Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sit on my face
I can't work out why no one has reviewed this; I often look to Amazon's review for guidance, as the reviews are generated by ordinary people rather than some bloated ove paid journo. Anyway, as of now, there have been no reviews. Anyway, I put my money out and picked this up. Waht is it? A quite brilliant massive documentary, a kind of Python Beatles Anthology, with 7...
Published on 12 Nov 2009 by Mr. C. J. Iredale

versus
15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointing
I would've preferred more in the way of background info/insight from the Pythons themselves and less in the way of "Oh my gosh they were AMAZING" type reminiscence from the likes of Phil Jupitus et al. They could've really taken it as read that anyone watching it already thought the Pythons were great, and gone beyond that. Still worth watching though
Published on 9 Jan 2010 by Mr Clag


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sit on my face, 12 Nov 2009
By 
Mr. C. J. Iredale "juxtapose" (London Town) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Almost The Truth: The Lawyer's Cut [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I can't work out why no one has reviewed this; I often look to Amazon's review for guidance, as the reviews are generated by ordinary people rather than some bloated ove paid journo. Anyway, as of now, there have been no reviews. Anyway, I put my money out and picked this up. Waht is it? A quite brilliant massive documentary, a kind of Python Beatles Anthology, with 7 hours of interviews, clips, thoughts etc. I can recommend it wholeheartedly, despite having Russell Brand's leering grin in it. In depth interviews with Palin, Jones, Cleese, CHapman and Idle, and clips of Chapman, really covering the story from their conception, through the programme's conception through it's halcyon days, the height of Brian and where they are now. Wonderful and original stuff. Thinking of buying it? Go for it, it is (should this be your thing) quite quite wonderful. Thanks to the world of Python; it has made my life a richer and more slightly off at an angle experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 9 Jan 2010
This review is from: Almost The Truth: The Lawyer's Cut [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I would've preferred more in the way of background info/insight from the Pythons themselves and less in the way of "Oh my gosh they were AMAZING" type reminiscence from the likes of Phil Jupitus et al. They could've really taken it as read that anyone watching it already thought the Pythons were great, and gone beyond that. Still worth watching though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishing value, 25 Dec 2011
By 
A. Ashwell "warlock200" (Nottingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Didn't even know this existed until it popped up as a recommendation from Amazon! If you're a Python fan then a lot of this material will be familiar, but there is such a large amount to watch that there is bound to be something that you haven't seen even if it's just the archive footage of Graham Chapman. There's SIX HOURS of the damn thing, remember? Extras include a selection of classic sketches and extended interview footage. The main feature is divided into six episodes; the same credit sequence plays on each - you will get sick of the sight of it but persevere because the lyrics change on each episode and some are quite funny. I don't know how this all plays on DVD (I have the Blu-ray)but it's well worth a purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Say no more, 26 April 2010
By 
James Hayes "JM Hayes" (Herts., UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Almost The Truth: The Lawyer's Cut [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Over the last 40 years, Messrs Cleese, Gilliam, Idle, Jones, and Palin have spent much more time talking about Python than actually doing of it, and have willingly borne testimony to authors and interviewers bent on amplifying the legend; indeed, there have been more detailed exegeses of Monty Python than any other comedy phenomenon. There have been several books about it, along with biographies of individual members; the TV programs marking the 10th, 20th, and 30th anniversaries, brimmed with introspection, rumination, and revelation by the central protagonists. The group reunion at the Aspen Comedy Festival in 1998 was captured for commercial video release. So what is there left to add to the story of the world's greatest comedy troupe?

Well, so far as this series goes, very little, if anything. All five surviving Pythons talk at length about the ensemble's achievements during its relevatively brief operational period, 1969-1983. Several previously-told anecdotes are retold, and well-known Python themes revisited (origin of certain sketches, group writing/performing dynamics, censorship). There are clips a-plenty, but they are mostly the usual suspects (Parrot, Lumberjack, Cheese shop, Spam, et al). The late Graham Chapman has his say via archive interview clips.

Despite this, several long-standing aspects of 'Pythonomena' are, alas, neglected. The Python books, for instance, were crucial and innovative examples of what today we'd call brand extension (indeed, it's arguable that these and the brilliant Python LPs did more to enlarge its audience than the actual TV broadcasts). No mention is made of the excellent and underrated specials made for German TV. The fact that Python humour often strays into puerile twaddle is rarely acknowledged; and although Python's shallow attitude toward female characters has long been owned-up to, something of a veil has been drawn over the tawdry way in which Gay characters were usually depicted. The TV shows' producer Ian MacNaughton receives only a rather scathing passing mention (here and in other Python histories), although it seem likely that he did much to hold the shows together through the 45 episodes.

Was this because of lack of space? Unfortunately the producers of 'Almost The Truth' did manage to find time to include many minutes of useless `What-Python-meant-to-me-growing-up' comment from comedy second-raters like Phil Jupitus and some irritant named Russell Brand. Steve Coogan is slightly more qualified to cast perspective on Python's influence, but even he adds nothing of value. Canadian comedian Dan Ackroyd already appeared on the 1989 anniversary tribute, and 20 years on says not much beyond `They were very influential'.

The extras are rather bitty, the one item of note being a conspicuously unfunny Palin/Jone spoof for the British TV popular science programme 'Tomorrow's World'. I was hoping for the complete 9 November 1979 edition of TV chatshow 'Friday night, Saturday Morning' wherein Cleese and Palin famously clashed with Malcolm Muggeridge and Mervyn Stockwood over 'Life Of Brian', but no such luck (although clips of this do appear in the relevant the 'Almost the Truth' episodes).

So, all in all, I'd commend this DVD only to Python completists with £16.99 to spare; for Python fans without the requisite des-inc, don't fret, you're not missing much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad For £4-00 !!!, 22 Dec 2013
This review is from: Almost The Truth: The Lawyer's Cut [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I bought this DVD set in 'THE WORKS' shop for £4-00 (20/12/2013).

Having been a child when 'Python' was invented I grew up with the sketches and the insanity, totally loved it in the 70s !

The interviews are very revealing, and the intellect of these men is truly awesome. Lots of insight and clips showing how the series and 3 films were made.

6 hours plus of good quality entertainment, I was pleased with my purchase and really enjoyed these dvds and a bargain price too !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Monty pythons, 11 Dec 2013
By 
This review is from: Almost The Truth: The Lawyer's Cut [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
A must for the fan! A well put together film to help John cleese and go be able too retire wealthy! Ha ha they are still funny!'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oh no not the cheese shop! Or something., 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Almost The Truth: The Lawyer's Cut [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
A very interesting DVD set for Monty Python fans interested in the development of the series, the comfy chair and the films.
All members of the Python team talk about parrots, their experiences and others add further details and comments.
There are clips from the programmes, "The Bishop" and the films as well as glimpses of backstage events and discussions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!!!!!!, 27 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful blu-ray of the best english comedy group. Six hours and a half of interviews, extras and lots of stuff realy amazing!! I love the interview to Bruce Dickinson and his performance of the song in the last chapter. Really recomended to Phyton fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, 10 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: Almost The Truth: The Lawyer's Cut [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I expected this to have all the sketches as they originally appeared on TV. Instead it is a series of interviews and reminiscences with the Python team about their history, with a few bits of sketches in between. I don't think the blurb describing the product made that clear - or may be I didn't read it properly?
Could they remove Russell Brand? I didn't understand a word of what he was talking about, does he I wonder?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 July 2014
By 
Robert L. Watson "budgieman" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What can I say - I love anything to do with the Pythons
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Almost The Truth: The Lawyer's Cut [DVD] [2009]
£7.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews