Customer Reviews


311 Reviews
5 star:
 (270)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars box of tissues required
I read the book first, not normally a good idea, but did not know of the making of the film at the time. I was already trying to cast the film and got stuck with John Coffey, I could not think of one person that could possibly make him come to life, of course I was wrong as we have now discovered. I cried at the end of the book, when I went and saw the film, there was not...
Published on 12 Feb 2001 by J. Webber

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
Loved the DVD - Hoped the Blu Ray would be better - but found the picture very dark through-out and had to watch the disc with most visual enhancing settings switched off, just to get some contrast in most scenes. I tried to disc in various players (including PC) wth the same result.
Published 23 months ago by Stephen J. Young


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars box of tissues required, 12 Feb 2001
I read the book first, not normally a good idea, but did not know of the making of the film at the time. I was already trying to cast the film and got stuck with John Coffey, I could not think of one person that could possibly make him come to life, of course I was wrong as we have now discovered. I cried at the end of the book, when I went and saw the film, there was not a dry eye in the house but when I watched it on video at home the flood gates opened, I was actually choking. The film leaves out some little details that, although you wouldn't notice if you hadn't read the book, makes the story more of a saga, problem is too have included them would have added hour on film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning & Gripping, 27 Dec 2000
By 
railton@talk21.com (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Green Mile [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
You forget almost straight away that you will be there for three and a bit hours. After seeing it 8 times at the flicks, I can honestly say, that there is something new in it every time. Not as good as the book, I must admit the director does the story justice in every way possible. This film will make you cry, laugh and feel hatred. Excellent endng with the closing comment "Our own green mile can seem so long." So true, we never know what is infront of us all. Congratulations to the cast and crew. I am a firm believer that miracles do happen. This maybe a film, but watch it and it will make you sit up and think. Some strong issues tackled in the three hours. Miracles? Capital Punishment? You decide. But I would reccomend it to anyone who wants to see a good film. This was one of the first DVD's I bought, and I would buy it again if this one screwed up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!BLU RAY REVIEW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 16 April 2010
By 
The usual suspect (2nd aisle on the right, top shelf) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Green Mile [Blu-ray] [1999] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
The Green Mile probably not that same opinion as most but I actually enjoy this better than Darabont's other epic, The Shawshank Redemption. It should have won Oscars but didn't down to 2000 being a lucrative year of classy movies. For instance, if this film was out last year, Avatar and The Hurt Locker wouldn't have had a lookin'. Michael Clarke Duncan, in his first major role was robbed of a best supporting actor Oscar really (Michael Caine was just being Michael Caine).

For the HD part, I can report that it's a great transfer! I've never noticed just how much all the actors were sweating until now - the detail level is that much higher. Mr Jingles looks fantastic - on the same level as Peter Jacksons King Kong in detail. Some of the limitted amount of outdoor scenes away from 'The Mile' aren't top quality but still the vast majority of the quality is excellent. The extra's are SD from the DVD - it's well worth watching how they did Mr Jingles in the days before CGI took over, it's a refreshing change. Audio on the DVD was great and it's great here also but The Green Mile isn't a movie for audio muscle. As long as the dialogue is clear that's all we really need. The thunder and lightning clap is the only place HD audio comes into play.

Region Free

Audio: Dolby TrueHD English; DD 5.1 English, French, Castilian Spanish, German, Italian; Dolby Surround Portuguese and Turkish

Subs: English; Portuguese; Castilian Spanish; Complex Chinese; Dutch; Danish; Finnish; French; German; Greek; Italian; Korean; Latin Spanish; Norwegian; Swedish; Thai; Turkish and a partridge in a pear tree...

Run time: 188mins of brilliance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shocking and suprising - a movie that stays with you, 27 Jan 2009
By 
This review is from: The Green Mile [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
On death row Paul Edgecomb's (Hanks) life takes a turn when he meets John Coffy (Duncan) a giant of a man gifted with supernatural powers.

The adaptations of Stephen King's novels are something special. From the politically correct Shawshank Redemption to the psychotic Misery, King has written some marvellous entertainment and so far there has yet to be a bad adaptation and this 1999 Darabont adaptation is right up there with his other classics.

Nominated for 4 Oscars, The Green Mile takes the concept of death and puts a supernatural twist on it which makes for a long but riveting viewing.

Frank Darabont returned after his Shawshank Redemption and uses that wonderful artistic styled direction to create the emotion of the time and situation. The sweeping shots of the death row, juxtaposed with some carefully chosen cinematic setting sweeps helps create an artistic and importantly emotional feel of the time the film is set, in the early 1930's. The colour is significant to the film with a articulate choice in settings, having green tiled floors and dark dismal rooms to accompany that harrowing feeling of death.

Whilst not especially looking at the aftermath of death, the Green Mile explores the agonizing wait that accompanies the inmates till their sentence. The long walks and procedures are explored in a drawn out process that will send a tingle up your back. The film contains the most harrowing and dramatic death penalty scenes to ever appear in cinematic history. This in particular is the reason for the 18 certificate and is not for the faint hearted. It will remain with you long after viewing.

The story is consistent in its message to portray the difficulties of life up to death. The dramatic realism is never far away but The Green Mile is more than a preaching drama. The inclusion of the supernatural gives it an edge, an openness that leaves many questions. The mouse to is an interesting inclusion that draws a line on the fantasy genre.

Tom Hanks never lets viewers down and is once again at the top of his game. It is however Michael Clarke Duncan who steals the limelight as John Coffy, a giant on death row. His Oscar nominated performance will create tears and sympathy and is a fine inclusion to this picture which despite being too long is a fine drama that shocks, preaches and haunts.

9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another piece of Stephen King perfection, 3 Mar 2008
By 
L. Green "Feltano" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Barcode: 7321900705974

First the brilliant Shawshank Redemption (The best film of all time in my opinion) and now this, yet another masterpiece of storytelling and proof that Stephen King really is one of the greatest writers of all time.

I have yet to read to the book but it is clear from the outset that The Green Mile is an extremely good adaptation. Like the aforementioned Shawshank, few other films get you to feel so strongly about the characters, from the horrific execution of Del to the friendhsip between Paul and his fellow prison guards.

The film deals strongly with the themes of morality and death and both are treated in an extremely thought-provoking and intelligent way. Another thing i like about the film is that so intense is the realism created by how naturally the actors slip into their roles and the setting that the introduction of John's 'power' almost comes as a shock but as you realise it's potential it only adds yet more depth and power to the film.

It goes without saying that fans of Shawshank well find a lot to enjoy in this film, if they so choose to take the film in a positive light. The Green Mile is just as, if not more so accesible and their lies much of its strength. Don't let its length put you off (it's so long you even have to switch discs halfway through!), it is this length which is essential to convey the story in full detail and personally i enjoy it being so long as it creates a world so rich in its characters and feelings you almost don't want to leave when the film ends.

Another film you could compare the Green Mile to is Let Him Have It, also dealing with execution. I think the way this ultimate penalty hangs over the story throughout serves as a reminder of the darker side to the world and only emphasises the simple pleasures such as Del playing with Mr. Jingles. It's a film that'll make you laugh, make you cry, make you think. But above all, it is a truly great film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3 hours seem like 30 minutes., 31 Aug 2006
By 
Alan Burridge (Poole,, Dorset. United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Green Mile [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
A totally enthralling film. Superb characters, superb story and, as ever, a dash of science fiction sprinkled in from Stephen King (when doesn't he add this to his tales?). And even though John Coffey had this healing power and Paul Edgecombe (Hanks) had proof Coffey didn't murder the two sisters, Coffey was tired of his life and powers and elected to be executed by 'old sparkey.' In the book another great clue to Coffey's innocence was present, yet missing from the film. They found the girl's lunch packs, (food inside linnen cloth wraps tied in a knot at the top to keep it in), and realised a sauasage was missing. Coffey wore no shoes, and when Edgecombe asked why, was told "Can't tie the laces, Boss." So if Coffey was guilty, how did he untie the linen wrap, eat the sauasage and re-tie it? But the movie works just as well without this small point and the time simply slips away watching it, and if you get through it with no emotional charge going through you then you must be dead already - a real tear-jerker yet a beautiful tale of man's humanity to man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 25 Jun 2007
By 
H. Neilson "macbiggles" (Inverness, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Superb movie, subtle, and based on character interactions; that's not to say that "nothing haoppens", but don't expect explosions and car chases! Very fine acting all around.

I have to take issue with a previous reviewer - the 2-disc SE is very good, their are extras on both discs and the film is deliberately split across the two discs so as to increase the bitrate and hence improve the picture quality. Yes, you can cram 4 hours' worth of video material onto one DVD but the quality would be a bit naff - with a long movie like this, or like Peter Jackson's King Kong remake, splitting the feature gives much sharper picture detail ... surely a good thing?

Excellent release of a brilliant movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soulful and breathtaking, with a dash of humour mixed in - mesmerising, 8 May 2007
By 
Charles Edge "A real critic" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Green Mile [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
The Green Mile is a film with a marvellous and I think important story. With some of the most poignant sentiments seen in film regarding forgiveness and the fear of death and judgement this is a masterpiece of modern cinema, with a soul that never fails to capture the audience.

From the book by Stephen King, the Green Mile is set in post-depression United States and tells the story of six prison guards on death row and their extraordinary encounter with a mysterious felon named John Coffey. The gruesome crime this gigantic man was convicted of seems to head guard Paul Edgecomb (Tom Hanks) and his deputies unfitting of the gentle giant they come to know. As the story seemlessly progresses the mystery around this docile felon is unveiled and Edgecomb is faced with a fearful decision.

This film wonderfully reflects the iniquity of the world and the pain which was so widely caused. The final scenes will be imprinted upon your memory as some of the most powerful scenes even to grace the silver screen, with an end which will chill you to your core.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly brilliant, 5 Mar 2003
By 
Mr Ian Giles (Chepstow, Monmouthshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Green Mile [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
When I got this DVD I was dreading sitting through the best part of 3 hours of dreary, dull America in the depression, how wrong could I have been. I was gripped from the very beginning, all of the actors, not just Tom Hanks, made their characters totally believable. The storyline is simply magic, in more ways than one! And is dealt with superbly. Paul, Hanks' Character has, at one stage a severe bladder infection and you can almost feel his pain and discomfort.
You can also feel the fear and dread of the prisoners when they have to face the 'Chair'. the compassion shown by the warders only highlights the awfull reality of the execution, though one of them is, shall we say, a little over cooked!
As the secret of John Coffey is slowly revealed you become more and more gripped by the film, I didn't want this film to end, three hours may seem a long time for a film but I could have sat through six hours of this if I could.
I feel that the music used deserves a mention too, the soundtrack is wonderfully understated and counterpoints the acting beautifully.
For me this is a film I will watch again and again, buy this film and enjoy, you won't be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breakthrough, 21 Feb 2005
This review is from: The Green Mile [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Just when i thought i felt no human emotion, this film came along, the only film (besides THAT scene in BAMBI) that has ever made me cry. You have to give it to the directors, the actors, the script writers etc etc, theyve constructed a great realisation of a great book. An innocent man on death row, all the prison guards know that he's innocent, he knows he's innocent. He has the power to remove all pain from a persons body, which triggered me into thinking that this is essentially a modern day Jesus - sacrificing himself re-enactmant. Just this time round, Jesus is black. This is an amazing film, you really begin to care about how the characters feel, and thats something you don't get from most films, if they die, you dont care, but in this film, you really can sympathise with all the characters, apart from one, of course. the lovable rogue.
This is a great film that i encourage everyone to at least watch, if not, buy. It made me cry, you don't want the guy to die at the end, but you know he has no option. Modern Day Jesus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Green Mile [Blu-ray] [1999] [Region Free]
The Green Mile [Blu-ray] [1999] [Region Free] by Frank Darabont (Blu-ray - 2009)
7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews