Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome.....so funny!!
If you are a fan of Russel Brand - not necessarily hardcore this will STILL be harlarious. Obviously he does delve into the sachsgate scandal and his retorical story telling is GREAT.

Truly brilliant with fuuny added extras.
Published on 31 Dec 2009 by Mrs. J. Tuohy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Passable performance
As a recent convert to Russell's brand of humour I splashed out on this DVD and was mildly disappointed... It IS funny, in places... Quite a few of the jokes I had heard before having found a snippet of an American gig (with a much better atmosphere!) online. To be honest there's nothing wrong Brands delivery and most of the material is pretty good but the venue is so...
Published on 17 May 2010 by studyhound


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Largely hit and miss Russell romp, 23 Nov 2009
By 
Paul McNamee "Rambleast Reviews" (North Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Russell Brand: Scandalous - Live At The O2 [DVD] (DVD)
Russell Brand often has me thinking I could listen to him talk for hours, but popping in this 80-minute show has me doubting myself. That said, it's refreshing to see a standup show that sees the performer address himself so thoroughly, both as an entertainer and an affected personality. It makes a change from the equally welcome but perhaps over saturated observations of a McIntyre or Howard or the oft-exhausting barrage of jokes from Jimmy Carr.

Scandalous has Brand discuss his involvement in that whole pointless controversy of last year in some detail before moving onto a sequence of smaller pieces (sketches, almost) that peter out after he's done with the MTV awards. He makes startlingly honest mention of how he hated American anonymity ("without fame, this haircut just looks like mental illness") before a disastrous hosting of the VMAs made him the fifth most searched for on Google (with 'VMA Host' and 'Russell Brown' also charting in the top 50). It's his addressing of the Russell Brand character during the show that had me intrigued, especially as he dissects his actions under constant watch of the paparazzi. Sadly though, the brilliant first half of the show isn't matched by the second, as he descends into a barely funny and self-aggrandizing reading aloud of death threats (fair enough Russ, there are thick people on the internet) and a piece on oral sex tips that isn't quite the climax it thinks it is.

Still, his every delivery is a joy, from his standard cockney-eloquence to his other regional accents, and the Radio 2 incident section sees some of his best material yet- it's just a shame the steam runs out so fast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars RUSSELL BRAND, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russell Brand: Scandalous - Live At The O2 [DVD] (DVD)
BOUGHT THIS FOR MY SON WHO IS A FAN I MUST ADMIT I AM NOW A FAN VERY FUNNY GUY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russell Brand: Scandalous - Live At The O2 [DVD] (DVD)
was a gift for my son nothing wrong with the product just not easy reading, so arrived on time and in good condition but would think twice about buying any of his products again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russell Brand: Scandalous - Live At The O2 [DVD] (DVD)
In my humble opinion the best Russell Brand stand up show I have ever seen on by him. I have all the RB stand up show collections and this has to be the best one! Top stuff! A must buy for Russell Brand lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Scandalous / RustyRockets, 30 Nov 2013
By 
P. Stang "dharmakaya" (Annapolis, MD) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russell Brand: Scandalous - Live At The O2 [DVD] (DVD)
Russell Brand is one of my favorites. I first 'found' him on You-Tube and was entertained for many hours by his antics. I downloaded some of his Radio2 shows. Then later purchased a few Stand-Up shows of Russell's - this is great retelling the drama of Sachs-Gate. Russell is one of the true characters in this world; I say take what you like and leave the rest. On the whole, I love this guy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So funny I nearly wet myself., 22 Nov 2010
This review is from: Russell Brand: Scandalous - Live At The O2 [DVD] (DVD)
All i can say is watch this dvd and you will NOT be disappointed. Russell Brand doing what he does best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Russell Brand Breaks the BBC and then tells THE NATION about it, 12 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russell Brand: Scandalous - Live At The O2 [DVD] (DVD)
Russell Brand's two previous live DVDs ("Live" and "Doing Life") are funny, but "Scandalous - Live at the O2" REALLY captures him in his element. The 80 minute recording of the April 2009 London O2 Arena show is a tour de force of the UK's biggest and funniest narcissist in full flow.

Russell has described his life as "a series of embarrassing incidents punctuated by telling people about them". Here, fresh from the "embarrassing incident" of breaking the BBC with Manuelgate and also recounting the backlash to some of his jokes after his first hosting of the VMAs, he has plenty of material to draw upon, which he does with his typical swagger and panache. That much of the material is a bit over-familiar is perhaps just a measure of how successfull Russell was at making himself and his antics THE News in parts of 2008! On the other hand, it is good that Russell has recorded here for posterity the video footage of the in-studio performance with Jonathan Ross, which has mysteriously disappeared into the BBC Secure Storage where they hide most of their own Embarrassing Incidents, like "The Borgias".

The DVD extras are good, particularly an extended (45 minute) "In the Psychiatrist's Chair" interview with Frank Skinner. This I suspect will form the basis of the upcoming Channel 4 documentary that has been reporting as appearing in early 2010. It is in Russell's nature to give a performance when interviewed on chat shows, but here would appear to be even more of the "real" Russell Brand than even Dawn French elucidated from him in her previous excellent "Boys That Do Comedy" one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Irresistable, 13 Nov 2009
This review is from: Russell Brand: Scandalous - Live At The O2 [DVD] (DVD)
I was at the O2 gig, which was a testimony to how big Russell is becoming and how Sachsgate DIDN'T damage his career. Loved watching the DVD, it brought back fresh memories of the evening. Russell is a flawless stage performer. Every performance comes from the "core" and is freshly charged. His entrance into the arena was sheer magic and the DVD captures this. He milked the Sachsgate scandal for all it was worth, and why not, plenty of other people did, including the tabloids and the government. His take on it is (of course) the most refreshing, and I defy anyone to watch through this without grinning from ear to ear. There is really good interaction with the audience captured in the filming. Personally, I was right at the top at the back at the far end of the arena, so physically the furthest away from Russell. However, I knew before I went in that this would not matter, he connects with everyone in his audience. Despite the vastness of the arena, the gig still had an intimacy you would expect in a smaller venue. The Extras are thoughtfully put together and the interview with Frank Skinner is worthy of a DVD of its own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Egotistical, cringy, tedious, dreadful., 14 Sep 2010
This review is from: Russell Brand: Scandalous - Live At The O2 [DVD] (DVD)
I went to the show with some friends and we all felt the same way, along with quite a few people in the bar area. I got it, don't get me wrong but the whole thing was embarrassing and narcissistic. The material was very weak, carping on about his mishap on the radio. That was the basis for the whole show. Obviously this trivial episode meant a lot more to him and I found it very conceited that this prancing exhibitionist should think the material remotely entertaining. I felt hoodwinked and begrudged putting my money into this guys bank account but the sycophants in the audience lapped it up. So awful to hear halfwits shouting out that they loved him and his thanksss response was err so insincere. I left when Jack Black and some other cretin filmed a scene for some dud film. Asking the audience to applaud and all the sheep did as they were told. My wife said she tried to enjoy it but thought it was crap. I did actually enjoy his first dvd but I think his ego has deluded him and lets face it bet this one hasn't shifted as many units as the first dvd. Man, what a character assassination but deserved. When I got home I watched some curb for some creative comedy. Me and Russell are finished. Bish, bash, bosh job done. I hassabeena but neveragainer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great service and great DVD, 7 Jan 2010
By 
C. Doherty (Cheshunt, Herts.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Russell Brand: Scandalous - Live At The O2 [DVD] (DVD)
The DVD went down a treat on christmas day. Thank you for the prompt delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews