Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


72 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Politics and Intrigue at Chief Constable Level
I was an avid fan of the The Chief when it was first shown by Anglia Television back in the early 1990's. I still have video tapes of the series, and have been eagerly awaiting the arrival of the DVD collection, and will view each episode consecutively when I have them all. The series takes a look at a different aspect of the police service - The Role of a Chief...
Published on 26 Jan 2010 by Mr. B. King

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Would have been interesting if I could understand it
I think this is probably an interesting series. Unfortunately, either the sound quality and/or the enunciation are so bad, I couldn't understand a word. Too bad, because Tim Pigott-Smith looked as if he was good in the role. Why oh why didn't they give this subtitles?
Published 7 months ago by Susan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

72 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Politics and Intrigue at Chief Constable Level, 26 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. B. King "Compbck" (Enfield UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Chief - Series 1 - Complete [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
I was an avid fan of the The Chief when it was first shown by Anglia Television back in the early 1990's. I still have video tapes of the series, and have been eagerly awaiting the arrival of the DVD collection, and will view each episode consecutively when I have them all. The series takes a look at a different aspect of the police service - The Role of a Chief Constable, well-acted by Tim Piggott-Smith and later by Martin Shaw, both of whom were well casted for the role of the Chief Constable of a fictitious police force known as Eastlands. Having come from a police background, and having worked at a similar level in the Metropolitan Police, I can relate to the constant tug of politics between the Chief Constable's Office, the Home Office, Local Police Authority and the community. The series deals very well with the way The Chief Constable and his closest advisors deal with the day-to-day running of a suburban police force, including the trials and tribulations in the domestic lives of his most senior colleagues. This is a first class police drama series, which was obviously well researched and advised by ex-Chief Constable John Anderton. Unlike the Bill and many of the current police dramas, which tend to focus on the frontline hands-on policing, this series looks at the top of tree, and anyone remotely interested in politics in the workplace will enjoy viewing it. 5 Stars right out of the box from series 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars high responsibility., 6 May 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chief - Series 1 - Complete [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
Excellent portrayal of complicated position of high responsibility (authority and politics) with sympathetic and human protagonists without really 'Hero' status. Audivisual quality of this dvd irreproachable. Glad to have ordered this. Hans Boonen (France)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "I'm an independent officer of the Crown!", 22 July 2012
By 
Matthew Norton (Wolverhampton, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chief - Series 1 - Complete [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
Excellent police drama with a nice line in deep cynicism and a profound concern for the future of policing and of our democracy; this is not your usual "cop-show", instead taking us to the very top of the tree as Chief Constable John Stafford (played with chest-thumping gusto by Tim Pigott-Smith) takes the helm of an ailing police force in East Anglia, and quickly finds himself in conflict not only with those elements within the force that take exception to the new broom sweeping their way, but also the political machinations of his police authority and of the old bureaucratic evil of Whitehall. Stafford is (perhaps to a fault) a man with an absolute dead-set moral compass, his first and foremost duty to "The Law" he is sworn to uphold - no friend does that make him of the local gentry and the Home Office mandarins who see his duty as being to "The State" (a.k.a "them"), not that he cares. The series creators are clearly pitching from a position of disapproval at the workings of the British political system but it is to the credit of "The Chief" that the viewer is given room to make their own judgement as to whether Stafford is a valiant crusader for truth and decency or simply a bombastic liberal nuisance getting in the way of the copper's job of "coppering". Karen Archer is an able sidekick as one of Stafford's lieutenants, ACC Anne Stewart, although on behalf of female viewers I would have preferred it if she didn't go flouncing off in a strop QUITE as much as she does....rather lets the side down, I felt!

A high-quality supporting cast includes Frederick Jaeger, Julian Holloway, a short-but-effective appearance by John Woodvine in Episode 2 and an early TV outing for Ross Kemp as a snot-nosed probationer who provides for one of the confrontations that gives "The Chief" its' strength. An admirable production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm gripped -- again, 21 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chief - Series 1 - Complete [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
I'm always very wary ordering series I loved many years ago. This was as gripping as I remembered I watched the entire series in a a night and I am off to watch the second one tomorrow. It remains my favourite show ever.

The acting was great, the stories gripping and it is as relevant now as it was in 1990.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Would have been interesting if I could understand it, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chief - Series 1 - Complete [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
I think this is probably an interesting series. Unfortunately, either the sound quality and/or the enunciation are so bad, I couldn't understand a word. Too bad, because Tim Pigott-Smith looked as if he was good in the role. Why oh why didn't they give this subtitles?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars thank goodness for progress, 18 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chief - Series 1 - Complete [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
Perhaps it's my fault,but I thought TV was better than my memory says it was in 1990.The Chief series 1 is a collection of set pieces with no linkages as we now expect.My first reaction was a cross between 'Crossroads Motel' and 'Acorn Antiques' I expected much but maybe this was the time when Actors thought TV was stopgap until they became a Film Star or appeared on the West End.Directors too or else they might have coaxed better performances from the actors.Sorry to any concerned but this is my personal feeling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars From a Martin Shaw fan, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chief - Series 1 - Complete [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
I love Martin Shaw, and missed this the first time round, but i must confess this isn't great and without him i probably would have given up on it by now. But he looks utterley gorgeous in it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Addicitive series, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chief - Series 1 - Complete [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
Great series more politics than policing which makes the whole series compelling. Half way through watching this I order series 2 and I am just about to order series 3. Excellent service from supplier with speedy delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars well worth waiting 20 + years for this!, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chief - Series 1 - Complete [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
The 1st DVD takes you right back to the early 90's. Great theme tune. Solid cast and a script that builds up each episode. Strongly recommend the series. Love the cars, and seeing a world without mobile phones and when the only PC was the one in uniform, and not on your desk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars If only it was really like this, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chief - Series 1 - Complete [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
Extremely good and entertaining but unfortunately not like this in the world of today - we musn't upset or speak the truth or probably one would lose ones job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Chief - Series 1 - Complete [DVD] [1990]
The Chief - Series 1 - Complete [DVD] [1990] by Tim Pigott-Smith (DVD - 2010)
£8.63
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews