Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A whimsical delight and one to watch again
Far better than this meagre release would indicate. Solid performances from everyone, a clever story with a few twists and it's nice to see an unashamedly feel good movie that manages to end without ladling on the syrup factor.

It has been shown on UK TV by Channel 4 in widescreen, so why the R1 1.33 only vanilla release?

We demand a decent DVD...
Published on 16 April 2007 by Richard Baylis

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Michael
I bought this DVD ad a gift as it has been impossible to get it anywhere, so I ordered it with much delight, to soon be dissapointed, as its an import from the USA it won't play on my dads DVD player, so not only was I dissatisfied my poor dad couldn't watch it. Please be aware of imports they might not play. So my search for the DVD begins once again.
Published on 21 Jan 2012 by karen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A whimsical delight and one to watch again, 16 April 2007
By 
Richard Baylis (Chelmsford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Far better than this meagre release would indicate. Solid performances from everyone, a clever story with a few twists and it's nice to see an unashamedly feel good movie that manages to end without ladling on the syrup factor.

It has been shown on UK TV by Channel 4 in widescreen, so why the R1 1.33 only vanilla release?

We demand a decent DVD release. I'd replace mine like a shot for a good widescreen transfer with a few insights from cast and crew into the making. Some of the scenes out in the countryside on their car journey just scream out for the open vista of widescreen.

And careful not be a spoiler, but I'd love to know whether the need to have main cast members releasing feathers from their pockets at a crucial moment was down to a last minute idea on set, or whether they thought they'd save on having to have hide a mechanical release mechanism and that we wouldn't notice them doing it? Cos' we did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Certifiable Gem, 23 Nov 2002
By 
Mr. Michael Hall (Tunbridge Wells, Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Michael [VHS] [1997] (VHS Tape)
Whether you believe in Angels or not, this film will bring a smile to your face. For those whose visions of Angels are of sweet cherub-like faces and glowing halos, be warned: that understanding of Angels is a long way from this film.
Certainly, this is a very unique film. I've never seen anything quite like it before; and I doubt I ever will. But for movie purists, there's a lot to be seen here. There's a great chemistry between all the leads, and Travolta as the Angel is outstanding. And, like all good comedies, it doesn't try to be funny, because it simply is; and the underlying message of hope leaves a warm feeling inside when the film is finished.
Those with a hyper-cynical complexion may not be so impressed, but this is a fantastic comedy, and comes at a bargain price. Also a great take on the world of journalism, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Michael, 17 Sep 2009
By 
J. Lambe - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Pure genius. This is Travolta at his best. Without a doubt one of the the funniest films I have seen in a while. Great family entertainment about 3 newspaper reporters who report on stories based on claims of various extraordinary events. In this case a woman who claims to have an angel living in her upstairs bedroom (Michael). The main sory being an attempt to get the angel back to the newspaper where the story can be written , photos taken and a fortune made by all concerned. However things are never that simple and Michael has an agenda of his own. Super film don;t miss this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Michael, 21 Jan 2012
This review is from: Michael [DVD] [1996] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I bought this DVD ad a gift as it has been impossible to get it anywhere, so I ordered it with much delight, to soon be dissapointed, as its an import from the USA it won't play on my dads DVD player, so not only was I dissatisfied my poor dad couldn't watch it. Please be aware of imports they might not play. So my search for the DVD begins once again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Review on, 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michael [DVD] [1996] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Surprise to read on the package that not for resale outside US or Canada? Not suitable for recording system within Europe.
Attempted to return without success and still attempting to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This film is an Angel, 3 Sep 2002
This review is from: Michael [VHS] [1997] (VHS Tape)
A rollercoster ride of laughs, thrills+spills and cheesy jokes from start to finish.
When word goes out that an angel (John Travolta) is living somewhere in the state, crazy news boss Bob Hoskins becomes hell-bent on finding it, so he dispatches three news people to investigate.
What they find is not what they expect. For instance, an angel (or an arcangel, as the old lady he lives with puts it) who smokes, is a sugar addict, he evn puts it on chips, he wants to see attractions, he lands up in jail and more!
Buy this, and spend the rest of your life laughing uncontrollably.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Useless, 1 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michael [DVD] [1996] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This product will only work in the USA It is the wrong format for uk and it was not labeled clearly enough
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars awfull, 28 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michael [DVD] [1996] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
it never worked! it said wrong reigon . obviously only works abroad, would of liked to of known this before i bought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed!, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michael [DVD] [1996] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I couldnt even use it! Only able to use in us this should be stated now wasted my money not inpressed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Michael, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michael [DVD] [1996] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Received in excellent order so thank you very much for a very good DVD that takes you back to the good times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Michael [DVD] [1996] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
2.77
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews