Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars9
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 7 April 2007
Along with No-Man, and countless other writing and production credits, Steven Wilson knocks out work with Aviv Geffen, under the name Blackfield.

Geffen adds his Depeche-esque vocals to 2 tracks here, and it makes a good contrast with Wilson's within a set of strong disparate tracks which are, as you might expect, immaculately recorded and produced. The tracks Blackfield, Scars and Hello are particularly memorable on first listen, but it doesn't take long to love all of this body of work.

The only criticism I can apply is the length of the album - at about 37 mins, it does feel short - but at current price, that's not too onerous.

Not too prog and not too easy, the arrangements are tight and non-indulgent - enjoy!
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2007
Blackfield are one of Porcupine Tree's front man Steve Wilson projects together with Israeli songwriter Aviv Geffen. If you like Porcupine Tree's sound, you may well like this, although with Blackfield the songs are shorter and poppier. The music is wonderfully crafted, the instrumentation a delightful mix of guitars and keyboards; this is brilliant pop/rock music.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2013
Yet another great ablum from SW. Is there no end to this mans talents? It seems that it doesn't matter who SW works with the end result is always superb. While in my opinion his work here with Aviv Geffen doesn''t match the stunning magnificence of his work with Tim Bowness in No-Man, there can be no denying that this is a very good album and is a much easier listen and should have been much more successful. In an age when we are bombarded by the utter drivel that emminates from that spawn of Satan, Simon (tallentless little ****bag) Cowell; here we have an album of top class pop songs that unfortunately it seems most people will never hear. So if you've enjoyed SW's other musical outings or if your just a fan of really good music and you haven't heard Blackfield then spoil yourself and give them a listen, I'm sure you won't regret it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2013
In a time of over publicized manufactured pop, great to know there's music like this around - tracks appear often in my playlists.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2014
An excellent product and service thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2011
absolutely stunning album inspiring a range of emotional feelings. favourite even though a tragic song is Glow. but from start to finish is a rollercoaster ride of sound and lyrics.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2011
This was the first Blackfield material I have heard, very easy on the ear. A must for fans of Porcupine Tree.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2015
Great Album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2013
Difficult to review because I do not believe Steve Wilson can do no wrong. Porcupine Tree are simply the best band in the World. How they remain so underground is beyond me. Blackfield is more rock based than prog but very enjoyable and like all good music grows on you with more listens.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)