Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hydrophobic sand
This was one of the most popular Christmas presents my 6 year old grand daughter got, she and her Mum were both amazed by it. I shall certainly be buying more. So nice to find a present that is so interesting, different and educational, it rouses such curiosity and so many questions. Well done Science Museum, please produce more of this kind of thing. Great value too.
Published on 1 Jan 2011 by Lucy

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cool product but fun goes quickly
Very fun for a few hours but the fun dies very quickly. The sand also has a funky smell to it.
Published on 2 Aug 2011 by RW


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hydrophobic sand, 1 Jan 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Science Museum Hydrophobic Sand (Toy)
This was one of the most popular Christmas presents my 6 year old grand daughter got, she and her Mum were both amazed by it. I shall certainly be buying more. So nice to find a present that is so interesting, different and educational, it rouses such curiosity and so many questions. Well done Science Museum, please produce more of this kind of thing. Great value too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Weird and fun!, 21 Jan 2012
By 
Mrs. J. Aljaf (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Science Museum Hydrophobic Sand (Toy)
I originally bought this for a child, but it's fun to play with whatever your age. This literally does what it says on the tin! Even though it's fully understandable that this really is 'hydrophobic' sand, that it repells water and therefore remains dry, in reality it's always a genuine surprise to experience this unusual phenomenon. Great 'stocking filler' or fun gift for old or young alike! Note that it is just a small tin, about 10cm diameter (containing 4 tiny packs of different coloured sands), but despite the small quantities it is fully satisfying to experiment with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty nice., 10 Nov 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Science Museum Hydrophobic Sand (Toy)
Pretty nice, very amusing, never gets wet, though it is a bit messy, the chemical used to keep it dry leaves residue on the hands and in the bowl/container you have the water in. Really good for it's price though, entertains the kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cool product but fun goes quickly, 2 Aug 2011
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Science Museum Hydrophobic Sand (Toy)
Very fun for a few hours but the fun dies very quickly. The sand also has a funky smell to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Stocking filler, 11 Jan 2010
By 
N. Wilsonlock (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Science Museum Hydrophobic Sand (Toy)
Kids loved this sand - although I wonder if Science teacher daddy loved it more! Got some interesting educational discussions going - even amongst the grown ups!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Science Museum Hydrophobic Sand (Toy)
As a science technician, this was brilliant! The kids really love it!
Brilliant colours and easy to remove the water from the surface without losing all the sand.
Would definitely recommend to any science lovers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun for a while, 31 May 2010
By 
Mr. A. Elliott "ae9256" (Eastbourne, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Science Museum Hydrophobic Sand (Toy)
Good fun but not something a kid will play with more than a few times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really great, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Science Museum Hydrophobic Sand (Toy)
My son had hours of fun with this, the product was so compelling that all the family got involved in it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So fun, 5 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Science Museum Hydrophobic Sand (Toy)
Bought this my sister for Christmas the other year, she loved messing about with it and so did i until she got bored and filled the tin it's self with alll the sand and now it's just blobs of water and sand... if your sensible enough to enjoy the object for what it is... get it, it's fascinating to play with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sand, 8 Mar 2013
By 
Ms. Maxine Woods (SCOTLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Science Museum Hydrophobic Sand (Toy)
This was brilliant sand that does not get wet.
My daughter loved this and has been showing all her friends how this works
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Science Museum Hydrophobic Sand
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews