Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Toot toot!
It's a whistle. When you blow in it, it makes a bloody loud noise.
I bought it to go in my little boys first survival kit, but if he doesn't stop blowing the damn thing he might not survive at all!
2 and a half quid gives you some chance of finding your kids if they wander off in the woods (if that's what you want).
Seller did just fine. Will probably use...
Published 19 months ago by CloneDaddy

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Mine was faulty
the little plastic thing inside (don't know technical term.. does same job as a pea in an old fashioned whistle) was a little loose when I bought this. It worked tho sometimes had to move it into correct position before using. Over time it has become so loose it doesn't work at all... not much good in an emergency
Published on 28 July 2010 by Simon


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Toot toot!, 6 Dec 2012
By 
CloneDaddy (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lifesystems Mountain Whistle (Misc.)
It's a whistle. When you blow in it, it makes a bloody loud noise.
I bought it to go in my little boys first survival kit, but if he doesn't stop blowing the damn thing he might not survive at all!
2 and a half quid gives you some chance of finding your kids if they wander off in the woods (if that's what you want).
Seller did just fine. Will probably use them again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rugged, 25 Jun 2010
By 
Alexander Haynes "alex_haynes" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lifesystems Mountain Whistle (Misc.)
I keep one of these on my keyring. It's solid, durable, makes a lot of noise when you need it, and the price was very reasonable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Very Loud, Very Very Easy to Blow, 15 April 2013
By 
M. Girling (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lifesystems Mountain Whistle (Misc.)
I bought this whistle as well as pack of two Trespass whistles from Amazon. This Life Systems Whistle is way way louder - it actually makes my ears ring after using - and is much much easier to blow - important factors in an emergency situation. According to the packaging this whistle emits at 108 dB

At 6.2cm x 1.1cm it is slight bigger than expected but I think this size make it especially easy to blow.

The whistle appears robust with a good strong key chain. Unlike the Trespass whistles, there is no storage compartment for matches etc. It is just a no frills whistle with no moving parts to go wrong.

Of course, being made of aluminium, this whistle will not float but decent plastic whistles seem hard to find - unless anyone knows different?

It is worth carrying a few of these in the car, attached to jackets etc. as an emergency can arise anywhere. I also carry a signal mirror which can signal an emergency situation over a greater distance than a whistle - assuming the sun is out of course!

Once you have bought your whistle, just make sure you know how to use it. Six blasts on a whistle repeated every minute is the internationally recognised distress call, and 3 blasts repeated every minute is the recognised reply. Keep blowing until you are rescued.

Also remember that blowing a whistle is much easier and louder than screaming or shouting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great quality, 22 Sep 2010
This review is from: Lifesystems Mountain Whistle (Misc.)
Never had to use it yet, but the quality of the whistle is excellent and postage / delivery was no issue either
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boy, what a noise!, 3 Oct 2011
This review is from: Lifesystems Mountain Whistle (Misc.)
Bought this as a present for a child who has started going camping. He loves it, Mum doesn't! That's what aunties do best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Effective, Robust and Good Value, 20 Feb 2012
By 
AHW Rea "Slioch" (Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lifesystems Mountain Whistle (Misc.)
This is the first metal-bodied whistle I've used, having had plastic ones up to now.

It is well made, lightweight and with a very effective sound when blown. The attached split ring makes it easily attachable to whatever bit of kit you feel happiest with: mine goes on the key clip inside my rucksack lid.

So, a great product at a good price, and delivery was very prompt too.

But I'll leave you with a possibly apocryphal warning about the guy who had his whistle hanging from a loop outside his clothing, in winter, and got it frozen to his lips when he used it... Like I say, probably a rural myth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it works! but havent been to any mountains yet!, 26 July 2010
This review is from: Lifesystems Mountain Whistle (Misc.)
its as it says...a whistle. Light weight and clear ..havent tested it out yet in a large open space but it is clear to hear when we have used it in our garden.!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Mine was faulty, 28 July 2010
This review is from: Lifesystems Mountain Whistle (Misc.)
the little plastic thing inside (don't know technical term.. does same job as a pea in an old fashioned whistle) was a little loose when I bought this. It worked tho sometimes had to move it into correct position before using. Over time it has become so loose it doesn't work at all... not much good in an emergency
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mountain whistle, 4 Sep 2011
By 
D. Elliott (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lifesystems Mountain Whistle (Misc.)
I brought this whistle for when I go hiking in the mountains, it's quite loud and yet small enough to hang on a key ring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic for alerting my good lady to the fact my pint glass is empty!, 31 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. A. Hall "Adrian" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lifesystems Mountain Whistle (Misc.)
Every household should have one, it’s a must… It’s fantastic for alerting my good lady to the fact my pint glass is empty! I just imagine myself on ‘police stop’ giving a breathalyser text and give this baby a smooth yet strong blow and hey presto the good lady arrives. Given not always smiling, but she’s there!! AMAZING...

My advice to all males, get one of these… they are fantastic for calling your good lady, silencing the kids and alerting the do to your whereabouts. To all you singles should you ever think your going to get raped by a crocka heffer pig you can blow this baby to let everyone in the area know that a) you had a few too many b) you pulled a munter c) you are severely regretting said decision!

Well it gets a big thumbs up from me!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mountain Whistle
Mountain Whistle by Life Systems
2.54
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews