Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars how can there be only 3 reviews?
how do you like me now is a fantastic song.....worth the album cost on its own
now appearing in several movie soundtracks also (The Fighter)
cool...
Published on 19 Mar 2011 by Paul J Benzie

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Medium to Light After a Strong Start
"If you value your sanity don't go in the house" is a threatening start to any album. Here Heavy do their best to live up to that threat. `Oh No! Not You Again' is a strong two minute rock track with a driving riff, nice but simple harmonies as well as a screaming piano line and closing vocal. `How You Like Me Now Then?' on the other hand swaggers with rock cool before...
Published on 5 Oct 2009 by Toby Staunton


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars how can there be only 3 reviews?, 19 Mar 2011
This review is from: The House That Dirt Built (Audio CD)
how do you like me now is a fantastic song.....worth the album cost on its own
now appearing in several movie soundtracks also (The Fighter)
cool...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stylish, soulful and dirty, 23 Oct 2009
This review is from: The House That Dirt Built (Audio CD)
I heard one track of theirs on one of Mark Lamarr's ever-excellent Radio 2 shows, and went straight out and bought the CD the next day. Everything about their unusual brand of bone-rattling, darkly thumping driving soulful rock, speaks to the fan in me of 60s and 70s deep soul and crazy 60s garage, Audioslave, Living Colour, motorcycle gangs in the mould of "The Wild One", and so on and on. There's so much going on in there that I can't, as it were, look away for a moment. The best tracks stand playing over and over again and have their own unique flavours. These are "Oh no not you again!", "Sixteen" and "How you like me now?" by a mile.

The only thing that lets the album down is, in a way, also its strength - that schizophrenic indecision about who they are. When a band really comes together its because their influences are streaming nicely and consistently into the music they've decided to play; underpinning it, but not sat bulkily on the surface. There's a countryish track in there, and a dub track, and neither really work: the sources are too obvious - that pot of ingredients hasn't boiled away nearly long enough. But those three great tracks are so brazenly brilliant, such complete representations of what The Heavy are about, that I forgive them the odd wasted filler track and the underwhelming closing song. Definitely, one to watch. Nice backing vocals from the Noisettes' lead singer, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Medium to Light After a Strong Start, 5 Oct 2009
By 
Toby Staunton "dancing mole" (Derbyshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The House That Dirt Built (Audio CD)
"If you value your sanity don't go in the house" is a threatening start to any album. Here Heavy do their best to live up to that threat. `Oh No! Not You Again' is a strong two minute rock track with a driving riff, nice but simple harmonies as well as a screaming piano line and closing vocal. `How You Like Me Now Then?' on the other hand swaggers with rock cool before `Sixteen' swings into view like a rock and roll carnival show with the protagonist supported by beautiful assistants providing more of those elegantly simple harmonies. `Short Change Hero' then signals the start of the final show down in an old Western. `No Time' is another swaggering song but the next few tracks are unfortunately forgettable before once again `What Do You Want Me To Do' kicks in with that rock cool which Heavy do so well at moments on the album. `Struck' then ends the whole affair calmly rather than with the threat and menace with which it started. It is a pleasant ending that does not live up to the promise of the first few tracks. Heavy have managed to sort of glare at your sanity rather than really threatening it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great sound, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House That Dirt Built (Audio CD)
I first heard Short Change Hero when watching Strike Back & loved the music. Every track on The House that Dirt Built is every bit as good. The Heavy are a great band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A bit different., 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House That Dirt Built (Audio CD)
Bought this for my wife who likes the theme tune from Strike Back. When listening to it also recognised another song on it. Like the CD as it is a bit different. Arrived quickly with no hassle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth a listen, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House That Dirt Built (Audio CD)
Bought this for my partner but have been pleasantly surprised by the music & enjoy the easy listening! Definately worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Crazy coincidence, 9 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House That Dirt Built (Audio CD)
I'm a great NFL fan and I was watch this years draft (I won't bore you with what this means!) but the programme had as its opening tune 'How you like me now' and I was immediately hooked and then I found that this Group also wrote the song for the action series on Sky called 'Strike Back' and I thought all my prayers had been answered in one! They have an eclectic range of songs that don't fit any mould but all are interesting in their own way.

I'm now desperately trying to see these guys live as I've seen them on YouTube and they look great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interested by one song and growing on me, 25 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House That Dirt Built (Audio CD)
Bought this as a risk as the only way I know this band is from singing the title track to a good BBC series (Strike Back) which I absolutely had to have. But it's growing on me, they definitely have a sound of their own and I hope they get to progress so we can enjoy more of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant album with plenty of unique sounds, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House That Dirt Built (Audio CD)
listened to it in the car for a week, was nice to get a different style for a change. Highly recommend buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The heavy, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House That Dirt Built (Audio CD)
Top album love this album:-) :-) heard the heavy on tv program ;-) thought I would try the album. ,,, liked it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The House That Dirt Built
The House That Dirt Built by The Heavy (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews