Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Slump Is Over, 29 Aug 2009
This review is from: Artwork (Audio CD)
The Used's latest offering has a lot of hype surrounding it, perhaps due to a weaker preceding couple of releases. For once though, the hype is not unfounded. This album has a much more solid feel than any of its predecessors. It manages to be gritty and heavy without actually being too much of either. There is much less of a pop element than was present on In Love and Death & Lies For The Liars, which leaves you with a heavier rock based sound. Lies For the Liars was very much an experimental release from the band filled with a lot of random beats and unfamiliar vocal styles. Artwork, however, is the most solid record the Used have released since their self-titled. They really stick to what they know and don't stray too much from it. The Used themselves have described this album as `gross pop' and have said in interviews how this album is heavy without being too loud, which strangely is spot on. This is their first CD that hasn't been produced by John Feldmann, instead they've chosen Matt Squire to take the reins. This was a conscious decision by the band to change their direction and freshen things up.

From this record you can clearly see how the band has evolved. One noticeable element of the album is the low heavy bass lines. The somewhat poppy bass lines are gone and now blend really well with the heavy crunching guitars and drums. This album is the first full album that The Used's new drummer Dan Whitesides has played on; he doesn't disappoint. The lyrics are much darker and closer to the roots of the original CD, there's no 'Liar, Liar, Pants on Fire' here. Lyrically there are a lot of blood and death references. One clear example of this is from the album's debut single 'Blood On My Hands', but they are frequent in such songs as 'Never Meant To Die' as well as being heavily featured in the imagery surrounding the release. The overall balance of the CD is good, although it has to be said the songs don't vary a huge deal, which is actually a good thing when the songs are this good. You may find that on your first listen this album passes you by, but don't let it. Give it another good listen and you'll really start to appreciate what's to offer from this CD. The 'lightest' song is 'Kissing You Goodbye' which although isn't as heavy as the other songs, it doesn't seem out of place and is a good solid ballad. I would say though that it seems like it should be positioned at the end of the album, rather than the middle.

There are quite a lot of standout tracks. The lead single from the album 'Blood On My Hands' is a real catchy sing along track which will be stuck in your head for days. One song that perhaps may be the next full single is 'Empty With You' as it's an anthemic song with all the right hooks. Another stand out track is 'The Best Of Me', which is both eery, heavy and catchy. Other notable songs include, 'Come Undone', 'Sold My Soul' and 'Men Are All The Same'. The Used have really managed to turn things around with this release. There's plenty more life in this band yet.

Track Ratings:
1. Blood On My Hands - 8/10
2. Empty With You - 9/10
3. Born To Quit - 7/10
4. Kissing You Goodbye - 6/10
5. Sold My Soul - 8/10
6. Watered Down - 6/10
7. On The Cross - 7/10
8. Come Undone - 9/10
9. Meant To Die - 8/10
10. The Best Of Me - 9/10
11. Men Are All The Same - 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic 4th album!, 31 Oct 2009
This review is from: Artwork (Audio CD)
It's rare for bands to continue being this awesome. Yes, I thought the self-titled (their best IMO), 'In Love And Death' and 'Lies For The Liars' are awesome albums. This takes The Used to another level.

Heavier sound which I thought didn't work when I listen to the songs several times. I now think this is one of the best albums this year, it's a massive grower but eventually become a jam.

Well done, guys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars your not listening to the cover art, 13 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Artwork [PA Version] (Audio CD)
When this album was release in 2009 it was haled as the album of the year by many of the music rags, just shows they know nothing about music then, because this album is timeless, a classic that every one should own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A++++, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Artwork (Audio CD)
I chose 5 stars, as i am very happy with the item great condition, would love to buy another item A+++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Birthday Gift, 3 July 2011
By 
Mr. John R. Mcneil (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Artwork [PA Version] (Audio CD)
This was a birthday gift for my daughter. Originally ordered this from another supplier who later said they could not deliver as promised. With only a few days to go ordered from Amazon and they delivered in time - well done. My daughter was delighted with this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed this, 8 Nov 2010
This review is from: Artwork (Audio CD)
Had no idea what to expect. My daughter wanted it - but it was a reallt good cd - recommend it if you like quite heavy rock
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars thank the heavens, 20 Sep 2010
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Artwork [PA Version] (Audio CD)
I wasnt dazzled by the used last album, i found it bland at first and after a few spins it grew more but there was still something feeble about it in parts.
The years since have passed, as they do, and the used seemed to be the forgotten band and if im honest i wasnt running to get this when it came out, there was less advertising for this than at any time before and i wasnt sure if they were the band i first fell in love with anymore.
This album landed in my lap a good few weeks ago now and i can honestly say that this is the bands finest work, well as close to the quality of their stunning debut as i have heard.
The album isnt heavy and thats ok, its dark but it all feels more natural, less forced, less of the case of trying to find radio air play perhaps, i aint sure what, but i know this is ear gold.
The hunger is back perhaps, its just a real joy to know that they have thrown their hearts back into it again, a real success. 4.5 out of 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great album, 10 Nov 2009
This review is from: Artwork [PA Version] (Audio CD)
This as a great album from the used.It seems to go back to the original sound of their first album. much better than the last album which sounded really rushed .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Certainly lives up to the hype!, 5 Sep 2009
By 
Ms. R. Hutley "willowgirl5" (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Artwork (Audio CD)
This is a truly amazing album, after all the hype preceeding its release its hard not to get carried away and I admit I expected great things - and I am so glad to report that I have not been dissapointed! 'Blood on your hands' is an immediate signature of things to come, both lyrically and musically this album is raw, passionate and emotive. For me, every song is a stroke of genius and I honestly cannot find one bad word to say about any song at all - which is unusual as usually at least one song on an album will be weaker for me! Personal favs include 'Kissing you goodbye', a truly beautiful and powerful ballad; 'Meant to die', which is fast becoming one of my all time fav Used songs already; 'On the cross', 'Come undone' and 'Sold my soul'. Although I hate comparing The Used's albums to each other as each is unique and so they should be, I'd have to say that if you loved their original sound from their self titled debut album or 'In Love and Death' more than their later albums, then 'Artwork' should be right up your street - however if your more a fan of their radically different recent albums 'Lies for the Liars' or 'Shallow Believers' then you may not like it as much as those. Personally I feel that this will be the best album of the year for me, and it has not left my cd player since the day I got it - highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Slump Is Over, 29 Aug 2009
This review is from: Artwork [PA Version] (Audio CD)
The Used's latest offering has a lot of hype surrounding it, perhaps due to a weaker preceding couple of releases. For once though, the hype is not unfounded. This album has a much more solid feel than any of its predecessors. It manages to be gritty and heavy without actually being too much of either. There is much less of a pop element than was present on In Love and Death & Lies For The Liars, which leaves you with a heavier rock based sound. Lies For the Liars was very much an experimental release from the band filled with a lot of random beats and unfamiliar vocal styles. Artwork, however, is the most solid record the Used have released since their self-titled. They really stick to what they know and don't stray too much from it. The Used themselves have described this album as `gross pop' and have said in interviews how this album is heavy without being too loud, which strangely is spot on. This is their first CD that hasn't been produced by John Feldmann, instead they've chosen Matt Squire to take the reins. This was a conscious decision by the band to change their direction and freshen things up.

From this record you can clearly see how the band has evolved. One noticeable element of the album is the low heavy bass lines. The somewhat poppy bass lines are gone and now blend really well with the heavy crunching guitars and drums. This album is the first full album that The Used's new drummer Dan Whitesides has played on; he doesn't disappoint. The lyrics are much darker and closer to the roots of the original CD, there's no 'Liar, Liar, Pants on Fire' here. Lyrically there are a lot of blood and death references. One clear example of this is from the album's debut single 'Blood On My Hands', but they are frequent in such songs as 'Never Meant To Die' as well as being heavily featured in the imagery surrounding the release. The overall balance of the CD is good, although it has to be said the songs don't vary a huge deal, which is actually a good thing when the songs are this good. You may find that on your first listen this album passes you by, but don't let it. Give it another good listen and you'll really start to appreciate what's to offer from this CD. The 'lightest' song is 'Kissing You Goodbye' which although isn't as heavy as the other songs, it doesn't seem out of place and is a good solid ballad. I would say though that it seems like it should be positioned at the end of the album, rather than the middle.

There are quite a lot of standout tracks. The lead single from the album 'Blood On My Hands' is a real catchy sing along track which will be stuck in your head for days. One song that perhaps may be the next full single is 'Empty With You' as it's an anthemic song with all the right hooks. Another stand out track is 'The Best Of Me', which is both eery, heavy and catchy. Other notable songs include, 'Come Undone', 'Sold My Soul' and 'Men Are All The Same'. The Used have really managed to turn things around with this release. There's plenty more life in this band yet.

Track Ratings:
1. Blood On My Hands - 8/10
2. Empty With You - 9/10
3. Born To Quit - 7/10
4. Kissing You Goodbye - 6/10
5. Sold My Soul - 8/10
6. Watered Down - 6/10
7. On The Cross - 7/10
8. Come Undone - 9/10
9. Meant To Die - 8/10
10. The Best Of Me - 9/10
11. Men Are All The Same - 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Artwork
Artwork by The Used (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews