Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Kindle Oasis

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars33
4.1 out of 5 stars
Price:£2.12+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 March 2010
This is his stand-up nadir thus far, low on laughs but rescued by Russell's ability to invite the audience into his world. It's mostly a recap of the 'Sachsgate' affair (as a side note, the fact that the media have compared it to Watergate at all is a clear indication of how ridiculously overblown it was) and a recital of some jokes from the VMAs (which, let's face it, would be a lot funnier if they were being told AT the VMAs). If Russell himself were not still somehow very likable, this would be a failure, but as it is it's simply a somewhat bland addition to the Brand library; you won't regret watching it, but you won't be in a hurry to do it again.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2010
As a recent convert to Russell's brand of humour I splashed out on this DVD and was mildly disappointed... It IS funny, in places... Quite a few of the jokes I had heard before having found a snippet of an American gig (with a much better atmosphere!) online. To be honest there's nothing wrong Brands delivery and most of the material is pretty good but the venue is so large it lost all soul and Brand was left stranded on the huge empty stage... Probably great if you're a hardcore fan but if you're not, borrow it from a mate first and see what you reckon before parting with your cash!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2009
I've always been intruiged with Brand's distinctive humour, but Scandalous is certainly his best work up to now in my opinion. As others here have stated, his persona is just faultless and confident throughout, and most signicantly, the actual material is the most consistent of all the stand up shows he has done. I already want to watch it again!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Russell Brand often has me thinking I could listen to him talk for hours, but popping in this 80-minute show has me doubting myself. That said, it's refreshing to see a standup show that sees the performer address himself so thoroughly, both as an entertainer and an affected personality. It makes a change from the equally welcome but perhaps over saturated observations of a McIntyre or Howard or the oft-exhausting barrage of jokes from Jimmy Carr.

Scandalous has Brand discuss his involvement in that whole pointless controversy of last year in some detail before moving onto a sequence of smaller pieces (sketches, almost) that peter out after he's done with the MTV awards. He makes startlingly honest mention of how he hated American anonymity ("without fame, this haircut just looks like mental illness") before a disastrous hosting of the VMAs made him the fifth most searched for on Google (with 'VMA Host' and 'Russell Brown' also charting in the top 50). It's his addressing of the Russell Brand character during the show that had me intrigued, especially as he dissects his actions under constant watch of the paparazzi. Sadly though, the brilliant first half of the show isn't matched by the second, as he descends into a barely funny and self-aggrandizing reading aloud of death threats (fair enough Russ, there are thick people on the internet) and a piece on oral sex tips that isn't quite the climax it thinks it is.

Still, his every delivery is a joy, from his standard cockney-eloquence to his other regional accents, and the Radio 2 incident section sees some of his best material yet- it's just a shame the steam runs out so fast.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2010
it was hilarious great pressie he was well pleased and watched it after x mas dinner the whole family were in stitches recommend this to anyone
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2012
The comedy is fantastic. His rapport with the audience is brilliant. And of course you get to look at Russell as much as you want.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2010
This is the 3rd dvd release from the controversial comic Russell Brand. He delves into his personal life as well as the aftermath of the radio 2 incident that became known as Sachsgate. It is equally if not funnier than the previous 2 dvd's and well worth a watch.

Although it's language and content is not ideal family viewing and should only be watched by persons aged 15 and over. Or anyone that is easily offended by coarse lanugage and sex jokes.

side effects: drooling and laughing hysterically
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2009
If you are a fan of Russel Brand - not necessarily hardcore this will STILL be harlarious. Obviously he does delve into the sachsgate scandal and his retorical story telling is GREAT.

Truly brilliant with fuuny added extras.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2010
This current DVD offering is alot better than previous ones. A more polished performance and not so frantic as earlier performances. If you like Russell Brand then you will like this - definately worth buying !
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2015
I gave it 5 stars because I like Russell Brand a lot, but I could not watch it because the DVD won't play on my American equipment or for some other reason I didn't understand. Wish someone had told me when I ordered it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)