Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forgotten how good he was!
This is a truly amazing box set comprising a mixture of unreleased early versions of songs, and some unreleased mastrerpieces.

The early version of Maggie May keeps the same tune but the lyrics are totally different.
Highlight of the first disc is a pared down version of I'd Rather go Blind which, along with many other tracks, demonstartes what a great...
Published on 2 Oct. 2009 by Alan Smith

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rods sessions
Not quite what i hoped for, more of a rehash of previous releases, not songs that had previously been unreleased.
Published on 14 Jan. 2013 by Paul Nicholson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forgotten how good he was!, 2 Oct. 2009
By 
Alan Smith (Edinburgh United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rod Stewart Sessions 1971-1998 (Rarities/Sessions Box) (Audio CD)
This is a truly amazing box set comprising a mixture of unreleased early versions of songs, and some unreleased mastrerpieces.

The early version of Maggie May keeps the same tune but the lyrics are totally different.
Highlight of the first disc is a pared down version of I'd Rather go Blind which, along with many other tracks, demonstartes what a great soul singer yer man is.

On disc 2 there is an unreleased track, Innocent, which is a sequal to Killiing of Georgie which looks at the events from the killers point of view and what happenned next to him.

Other highlights include an all star recording of In a Broken Dream including Dave Gilmour and John Paul Jones. There are also some great stripped back tracks such as Scarred and Scared and a lovely version of the late John Martyn's May You Never.

This is a must for not just Rod Stewart fans but for anyone who wants to hear a true rock legend in his prime and without many of the bells and whistles that later producers added to the tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When Rod the Mod was great., 5 Nov. 2009
By 
A. Mitchell "Cricket gear" (Jersey CI) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rod Stewart Sessions 1971-1998 (Rarities/Sessions Box) (Audio CD)
As a long standing Rod Stewart fan who had become increasingly bored with the 'Songbook' series, the 'Sessions' collection has been something of a revelation. Here are 4 CD's and 63 previously unreleased recordings. Amongst them are embryonic versions of old favourites, alternate versions and the most interesting to my ears are the recordings that were done and dusted but never released until now. And many of those latter songs are far superior in my view to much that Rod has officially put out over the years. If you want proof, then listen to the Frankie Miller songs 'When I'm away from you' and 'Kiss her for me'. Just magic. Take Elvis Costello's 'The Long Journey Home', Noel Gallagher's 'Rockin Chair', Paul Weller's 'Changing Man' and John Martyn's 'May You Never'. Here are great songs done in the way that only Rod can, emphasising his talent as the great interpretative singer. Then there is the case that 'less is more'. Simpler versions of songs that appeared in over produced forms, listen to them here in their superior and simpler styles. Take 'Windy Town' with just a piano, a version of 'Sailing'that won't make you cringe and a killer version of 'First Cut is the deepest'. There is Stewart the songwriter at his best on the unheard of part 3 of 'Killing of Georgie'. And to top it all, a 1992 recording of 'In a Broken Dream' with a super group backing including Dave Gilmour, John Paul Jones and Nick Lowe. This set contains Rod at his very best. It just makes you question why many of these recordings were left off the official releases. Whoever was advising him? There are some real beauties. If you have liked anything Rod has produced you will absolutely love much of what is on offer here. And it has a terrific book to lead you through the gems included. Buy and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Born again...., 17 Dec. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rod Stewart Sessions 1971-1998 (Rarities/Sessions Box) (Audio CD)
This set has been just like discovering Rod Stewart all over again.

Imagine you were hearing James Morrison or David Gray for the first time, and you would be well impressed with their individual qualities... now multiply that by 100 to get the idea of finding Rod on these tracks.

The songs are strong, standing the test of time which so many songs fail to do. Indeed, In A Broken Dream takes on a whole new life with Pink Floyd's Dave Gilmour playing guitar over Rod's new vocal. Yes... I still prefer the original by Python Lee Jackson on which Rod so remarkably added guest vocal in the 1969 session for the band, but this is a new version and comes alive all over again.

Same can be said for many of the tracks where a different take, or an acoustic run-through in the studio, have been captured for us to hear. Some real gems.

Have a listen and find your own special moments... there will be many in this vast collection which will inspire you to find the original studio albums and increase the listening pleasure still further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for true Rod fans, 26 Dec. 2010
By 
Mrs. D. C. Yager "Deirdre" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rod Stewart Sessions 1971-1998 (Rarities/Sessions Box) (Audio CD)
All real Rod fans will be absolutely delighted with this product. It is beautifully packaged with accompanying booklet of photos and info. The tracks cross all eras but are generally less "produced" with little background singing, a bit more pure than the well known recordings. Also lots of new things (I Like My Dad's Trousers!) and other versions of old familiar tracks, Maggie May is brilliant. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rod shows why he wore it well!!!, 6 Oct. 2009
By 
This review is from: The Rod Stewart Sessions 1971-1998 (Rarities/Sessions Box) (Audio CD)
This box set is a real early xmas treat for Rod/Faces fans of to-day & more importantly older ones from days of yore(ME!).....these tracks offer pleasent surprises,giggles, & lots of foot tapping,sing-a-long stuff that i had long forgotten!! It shows what a great singer & interpreter of songs this fella was/is...In my opion Rod was at his rawest & ballsiest in the early 70s through to the end of that decade.So to hear alternate takes on Maggie, You wear it well,Italian Girls etc is especially welcoming for myself, as it was around this time that i first got into "The Tarten Terror" & listening to this box set underlines why i did!! Following on from The Faces "Five guys walk into a bar" box set "Sessions" is a MUST HAVE to keep the former one company!!! Pour yourself a beer,put the cds on & have yourself a "real good time". Thanks Rod ( not forgetting Ronnie,Woody,Kennie,Mac)What price a Faces reunion in the near future?????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUY IT, 16 Jan. 2010
By 
Mr. G. Marks (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rod Stewart Sessions 1971-1998 (Rarities/Sessions Box) (Audio CD)
If you enjoy Mr Stewart of old,that is 70's style,you will love this.So many unheard of tracks,and stripped down versions of the classics,leaving just the amazing voice to enjoy.So kick off your shoes and sit right down,when you listen to this its as if you have Rod in the room with you singing live! just for you.
Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The rod stewart sessions, 22 Jan. 2012
This review is from: The Rod Stewart Sessions 1971-1998 (Rarities/Sessions Box) (Audio CD)
This collection of rod,s music is pure class and shows him at his peak. It is pure raw material and crystal clear recordings. Rod stewart sings and writes from the heart and soul about things that we can all relate to in life, and have experienced at some point in our lifes. Thats why I love this guys music so much. You will get lost in the emotion of these recordings and it will have you rockin round the clock. I wonder why some these recordings were never released until recently because they are full of chemistry and emotion and fantastic rock ballads. You will be on the edge of your seat with this collection. Buy it and you will be glad you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Longtime Rod fan, 31 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rod Stewart Sessions 1971-1998 (Rarities/Sessions Box) (Audio CD)
I am sometimes embarrased to say that I am a Rod fan after all these years,however I would recommend that all true fans buy this set. If only for the versions of girl from the North Country and In a Broken Dream.
A couple of the tracks are just fluff but overall the majority of the tracks show just how great a vocalist Rod was. If only he would try a bit harder in his current albums.Definately an album to buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good overview, 26 Oct. 2009
This review is from: The Rod Stewart Sessions 1971-1998 (Rarities/Sessions Box) (Audio CD)
Since his career as a credible artist took a nosedive in the mid 70's from which it has barely ever recovered it is easy to forget what an important figure Rod once was in the world of rock. A superb interpreter of other people's songs and, although far from prolific, he was no mean composer himself; and even in decline as a recording artist he remained a charismatic performer. Unlike his two great contemporaries David Bowie and Elton John, Rod has never had a late career revival. They too both suffered artistic slumps, but Bowie has had a series of very creditable albums during the past dozen years, whilst Elton has also issued occasional albums which, if not quite up to the standards of his 70's heyday, aren't far off. No such revival for Rod, who as far as I am concerned released his last consistently decent album as far back as `76.

I am certainly not convinced by the Great American Songbook recordings which some have claimed heralds a late renaissance. Even in his heyday, superb rock, folk and blues singer as he was, Rod never had the voice for these types of songs, and his voice on these recordings sounds painfully thin. Why listen to Rod Stewart, whose voice has declined anyway by these recordings, singing those songs when you can listen to Sinatra at his peak interpreting them? I think the only really worthwhile album Rod has released since `A Night On The Town' is the Unplugged recordings. There have been occasional decent songs, but no completely worthwhile albums.

So we come to this four disc set of outtakes and alternative versions. The set doesn't actually cover Rod's entire solo recording career as it begins in '71 rather than `69 so there is nothing from the first two excellent albums. Rod's entire reputation really rests on those first four classic solo albums and the work he did with the Faces at the same time, although honourable mention must be given to his work with Jeff Beck prior to this. The set begins with alternative versions of a couple of tracks from `Every Picture' followed by a slew of songs from `Never A Dull Moment'. From here on virtually every album Rod released is touched upon either in the form of alternative versions or outtakes which didn't make the final album.

As I said in my review of the Faces box set most artists tend to release the best version of a song, so by and large the `alternative' versions are usually `inferior' versions, and it is pretty much the case here. Indeed the alternative versions of early songs such as `Maggie Mae' and `You Wear It Well' are very rough indeed featuring guide lyrics and occasionally very basic instrumentation. The fact that they are still worthy of investigation shows how good Rod actually was back then and they are certainly more listenable than some of the `rough' stuff on the Faces box.

Similarly outtakes are often left out because they aren't as good as the songs which make the final albums. Again here though there are a good number of worthwhile outtakes which amount to the equivalent of a new Rod Stewart double album. Some are songs made well known by others: Dylan's `This Wheel's on Fire' and `The Groom's Still Waiting At The Altar', Paul Weller's `The Changingman', Oasis's `Rockin' Chair.' The Beatles `In My Life', Buddy Holly's `Maybe Baby' to name a few, whilst others are outtakes that are either by less well known artists or written by Rod himself. Many such as `Think I'll Pack My Bags,' `Scarred and Scared,' `Windy Town,' `Dylan's Day Off,' range from good to excellent. There is also a superb version of one of my favourite Rod interpretations `I'd Rather Go Blind' and a later excellent version of the fine Rod as Python Lee Jackson recording `In A Broken Dream.'
However there are also a few clunkers. `Thunderbird' has been hailed as one of the best and most important of the outtakes, however I find it overlong (it is the longest track in the box) and thoroughly monotonous - I'd had more than enough of it before it was half way though; whilst `Innocent' aka `The Killing Of Georgie Part 3', would also have been best left in the can as it is certainly not up to the standard of the other parts of that song. There are also a couple throwaway hidden tracks (why do record companies still persist in this irritating practice?) which are supposed to be humorous and show Rod at work (there is also some excessive swearing on one). These are the types of features we expect on box sets to give the `rounded picture' but are unlikely to be played more than once.

In conclusion this box set really sums up Rod's career - great in parts but extremely inconsistent. Obviously it is aimed squarely at committed fans; newcomers who want an overview of his entire career would be much better off with either of the double compilations `The Story So Far' or the more recent `Some Guys Have All The Luck,' or even better get the complete Mercury recordings three disc box set which contains all his first five albums (the first four of which are essential for anyone interested in classic rock) together with non album singles and outtakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Box Set, 19 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rod Stewart Sessions 1971-1998 (Rarities/Sessions Box) (Audio CD)
I really enjoyed hearing the different versions of some of the songs.
I would recommend this album to any Rod Stewart fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews