Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a moving piece which both shocked and impressed me.
dont let the 18 certificate give you any predetermined opinions of this film. although there is some more graphic sexual scenes involving the two women the film is about so much more. the running soundtrack by the cranberries is the most impressive thing about the film as each song has been placed at the most poigniant parts of the film bringing tears to my eyes on more...
Published on 18 Sep 2001

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Me Rambling as Usual
If this film was hoping to capture some of the essence of an American road movie and transplant it to north-west England, then it did an excellent job of doing so. The use of the scenery is one of the high points of this film, from the wide open spaces of Sefton Sands and the nearby coast, to the monotonous motorways and anonymous service and petrol stations that...
Published on 31 Dec 2009 by Cactus


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a moving piece which both shocked and impressed me., 18 Sep 2001
By A Customer
dont let the 18 certificate give you any predetermined opinions of this film. although there is some more graphic sexual scenes involving the two women the film is about so much more. the running soundtrack by the cranberries is the most impressive thing about the film as each song has been placed at the most poigniant parts of the film bringing tears to my eyes on more than one occasion. the script is simple but long speeches are not needed as the scenes speak for themselves. i cant emphasise how touching the final scenes are where the love of these two women comes to a tragic consequence. no other film has left such a strong memory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not easy, but worth watching, 26 July 2005
By 
A. Wasenczuk "speedbird2" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is an almost unforgettable film, one for the crazy arty section of your collection, and one that probably won't appeal to all tastes - but it is worth seeing. Remarkable plot, characters and location. For me the most memorable thing is probably the cinematography - England's Lancashire plain is a bizarrely beautiful place of emptiness, and well known for being almost impossible to photograph.
Only misses out on five stars for being Difficult. File somewhere near Peter Greenaway and My Own Private Idaho.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Lyrical road-movie, heartrending love-story...", 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Butterfly Kiss [DVD] (DVD)
English screenwriter, producer and director Michael Winterbottom`s feature film debut which was written by English author and screenwriter Frank Cottrell Boyce, premiered In competition at the 45th Berlin International Film Festival in 1995, was shot on locations in England and is a UK production which was produced by British producer Julie Baines. It tells the story about a jovial woman in her mid-20s named Miriam who lives with her grandmother and works at a petrol station. Miriam`s life is rather quiet, but the day she meets a mysterious woman named Eunice who shows up out of nowhere looking for a woman named Judith and trying to remember a song, she experiences love at first sight.

Distinctly and finely directed by UK filmmaker Michael Winterbottom, this finely paced fictional tale which is narrated by Saskia Reeves and from the two main characters viewpoints, draws an unorthodox and instantly intriguing portrayal of a rare lesbian relationship between two contrary women. While notable for its naturalistic milieu depictions, sterling cinematography by Northern Irish cinematographer Seamus McGarvey, distinct dialog, chemistry between the actresses and exellent use of music and colors, this character-driven indie neo-noir from the mid-1990s about entwined personalities and the distinction between good and evil contains a great score by English composer John Harle.

This darkly humorous, charming, atmospheric and somewhat enigmatic psychological thriller-drama which is set during a summer in Northern England and which becomes a voyage where a love-struck woman`s altruistic intentions leads her into the aimless path of a schizophrenic serial killer who is completely out of touch with her spirituality, is impelled and reinforced by its cogent flash forward narrative structure, substantial character development, existentialistic undertones and the extraordinary acting performances by American-Canadian actress Amanda Plummer and English actress Saskia Reeves. A lyrical road-movie, heartrending love-story and commendable directorial debut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Me Rambling as Usual, 31 Dec 2009
By 
Cactus (Reading, Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Butterfly Kiss [DVD] (DVD)
If this film was hoping to capture some of the essence of an American road movie and transplant it to north-west England, then it did an excellent job of doing so. The use of the scenery is one of the high points of this film, from the wide open spaces of Sefton Sands and the nearby coast, to the monotonous motorways and anonymous service and petrol stations that provided the background for many of its scenes. Along with the music used, the atmosphere these provide is quite special. In fact it all creates quite a palpable feeling that the story takes place a bit out of sync with reality. It made a nice change too, to watch a film set in Britain somewhere other than in London, a posh National Trust properly or a run-down inner city estate.

If the film was hoping to draw top draw performances from its two main actresses, then again it succeeded. Yes it's a lesbian love story of sorts, but the relationship between the main characters, Eunice and Miriam, amounts to a lot more; in fact this aspect is probably rather played down, although it does underpin much of the overall plot. (Sorry lads, there's not a lot of hot babe on babe action here, just two grubby individuals who connect.)

In fact there're only two things that bring this film down. Firstly, why? However much I think about what went on in this film, there are still many places where I find myself asking why? When I watch Hollywood blockbusters, aliens invading earth and superheroes saving us from baddies, I expect to suspend my belief in things a bit. However, this was a film that didn't have any spaceships or zombies in it and therefore I do feel its story should have made a bit more sense. There was no exploration of why either of the characters behaved in the way they did, we were just expected to accept that that's the way they were and get on with it. I'm sure many people can manage with this quite happy, but for me it did make me ask why? The characters' relationship became established too quickly for me to be able to accept it at face value. I wanted to know if either character had a history of mental distress, or what had happened to make them behave in the way they that did. I think I would have enjoyed the film more if I'd known. Which brings me to the second thing that's not great about this film. As it stands it gives a somewhat negative representation of people with mental illness and stands to reinforce the prejudice some people have towards people who suffer from it, which is a real shame. This is a film about people whose behaviour has crossed the line, yet it only highlights the characters' behaviour from an emotional angle. I have a bit of difficulty accepting that being in a lesbian relationship makes you a murderer!

This is a clever, quite hard hitting film with a lovely, other worldly feel to it and first rate acting; just for me it's a shame the characters' backgrounds weren't explored a little more.

Finally, for those interested in special features, this DVD comes with scene selection and, em, that's all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Butterfly Kiss [DVD] (DVD)
A wonderful sad story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars do not buy this, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Butterfly Kiss [DVD] (DVD)
This film is disjointed to the point that only those with mental health problems would like it.I made the mistake of buying it don`t do the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Butterfly Kiss [DVD]
Butterfly Kiss [DVD] by Michael Winterbottom (DVD - 2009)
£5.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews