Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Coming together (book 2)
This series is starting to come together quite nicely.
It's Carson's turn to find love. He wants to settle down and after having a one night stand with Holly he can't get her out of his head. He eventually meets Holly again and asks for a date the problem is Holly is too busy with college and family to have any serious relationship but she's up for a bed buddy...
Published 1 month ago by nina loves erotica & paranormal

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as the other reviewer makes out...as I think she was talking about an entirely different book.
This is not a romance with a HEA, but with an HFN at the end, which could well turn into a HEA during the remainder of the series. It's part of the Out Of Uniform Navy SEALS series, not that there was really anything Navy SEAL-ish going on in the tale, and yes, he could, with his apparent looks, just have been the male model he claimed he was, rather than a NS...
Published 23 months ago by ROROBLU'S MUM


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as the other reviewer makes out...as I think she was talking about an entirely different book., 5 Oct 2012
By 
ROROBLU'S MUM "ROROBLU'S MUM" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heat of Passion: An Out of Uniform story (Kindle Edition)
This is not a romance with a HEA, but with an HFN at the end, which could well turn into a HEA during the remainder of the series. It's part of the Out Of Uniform Navy SEALS series, not that there was really anything Navy SEAL-ish going on in the tale, and yes, he could, with his apparent looks, just have been the male model he claimed he was, rather than a NS.

It was fairly well-written, and whilst it did make me check out the other tales in the series, I don't think I'll be buying any of them. They are all novellas, they mostly have one-off menages in them, they don't all end in HEAs, only HFNs, and in one particular tale, most of the reviews mention the bed-hopping of the female lead. Nice...not. But, they are meant to be erotic romances, so if that floats your boat, then you may well enjoy the series. I am fine with menages if they're there for a reason, equally wanted by all (not in the case, apparently, with the bride and groom; she wanted one, he just decided that he should indulge her, and then turned voyeur too. Not sure how that's considered hot), or the trio end up in a permanent MFM, or other, menage, but am not so keen on the 'because she wants one, and I love her, I need to indulge her' kink. Anyway, back to this tale:

Carson, a NS who has decided that he's been a manwhore for too long and now needs to do relationships, does a female in a nightclub, 'Jessica', who wants him to rock her world. She disappears on him, only to resurface as a bra-less (don't ask, totally superfluous and 'yeah, right') waitress in a see-though white shirt, at his friend Gabe's wedding to Shelby, where he is the best man, who once did much, much more than just kiss the bride, in one of said menages.

'Jessica' is in fact Holly, and after being let-down by her boyfriend, wants nothing but a sexual fling, with Carson who wants nothing but a relationship. But, they still have sex and eventually, it ends in said HFN.

What I didn't like in this tale, was the MFM fling came into the picture at the altar, just at the bit where the priest asked about 'if anyone knows of any impediment...', and then again popped up in conversation between Shelby and Holly, without any embarassment on the former's part, and without any issue on the latter's part. That may well be grown-up/casually blase befitting this day and age, but I wouldn't have been so OK with it, nor would I have made friends and kept in daily contact.

The MFM didn't get any page-time between Holly and Carson, and the book ending felt very rushed and very anti-climactic and a bit OTT in the silly little non-essentials that the author included, so for me, whilst it was OK as a freebie, it wouldn't have been as a paid-for read. Nor will I read any more in the series, unless they're freebies.

And, yes, I do think that the other reviewer must have misposted her review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Coming together (book 2), 29 July 2014
This review is from: Heat of Passion: An Out of Uniform story (Kindle Edition)
This series is starting to come together quite nicely.
It's Carson's turn to find love. He wants to settle down and after having a one night stand with Holly he can't get her out of his head. He eventually meets Holly again and asks for a date the problem is Holly is too busy with college and family to have any serious relationship but she's up for a bed buddy.
Carson goes along with it for so long but he wants more and it takes an argument and a mission for Holly to realise she wants the same.
Again the sex was steamy and the characters are starting to have some connections to one another.
Heat of the Storm: An Out of Uniform Storybook 3
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4 stars, 12 Mar 2014
This review is from: Heat of Passion: An Out of Uniform story (Kindle Edition)
Another great little addition to the series!

A funny, short, hot little read!

Mind you, I got to Will in this book, at the Crazy Golf and almost, almost went straight to his book

Great main character, great secondary characters and a lot packed into a not many pages!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Out of Uniform book 2, 18 May 2013
By 
Kate Phillips "Kate" (Southampton, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Heat of Passion: An Out of Uniform story (Kindle Edition)
In some ways I preferred Heat of passion to the first book in the series, Heat of the moment, it had a better storyline and better characters but it was nowhere near as hot.

There was more depth to this book the characters had real issues to struggle with and overcome. It was a sweet and short romance which had a lot more than sex in it.

The characters were good. I liked Carson from the first book and liked him in this one as well, he was sweet and swoony and determined to change the way he sees relationships.

I liked Holly too but I wasn't crazy about her, she was a bit of a push over and I wanted to see her stand up for herself a little more.

The romance was nice and I thought they were cute together. The sex scenes were average not blow your socks off hot like the first book but I was fine with that, I was just happy there was a lot more depth to this story than in the last book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Only OK for me, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heat of Passion: An Out of Uniform story (Kindle Edition)
I got this book as a free download, it was OK, better than some free downloads, but I won't be looking into any more works by this author. I like my romances to be sexy, romantic, a good storyline and a happy ending. This book had sex, not romantic and only a so so storyline and a open ending. Though our heroine has had only two previous partners, she was quite happy to have sex within a few minutes of meeting someone in a cleaning cupboard and then rush off straight afterwards! On meeting again, she only wants sex no relationship, most men would be saying Yipee, but our hero has decided he wants a proper relationship after the numerous non rememberable women in the past. Though he is a Seal, we are not given much insight into this, which is a shame, because this would have enhanced the storyline. Their was also mention of a ménage situation between his best friend and his now wife but no awkwardness was shown at the wedding and it would appear to be a one off event, but who knows, as the author didn't make any effort to bring the reader in to explore the emotions of what effect this could cause, or not, as the case maybe. Overall only three stars for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 23 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heat of Passion: An Out of Uniform story (Kindle Edition)
I would deff recommend this book to all. throughly enjoyed it and once i started i couldnt put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love love love Elle Kennedy - definitely one of my ..., 10 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heat of Passion: An Out of Uniform story (Kindle Edition)
I love love love Elle Kennedy - definitely one of my all time favorite authors! This series is OMG hot! Read all of them!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unsatisfactory..., 28 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heat of Passion: An Out of Uniform story (Kindle Edition)
Having read all the Suzanne Brockmann 'Troubleshooters' series and a few other of her Navy SEAL titles I had high hopes for this book - also one of a series. It did not live up to my expectations... it is very short - really a short story and the language used is far too crude for the circumstances, giving no credence to the plot at all. Best friends who become lovers would not use such vocabulary and it just didn't ring true. This is a shame as when not trying to shock us with her fruity vocabulary, the author manages to be far more engaging. Will not be buying any more of this series...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews