Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!
If you are considering buying this album because you've heard his singles I'm Not Alone, Dance Wiv Me and Ready For The Weekend and liked them, you should definitely buy this because the rest of the album is just as good, if not better, than those singles! Also, if you like his older songs, buy Ready For The Weekend - it's his best album by far.
It's very catchy as...
Published on 4 Sep 2009 by Louisa

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok......
Calvin isn't a very good singer, but when he sings... I DIG IT! Next time I go to the shops i'm gonna walk to the beat of the songs, but don't think the walk will be as funky as when i did it with the first album.
Published on 11 Sep 2009 by K. Hanson


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 4 Sep 2009
This review is from: Ready For The Weekend (Audio CD)
If you are considering buying this album because you've heard his singles I'm Not Alone, Dance Wiv Me and Ready For The Weekend and liked them, you should definitely buy this because the rest of the album is just as good, if not better, than those singles! Also, if you like his older songs, buy Ready For The Weekend - it's his best album by far.
It's very catchy as per usual for his songs, all the songs are great (there isn't one song on the whole album that I don't like) and the music is so good you'll find yourself humming it all day. Calvin has definitely not let us down (I was waiting for this album to come out ever since I first discovered him!) and I hope any albums he releases in the future will be as good and fun as this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer fabtastic disco dancing dance music!!!, 2 Sep 2009
By 
Kian (Whitley Bay, Tyne & Wear) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ready For The Weekend (Audio CD)
After playing this album several times I couldn't help thinking how catching the songs were. Then I suddenly realised it was Calvin Harris, the lyrics are more sophisticated (as dance music goes!) the synthesisers sound more loud, the beats more catchier than his first album. Unlike "I created Disco" which had maybe 2 or 3 decent tracks...this is far superior. This is not a second album screaming to be like the first, its clearly better but it needs to grow on you...then its repeat repeat repeat! (even if its the same track again! again!) ...the first track right through kicks off with lyrics ..."these are the good times in your life so put a smile on your face...." Usually if a album is half decent there are a good half dozen tracks this is sheer certain one of them. Mr Harris has a habit of producing music that is catchy and makes you want to dance and if your like me then go and get yourself a copy! ....Cheers Calvin son!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool as a disco cucumber, 27 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. S. C. Bowden (St helens) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ready For The Weekend (Audio CD)
I've had this CD for a week and its awesome! Been played everyday at work and its a solid fixture on the radio at work. I really liked his 1st album and thought many of his songs were pretty cool. I saw this in Asda for 7 (hope i dont get chucked off amazon for sayin that!) and thought i'd gotta buy it. It is a great CD - the collaboration wiv Dizzee Rascal ,the song from the coca cola AD (yea yea yea la la la) and his singles ready for the weekend, i'm not alone and Flashback. Its an electro mental fused CD. oh yea he uses a sax (i think, on the 1st track) and the start of Blue sounds like a boy band but then goes all electro clash dash n mash. Great CD well worth it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok......, 11 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: Ready For The Weekend (Audio CD)
Calvin isn't a very good singer, but when he sings... I DIG IT! Next time I go to the shops i'm gonna walk to the beat of the songs, but don't think the walk will be as funky as when i did it with the first album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review for the week-end, 17 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: Ready For The Weekend (Audio CD)
As catchy and as toe-tappingly brilliant as his debut album 'I Created Disco', and with slightly more depth than its predecessor (only slightly more, it is a Calvin Harris album after all) it is certainly worth its price tag. Every track will be lodged into your brain within the first listen. Tracks such as; 'The Rain', the album track 'Ready for the week-end' and 'Stars Come Out', represent classic 'Sonic the Hedgehog' esque Calvin Harris. On the other hand, there are a few tracks on this album with a different flavour, most noteable are 'Worst Day' and '5iliconeator' Perhaps a change of direction for the Dumfries born Harris. But for now I suppose he'll just have to be the fly eyed king of electro-synth pop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A grown up Mr Harris!, 18 Aug 2009
This review is from: Ready For The Weekend (Audio CD)
So, Calvin's new album - a definate improvement on I Created Disco. Its more grown up with a bigger, fuller sounding album.

Calvin's really worked on vocals on this album, he's done a great jobs with his and others vocals. Lots of harmony work and they sound fresh and pure. The 5th Track "Blue" is a prime example of his great work on his vocal harmonies. - lovely.

The album opens up with "The Rain". A feel good summer driving tune which is a brilliant intro and warm up to "Ready for the Weekend", his current radio smash hit which again is a feel good, electrotastic sythtastic song!

On from there almost every track is a sunny head bopping car driving joy. I've listened to the album 3 times now and it grows everytime.

The album in general is a job well done. I'd recommend it to anyone who likes a wide variety of Dance and the electro side of pop.
8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ready For The Weekend (Audio CD)
great mood music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for a present, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ready For The Weekend (Audio CD)
I bought this for my brother in law and he was really happy with it, still listens to it now in his car as far as I am aware
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ready For The Weekend (Audio CD)
I keep playing this over and over. I just love this album so much. Much better than his first album. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Shouldn't be suprised, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ready For The Weekend (Audio CD)
Thought h would be as good as 18 months but it isn't - though its just different.
Listen to it occasionally via my Ipod but not a regular favourite
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ready For The Weekend
Ready For The Weekend by Calvin Harris (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews