Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Possible Peak?
I've always been intruiged with Brand's distinctive humour, but Scandalous is certainly his best work up to now in my opinion. As others here have stated, his persona is just faultless and confident throughout, and most signicantly, the actual material is the most consistent of all the stand up shows he has done. I already want to watch it again!
Published on 25 Dec. 2009 by Mr. Andrew J. Mayne

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well, I guess it had to happen sooner or later...
This is his stand-up nadir thus far, low on laughs but rescued by Russell's ability to invite the audience into his world. It's mostly a recap of the 'Sachsgate' affair (as a side note, the fact that the media have compared it to Watergate at all is a clear indication of how ridiculously overblown it was) and a recital of some jokes from the VMAs (which, let's face it,...
Published on 28 Mar. 2010 by Mr. A. Anson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well, I guess it had to happen sooner or later..., 28 Mar. 2010
By 
Mr. A. Anson "Lexifer Crowley" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russell Brand: Scandalous - Live At The O2 [DVD] (DVD)
This is his stand-up nadir thus far, low on laughs but rescued by Russell's ability to invite the audience into his world. It's mostly a recap of the 'Sachsgate' affair (as a side note, the fact that the media have compared it to Watergate at all is a clear indication of how ridiculously overblown it was) and a recital of some jokes from the VMAs (which, let's face it, would be a lot funnier if they were being told AT the VMAs). If Russell himself were not still somehow very likable, this would be a failure, but as it is it's simply a somewhat bland addition to the Brand library; you won't regret watching it, but you won't be in a hurry to do it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Passable performance, 17 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russell Brand: Scandalous - Live At The O2 [DVD] (DVD)
As a recent convert to Russell's brand of humour I splashed out on this DVD and was mildly disappointed... It IS funny, in places... Quite a few of the jokes I had heard before having found a snippet of an American gig (with a much better atmosphere!) online. To be honest there's nothing wrong Brands delivery and most of the material is pretty good but the venue is so large it lost all soul and Brand was left stranded on the huge empty stage... Probably great if you're a hardcore fan but if you're not, borrow it from a mate first and see what you reckon before parting with your cash!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Possible Peak?, 25 Dec. 2009
By 
This review is from: Russell Brand: Scandalous - Live At The O2 [DVD] (DVD)
I've always been intruiged with Brand's distinctive humour, but Scandalous is certainly his best work up to now in my opinion. As others here have stated, his persona is just faultless and confident throughout, and most signicantly, the actual material is the most consistent of all the stand up shows he has done. I already want to watch it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Largely hit and miss Russell romp, 23 Nov. 2009
By 
Paul McNamee (North Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Russell Brand: Scandalous - Live At The O2 [DVD] (DVD)
Russell Brand often has me thinking I could listen to him talk for hours, but popping in this 80-minute show has me doubting myself. That said, it's refreshing to see a standup show that sees the performer address himself so thoroughly, both as an entertainer and an affected personality. It makes a change from the equally welcome but perhaps over saturated observations of a McIntyre or Howard or the oft-exhausting barrage of jokes from Jimmy Carr.

Scandalous has Brand discuss his involvement in that whole pointless controversy of last year in some detail before moving onto a sequence of smaller pieces (sketches, almost) that peter out after he's done with the MTV awards. He makes startlingly honest mention of how he hated American anonymity ("without fame, this haircut just looks like mental illness") before a disastrous hosting of the VMAs made him the fifth most searched for on Google (with 'VMA Host' and 'Russell Brown' also charting in the top 50). It's his addressing of the Russell Brand character during the show that had me intrigued, especially as he dissects his actions under constant watch of the paparazzi. Sadly though, the brilliant first half of the show isn't matched by the second, as he descends into a barely funny and self-aggrandizing reading aloud of death threats (fair enough Russ, there are thick people on the internet) and a piece on oral sex tips that isn't quite the climax it thinks it is.

Still, his every delivery is a joy, from his standard cockney-eloquence to his other regional accents, and the Radio 2 incident section sees some of his best material yet- it's just a shame the steam runs out so fast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars baught this for my partners x mas he loved it, 14 Jan. 2010
By 
M. macGowan "lincam" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russell Brand: Scandalous - Live At The O2 [DVD] (DVD)
it was hilarious great pressie he was well pleased and watched it after x mas dinner the whole family were in stitches recommend this to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He is beautiful., 6 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russell Brand: Scandalous - Live At The O2 [DVD] (DVD)
The comedy is fantastic. His rapport with the audience is brilliant. And of course you get to look at Russell as much as you want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars flashing, tight pants and scandals, 9 Mar. 2010
By 
Serena Greaves "dvd fiend" (australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russell Brand: Scandalous - Live At The O2 [DVD] (DVD)
This is the 3rd dvd release from the controversial comic Russell Brand. He delves into his personal life as well as the aftermath of the radio 2 incident that became known as Sachsgate. It is equally if not funnier than the previous 2 dvd's and well worth a watch.

Although it's language and content is not ideal family viewing and should only be watched by persons aged 15 and over. Or anyone that is easily offended by coarse lanugage and sex jokes.

side effects: drooling and laughing hysterically
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome.....so funny!!, 31 Dec. 2009
By 
Mrs. J. Tuohy (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russell Brand: Scandalous - Live At The O2 [DVD] (DVD)
If you are a fan of Russel Brand - not necessarily hardcore this will STILL be harlarious. Obviously he does delve into the sachsgate scandal and his retorical story telling is GREAT.

Truly brilliant with fuuny added extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very funny DVD, 5 Jan. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russell Brand: Scandalous - Live At The O2 [DVD] (DVD)
This current DVD offering is alot better than previous ones. A more polished performance and not so frantic as earlier performances. If you like Russell Brand then you will like this - definately worth buying !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't watch it, 7 Feb. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russell Brand: Scandalous - Live At The O2 [DVD] (DVD)
I gave it 5 stars because I like Russell Brand a lot, but I could not watch it because the DVD won't play on my American equipment or for some other reason I didn't understand. Wish someone had told me when I ordered it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews