Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting and chilling - the perfect tale at winter
Admittedly, I have not read the original by Henry James, but I was hooked by this BBC adaptation. The story is about a young governess who goes to a house full of women to look after two children, Miles and Flora. Although her new position seems welcoming enough, she soon suspects that there is a history to the house. A history which involves the children in some...
Published on 3 Jan 2010 by Brida

versus
22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ambitious and creative, but with barely a remnant of the novel's great subtlety.
This is a brave, ambitious attempt to update 'Turn of the Screw' in order to appeal to a modern audience, and though it is unfortunately undone by the occasional poorly written and cliched lines at critical moments, (where they should have trusted the lasting value of James's writing), and an inability to employ the Jamesian subtlety that is so crucial to the story's...
Published on 30 Dec 2009 by M. J. Roberts


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turn of the Screw [DVD] (DVD)
This BBC adaptation was excellent as it featured not only the basic plot line but told the story through a different light
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A classic with some tinkering, 6 Dec 2012
By 
downkiddie "downkiddie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Turn of the Screw [DVD] (DVD)
(This review is for The Turn of the Screw, not Above Suspicion, which has been incorrectly linked in the product reviews)

This classic and subtle ghost story by Henry James was a welcome "ghost story for Christmas" from the BBC for Christmas 2009. A well known and much-adapted story, this is an ultimately successful adaptation. I suspect due to modern audience demands this production gets creepy very quickly. Indeed, it begins with the governess in an institution as a teaser to the horrors that are to come.

Rather than simply seeing a beautiful house in gorgeous English countryside, little suggestions are made that there are sinister goings on from the start. The servants are rude to the governess and her first walk along a corridor of the house is dark and shadowy. It does set the scene quickly, and leaves the audience in no doubt this is a creepy ghost story. It does however mean that when James's ghost story really takes hold it's not so masterful. In keeping with the modern production the sexual tension is really ramped up, making the evil Quint quite a predator.

The first scene starring Michelle Dockery and Dan Stevens in these post-Downton Abbey times is quite startling, having Matthew and Mary in alternative universe - especially with the 20s setting and similar costumes etc. Downton fans will no doubt enjoy this too.

A very good period production. The niggles I have with it don't spoil it, and the good production and acting compensate for this. A worthy entry into the BBC's Ghost Story For Christmas tradition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars but I enjoyed it. Well done, 16 Oct 2014
By 
S. N. Hidalgo Valdez "movie fan" (Mexico, DF MEXICO) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turn of the Screw [DVD] (DVD)
It's scary, but I enjoyed it. Well done, the suspense is perfectly manage. Definitely I loved Dan Stevens and Michelle Dockery perfomances as much as I've enjoyed them in Downton Abbey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just misses the mark, 21 Feb 2010
This review is from: Turn of the Screw [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw Michelle Dockery in Hogfather and was so impressed by her performance that i started to watch whatever i could that she was in. Turn of the Screw is yet another example of Michelle's fantastic acting. The story is underplayed and the directing of TOTS is handled with less skill than a film designed to elicit fear should have. Scares are missed by clumsy editing and bad choice of shot sequence but the acting is firm and in most cases strong. The pay off for the story to the uninitiated (such as myself) is less rewarding that might be imagined and i suspect this is not down to a mis-step by the writer or director but to the material itself being old and out of date. In todays world of film and television we have seen so much similar to this style of story before that any shocks that migth have been rendered and delivered with flat punches.

In short, worth a watch due to the fine performances but mishandled by it's creators.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... student studying henry james at college - so very useful for purpose, 8 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turn of the Screw [DVD] (DVD)
bought for student studying henry james at college - so very useful for purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good to see the tradition of a ghost story.............., 3 Jan 2010
This review is from: Turn of the Screw [DVD] (DVD)
for the festive season being revived with The Turn Of The Screw. Older viewers may recall the BBC adaptations in the 70s(The Signalman starring Denholm Elliott has stayed with me for 30 years+) The story is set in an isolated (always important)grand house where a young woman accepts the job as a nanny to two seemingly innocent children. The setting is wonderfull and very atmospheric with the underlying air of menace constant. Dont read too much into the pros and cons as other reviewers appear to have done, just sit back and enjoy 90 minutes of entertainment and distraction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I was expecting..., 8 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turn of the Screw [DVD] (DVD)
The story is good but the adaptation is poor. I bought it after having watched The Woman in Black in the cinema and was expecting something similar. Not in a million years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Devonshire lass, 10 Mar 2012
This review is from: Turn of the Screw [DVD] (DVD)
The two main adult characters I enjoy watching but this film was so flat and slow... meant to be a scary film, but it missed by a mile..... we all got completely fed up with it. sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turn of the Screw [DVD] (DVD)
Lovely film with Michelle Dockerty well acted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Nov 2014
This review is from: Turn of the Screw [DVD] (DVD)
Best horror around!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Turn of the Screw [DVD]
Turn of the Screw [DVD] by Tim Fywell (DVD - 2010)
£8.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews