Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ...Buy it, enjoy it, rock it!...
I must admit that I wasn't much of a Europe fan first time out, but having seen the reunited band live, I was persuaded that things were more to my liking this time around.

This is the third album since they got back together, following on from "Start from The Dark" and "Secret Society", and sees them continuing on the heavier, darker, rockier road that their...
Published on 14 Sep 2009 by Mr. H

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Average in terms of 'hard rock'.
If i'm honest I have never been a huge fan of Europe as they always seemed to be a bit lightweight in terms of a 'hard rock' band for me.
Yes,Joey Tempest had a crackin' voice for singing ballads but anything beyond that and he was clearly out of his depth.
There's a few decent tracks on this album 'New love in town','Mojito Girl' and the excellent blues...
Published 2 months ago by N. Fitzgerald


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ...Buy it, enjoy it, rock it!..., 14 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. H "Mr H" (Embra) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
I must admit that I wasn't much of a Europe fan first time out, but having seen the reunited band live, I was persuaded that things were more to my liking this time around.

This is the third album since they got back together, following on from "Start from The Dark" and "Secret Society", and sees them continuing on the heavier, darker, rockier road that their reunion has seen them take. And, in the main, this is an excellent release.

The title track is an outstanding opener, with the guitars of John Norum and the keyboards of Mic Michaeli vying with each other in a who is heaviest competition. Joey Tempests voice is deeper and richer than it was in their high flying eighties, but the music needs the extra depth that he brings. John Norum even gets a chance to get his blues on, on tunes like 'Catch That Plane', something that they wouldn't have been capable of pulling off, twenty years ago.

There are a couple of big ballads thrown into the mix. After all, they'll still want to keep the ladies sweet! The best of them is 'New Love In Town', a song that is followed by the contrasting, bludgeoning 'The Beast', which is as close to heavy metal as Europe are ever likely to get.

Rockin', bluesy, funky and melodic rock albums don't get much better than this one. Buy it, enjoy it, rock it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the album to finally kill "that song", 18 Sep 2009
By 
E. Doughty (Marlborough, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Last Look At Eden (Audio CD)
For many, Europe will always mean one thing .... "The Final Countdown". This was 23 years ago now, and since then, Europe have released some excellent albums. They reformed the original line-up (Joey Tempest vox, John Norum guitar, John Leven bass, Ian Haughland drums, and the wonderful Mic Michaeli on keyboards) and released Start From The Dark - a far more powerful/dark/heavy/raw sounding album than previously. Secret Society took a step up from there. What you have in "Last Look at Eden" is pure genius! The moody classical opening slams straight into the title track which MUST be played at full volume!!!! The Beast is a fun, yet triumphant track. Running with Angels is emotional put powerful. There are tracks to suit all tastes, and each one stands up to be counted in its own right. This is the album that all Europe fans knew they could make - all five members step up a gear, from Tempest's always note perfect vocals to Norum's sublime guitar work, thumping drum and bass, to Mic's masterful key work. If this album does not finally overshadow its 1980's sibling, nothing will. This is simply a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars six star review, 5 Oct 2009
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Last Look At Eden (Audio CD)
BUY THIS ALBUM - the best rock album of the year bar none. OK there's nothing new here, it's "traditional" rock for cripes sake, but this has been done to perfection, rocking out when required, plaintive ballads to soften the mood, and endless tunes and melodies, instantly memorable and beautifully played. Don't be put off by the name, if you like melodic but heavy rock, this album is for you.
Think Whitesnake, Firewind, Hammerfall, Queensryche...go on you fill in the rest, but this is better than all those.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WARNING! Rock is back from the Dead!, 2 Nov 2009
By 
R. van Staden "RvS" (Johannesburg, South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
From the first track to the last there is one message that comes through loud and clear! This album is seriously good!

From epic anthems (Last look at Eden & No stone unturned) to master ballads (New love in town & In my time) this album has it all! Europe has combined modern rock with a classic touch of 70's rock. The result is a pure rock album that is 'up there' with the best albums of all time! Since 2004 Europe has hinted that something big was about to happen. Finally it has!
John Norum delivers one great performance after another as his guitar spices up already great songs to new heights! Mic Michaeli's keyboards adds the edge that raises Europe above anything out there at the moment! Joey Tempest vocals are sharper and more mature! Even a hint of change of approach from Ian Haughland's drumming and more prominent base at the hands of John Leven proves this band has come of age in a big way!

Look out for other great tracks like The Beast, Mojito Girl, Catch that Plane & Gonna Get Ready. These songs displays Europe's ability as a serious rock band! Personally I simply love 'U Devil U' as it adds an element of pure fun in the line-up of songs. It makes my weekend start off in the right mood!

Europe say it best themselves when it comes to describing this album: "We don't show up, We arrive!"
This is a must-have to any rock collection!

Riaan van Staden
Johannesburg, SA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUPERB HARD ROCK, 15 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After all these years...some bands just never lose it, the quality in song writing, musicianship and sheer performance never dies. Europe just always deliver and none more so than this brilliant new album.

It ooooooozes class. From the sleeve design, through the booklet and from the first note - everything is perfect, amazingly heavy hard rock, with superb guitars some mellow ballards, splendid melodies and the unforgetable world class vocals of Joey Tempest. I won't go through track by track, they are all superb.

If like me you thought Europe were long gone, this album will enlighten you it's as fresh as ever and they really should be filling Wembley on this evidence.

Faultless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Overlook at your peril, 27 Sep 2009
By 
L. J. Greenhalgh (Birmingham, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A cracking bit of orchestral powered rock. If Last Look At Eden doesn't cause you to push the accelerator in your car just a little bit harder, you can't really call yourself a rock fan. I strongly suspect this will be the best album Europe will ever make.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Europe deliver, 20 Sep 2009
By 
M. Chaplin (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Last Look At Eden (Audio CD)
Europe's previous 2 albums since their re-union were excellent rock albums, both showing trademark melodies, and a more modern sound especially 2006 'Secret Society'. Last look at Eden displays something of a change of direction I think. In some ways it is more influenced by 70's classic rock, and the guys have taken a step back towards a more melodic, keyboard influenced sound. Not that this is in any way a step back to the 80's - far from it. What they have done is managed to merge 70's classic rock feel, but made it sound modern at the same time. This is the album Europe have been threatening for a while. Whilst they always deliver very good albums, somehow you were always left with the feeling that they were under-achieivng. Not any more. This is the album Europe fans have been praying for, and this is the album they all knew they were capable of. Europe have finally delivered and are showing what all fans know they are capable of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome Back Europe, 27 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: LAST LOOK AT EDEN [JEWEL CASE EDITION] (Audio CD)
Wow! what a fantastic comeback from Europe. A definite for all rock fans everywhere. Was a little worried that this wouldn't live up to their old material but boy was I wrong. This CD is absolutely brillient, on listening I could hear bursts of likeness to bands such as Saxon, the voice of Coverdale and guitar rifts of Gary Moore and what a fantastic combination it is. Perhaps a little heavier than what we are used to from Europe but the tracks are well written and are fantastically put together. I was blown away and can't stop playing it. A must for rock fans everywhere. Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect album, 20 Oct 2009
By 
Palomba Mirco - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I love this album. Europe are full of energy, all are high level songs.
There's a wonderful ballad (New love in town), some hard rocking tracks ("Gonna Get Ready", "U devil U" among the others...), "Last look at Eden" has fantastic arrangement parts (thanks Michaeli!) with orchestra, and in "In my time" you hear a wonderful weeping guitar, reminding me of "Since I've been loving you" by Led Zeppelin.
I also love the atmosphere created by track 8 "No Stone Unturned", with great solos...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic rock album., 13 Mar 2010
I really think this album is as good as anything put out by all the great rock bands of the past. Be it Deep Purple, Whitesnake, Zeppelin even, its right up there. The overall quality of the songs is really top notch but the album contains 3 stonewall rock classics - Last Look At Eden, No Stone Unturned and In My Time. Three very different songs yet each majestic in their own ways. If this album had been released alongside some of the best albums of the 70's and 80's then it would have been huge.

Europe were never really about The Final Countdown. It was a song written to open the live show that became a monster worlwide hit. After chasing the American sound for a while the band took a break and reunited the original line-up, and to be honest have never been better. If they can top Last Look At Eden, which on current form may not be beyond them as each of the last three albums have got better and better, the next album could be huge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

LAST LOOK AT EDEN [JEWEL CASE EDITION]
LAST LOOK AT EDEN [JEWEL CASE EDITION] by Europe (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews