar (Extended Collector's Edn), 27 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It puzzles me why Amazon groups together irrelevant reviews - here from the DVD version and from the earlier Blu-ray edition - with reviews actually about this product. Well, never mind.

This is a review of the Blu-ray of Avatar, Extended Collector's Edition. First up, it must be said that the film is technically outstanding. The Blu-ray resolution, sound, and general immersion are practically second-to-none. Never mind Transformers 2 IMAX edition. Never mind other recent BD stunners. This is incredible stuff. Crisp. Colourful. Awesome fine detail. Etc. Etc. Absolutely 5-stars for picture and sound, without a doubt.

I've seen both the normal and two extended versions of the film. There are two separate versions here. One adds 8 minutes; the other 16 minutes. The additional material is great - and really adds to the story. Highly recommended if you've held back on getting Avatar so far. For an upgrade/double-dip though, it's probably the extra footage PLUS the extras that are of interest.

There's more material, really, than I have time to watch. I've watched about a quarter of what's on disc 2, and about the same of disc 3. I'm not going to run out of extra material any time soon, that's for sure! Most of what's there is great - although it does have a bit of a self-congratulatory tone to most of it. That's not really a problem, but just be forewarned. Everything is 'technical marvel'-this, 'breakthrough'-that, 'revolutionary'-do-da, and so on. Admittedly, what Cameron did with Avatar is breathtaking - from a purely technical standpoint. You also get an acute understanding of why the film cost so much - and took so long - to make after going through a sample of the extras, no doubt...

For the film and its story, well, I guess you've probably already made up your mind. I personally prefer 'New World' (with Christian Bale et al.). Still, it's OK. (Minor spoiler) It ends well. But an Ozu film it ain't. It's not subtle. It's not transcendental (except from an immersion point of view, as I say). It's not that clever. It's not that well-scripted. It doesn't really get under your skin - or make you think about conservation, botany, climate change, human nature etc. - much as Cameron and the crew might think that it does.

Still, if you go in with the right kind of expectations, it's a pretty stunning, quite unique kind of experience. Really special, in its own way.

So, for me, 5/5, very highly recommended. An excellent technical quality, good value Blu-ray!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 73 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great film, poor package, incorrect Amazon description, 19 Nov 2010
Great film. But there's not even a leaflet with the DVD to tell you what's on each disc, and it seems as if Amazon have screwed up their description of the item, posting the BluRay content rather than the DVD content. Now I'm trying to complain, but it looks like the only option is to return the DVD entirely, which I don't want to do. Really not very happy about this, and a black mark against Amazon in my book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


138 of 156 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars dodgy description, 15 Nov 2010
By 
Mr. Lee Regan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
i think i must be going mad.
i read the discription of the DVD version of AVATAR & thought WOW i cant wait to get my hands on this little package.
Iwent out & bought this 2 day & thought whoever looks through these discs at AMAZON should have gone to SPECKSAVERS.
The 3 versions of this BRILLIANT film are actually split over the 1st 2 discs.
Thats the 1st half of each film on disc 1 & the 2nd half of each film on disc 2.
I'm sure this has been done for the max picture & sound quality & my god they look & sound supberb.
And on the 3rd disc are the extras butt knowhere near the amount that AMAZON seem to mention.
As i dont own the BLU-RAY version i have a funny feeling that the discription for the DVD that AMAZON have printed are for the BLU-RAY version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


97 of 110 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extended Avatar is fantastic!, 18 Nov 2010
Forget all of the negative reviews - Avatar Extended Collector Edition is a must see film.

Having seen Avatar several times at an IMAX, I wasn't prepared for how brilliant this would look on blu ray at home. The clarity and colours are amazing, and yes it's not in 3D, but this version is amazingly detailed and allows you to look around the screen and see much more (even I spotted new things, and I've seen Avatar many times).

This collectors extended version of the film is long - even longer than the re-release in August. So the big question is, is it worth watching? My opinion is yes, this version with extended battle and hunting scenes adds so much more depth to the movie. Grace's character is given more time and we find out about what happened to her school, which adds depth to her and Neytiri's characters. It shows us how Jake lives before coming to Pandora, and makes his joy at walking again and ultimately becoming one of the people so much more poignant. Tsu'tey's final scene is very moving, and throughout the film there are many moments that will bring tears to the eyes. It's such a pity these scenes ended up on the cutting room floor in the original version, since they add so much to the overall experience.

This is an amazing and beautiful film, which is so emersive and hugely enjoyable. It will be a long time before we receive another visual treat like this one(probably in 2014 when Avatar 2 is released). So I'd advise any waverers to not miss out - purchase the blu ray, and then sit back and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Love the movie, like the price But !, 18 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As many others have said I don't much like the way the movie was split over two disks and Amazons failure to update the description on it when it's misleading to the extent that it is is just plain aggravating.
On the plus side I do think the picture quality is better than the original one disk version, but that may be wishful thinking.
Ho hum now I suppose we get to wait for the wide-screen version and then the 3D. Am I sucker enough to shell out for them as well, probably.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2158 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Avatar: Limited Edition Steelbook [Blu-ray]
Avatar: Limited Edition Steelbook [Blu-ray] by James Cameron (Blu-ray - 2010)
13.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews