Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brother's Choice
Brother wanted it for his collection, he was very pleased with a fast and efficient service and the CD was as described
Published on 24 April 2010 by Da Parsons

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars in the beginning...
...there were two albums that didnt set the heather alight,so disappointing as it is i fully understand why the bands first two albums are issued in Salvo's superb remaster campaign as a 2 on 1 disc,completists will be disappointed as some b'sides etc are not included.

So what of this reissue ,well i've always quite liked Nazareths debut,is certainly of its...
Published on 15 Aug 2011 by Mr Blackwell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars in the beginning..., 15 Aug 2011
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Nazareth/Exercises (loud proud & remastered) (Audio CD)
...there were two albums that didnt set the heather alight,so disappointing as it is i fully understand why the bands first two albums are issued in Salvo's superb remaster campaign as a 2 on 1 disc,completists will be disappointed as some b'sides etc are not included.

So what of this reissue ,well i've always quite liked Nazareths debut,is certainly of its time,the days when a Bass player would be quite high in the mix,thankfully this remaster has come with a superb sound,the Bass playing in particular outstanding.

Nazareth(1971) """" a decent debut with highlights such as 'Witchdocter Women' and 'Dear John',the former giving a early indication of where the bands sound would go while the latter a superb Quo like shuffle.Other moments to mention would be the superb lenghty cover of 'Morning Dew' whilst the bizarre vocal on 'Fatman' always brings a smile,'Country Girl' is a good old stab at country rock while 'I had a Dream' has a superb vocal from Dan.

Exercises (1972) ** After the promise shown on the debut,this is a disappointment,maybe the band lost confidence,panicked ,who knows but its probably the poorest disc they released,for the most part its directionless with a series of well played but uninspiring tracks such as 'In My Time','Called Her Name' while 'Sad Song' sums up the disc,very down not much joy.Highlights are few and far between but plus points for 'Cats Eye,Apple Pie' & 'Fool About You' whilst '1692(Glencoe Massacre' shows their prowess,all in all one to forget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "...I'm Burning Up Inside..." - Nazareth (1971) and Exercises (1972) by NAZARETH (2009 CD Remaster), 11 Jan 2010
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Nazareth/Exercises (loud proud & remastered) (Audio CD)
This is the first title in Salvo's reissue of the Nazareth catalogue - the Scottish Seventies hard rock band that took their name from a lyric in "The Weight", a song on The Band's debut album "Music From Big Pink". The other 2009 title issued so far in this series is their blistering 3rd album from 1973 - "Razamanaz" (reviewed separately).

Each of these UK issues comes in a tri-gatefold card sleeve with the 'Loud, Proud & Remastered' logo on the front cover. When folded out, two of the flaps usually reflect the gatefold artwork of the original UK LP while the third flap gives us a live shot of the period (disc in the right flap, booklet in the left).

SALVOCD030 breaks down as follows (74:21 minutes):

Tracks 1 to 9 are their debut album "Nazareth" issued January 1971 in the UK on Pegasus Records PEG 10 and May 1972 on Warner Brothers BS 2615 in the USA (later pressings are on A&M)

Tracks 10 to 19 are their 2nd album "Exercises" issued June 1972 in the UK on Pegasus Records PEG 14 and October 1972 on Warner Brothers BS 2639 in the USA (later pressings are on A&M)

The 16-page colour booklet is superb, liner notes by band expert JOEL McIVER, pictures of rare UK 7" singles, Euro picture sleeves, tour program, promo photos from 1972 - very nicely done (it's missing the rear 'cards' artwork of "Exercises" though). But the really big news for the fans is the fantastic new SOUND. TIM TURAN at Turan Audio has remastered the original tapes and a truly fabulous job has been done - loud, clear, and ballsy - without being overbearing. To use the vernacular - this rocks...

Downsides - there were 4 singles issued between the 2 LPs - two of them "Dear John" and "Morning Dew" (itself an edit) had non-album B-sides - "Friends" and "Spinning Top" - they're not on here (neither is the edit). If you want those, you'll need the previous issue of both albums - a bit of a pain really. The lovely artwork for the rear sleeve of the US "Exercises" is missing too as I said and someone has double-imaged the first sleeve picture for the rear, which does no one any favours. That said - I actually like the packaging and at least each issue to follow will be uniform...

But that's nothing to the other 'problem' - the actual material itself. As you've no doubt read from other reviewers, the songs on these 'formation' albums are viewed as good at best - and in the case of "Exercises" where they veered away from their rock formula - as awful. It's not all that bad actually. I love the quirky Band-feel to "Cat's Eye, Apple Pie" and "Fool About You" from Exercises, while "Empty Arms, Empty Heart" from their debut is as good as anything Wishbone Ash was doing at the time. "Dear John" from the first album (lyrics above) also features excellent bluesy piano work from Pete Wingfield of Britain's Blue Horizon signing "Jellybread" (see separate review of their Complete BH material). But there's no doubt that "Love Now You're Gone" and the weedy "Madeline" is plodding stuff. And their 1st version of "Woke Up This Morning" hadn't quite got there yet. Still, at least all the tracks are now saved by truly great sound quality...

This is probably the 3rd or even 4th reissue of Nazareth's material, but it's by far the best sounding version [Dan McCafferty has to be one of the most underrated vocalists of the period - Frankie Miller too]. The packaging is also pleasing to the eye and it's pitched at mid-price.

But it would take hunger, Roger Glover of Deep Purple as a Producer and a return to good old rock blues to deliver the real goods next time around - the awesome "Razamanaz"...

"Nazareth/Exercises" is recommended - in a three-star kind of a way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor Start!!!, 11 Sep 2009
By 
A. Dockrell "Medway Man" (Chatham,Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nazareth/Exercises (loud proud & remastered) (Audio CD)
Well unfortunately these two opening offerings from the nazsters just dont do it for me they were fumbling around finding their way here and its not very good.
The first album is marginally better than the second which quite frankly is mega boring and is so of its time.
I really cant find a track on the second album I like at all. On the first I will go for the first track witchdoctor woman which is the pick of the set in my opinion and probably the only reason I gave this compendium 2 stars instead of what it should have got 1.
Its not a shade on the stuff to come and Dan's voice on these albums is unrecognisable its so insipid, thank the lord they improved drastically.luckily its not an expensive buy I got this out of curiousity really and wish I hadnt bothered but thats how it goes you cant win them all.
A word of advice especially if you are starting out discovering this band avoid these albums start with razzamanaz, rampant or hair of the dog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Debut + Disaster!, 8 Mar 2011
By 
J. MCNULTY "GOR-ILL-A" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nazareth/Exercises (loud proud & remastered) (Audio CD)
Long time Naz fan, decided to try out these reissues.
I mostly agree with Mark Barry's review of this reissue - just a few extras to add:
I like the new mix - clear and bright (although not a huge difference from the Castle remasters in 1999) (although 26seconds into Cat's Eye, Apple Pie the mix seems to switch to left channel only for a second - maybe only on my copy).
The first album definitely shows what Nazareth would soon be capable of - several quite strong rocky tracks and darker slow tracks like Morning Dew, however Exercises is pretty dire. I remember struggling to find something from this album when making a best of cassette (a long time ago) and listening to it again, the situation is the same - a handful of ok songs but only worth listening to for completists (Woke up this morning does the business but Naz did a better version on Razamanaz).
The packaging is fine - the digipak is thin so you are more likely to get the spine facing at right angles instead of being twisted a little (spot the person who likes everything to be perfect!)
The "double imaging" mentioned by another reviewer on the back picture is not an error, it is the same as the reverse picture on the original album.
BUT, due to both albums being squeezed onto one disc, there is no room for extras. The old Castle remasters had b-sides and alternative versions (5 on Nazareth and 3 on Exercises) and, while none of these are exceptional (Hard Living b-side is the best) it seems a wasted opportunity to put out these remasters without extra tracks if they are available.

4 stars for Nazareth, 2 stars for Exercises (and that's being very generous!), 5 stars for the sound, minus several for the lack of extras - so overall 3 stars.

Naz beginners, start with Razamanaz or the Anthology (2CD best of - the one with the skull with wings on the front).
Naz completists, I suppose you're going to have to get it, but if you can resist, save your cash and wait for rarer tracks on other remasters.

Just noticed Hard Living is an extra on the Razamanaz Salvo remaster
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Dire, poor packaging, 29 Nov 2009
By 
M. A. Tozer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nazareth/Exercises (loud proud & remastered) (Audio CD)
Been a Nazareth fan since the early/mid 70's and own most of their albums on CD or Vinyl.
I bought this to complete my Nazareth album collection. First I expected it to be a 2CD set, but it's two albums on one CD. The first one isn't too bad, but Exercises is dire - must be the worst album Nazareth ever made (even more patchy than some of their later recordings I don't play often).
The CD sleeve printing is realy bad, all the band have 2 heads an four eyes on the back of the cover!!!
If you really want to own these albums try and buy them individually packaged, and don't bother buying 'Excercises' at all. It has 'Woke this Morning' which is the only decent track, but the version on 'Razamanaz' is much better.
There's a booklet included, but the quality of the packaging and material, I can't be bothered to read it.
After these two albums, Naz morphed and produced some classic stuff, like 'Razamanaz' and 'Hair of the Dog'.
If you are like me and want to complete your set, try and buy the CD's individually, and if you do have buy 'Excercises' - file it, don't even bother to play it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brother's Choice, 24 April 2010
By 
Da Parsons "Jedknows" (West Country Boy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nazareth/Exercises (loud proud & remastered) (Audio CD)
Brother wanted it for his collection, he was very pleased with a fast and efficient service and the CD was as described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nazareth/Exercises (loud proud & remastered)
Nazareth/Exercises (loud proud & remastered) by Nazareth (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews