Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and Enjoyable WWII Spitfire Show
If you're after a WWII aviation mini-series, then this series is the one for you. I enjoyed the historical aspect of the movie from just prior to commencement of hostilities to the peak of the Battle of Britain. I also enjoyed the story of a young squadron of flying adventurers setting off full of enthusiasm and in search of glory at the start of the war to the depths of...
Published on 18 Dec 2009 by Daniel Stewart

versus
83 of 90 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Piece Of Cake
Made during what I consider to be the last hurrah of Great British TV,'A Piece Of Cake' chronicles the lows and highs of members of the Hornet Squadron. The first 4 episodes take place during the so-called phoney war in France and the remaining 2 deals with The Battle Of Britain.

It is, if you like, the antithesis of everything you learnt about the RAF through...
Published on 30 Nov 2009 by Nathan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

83 of 90 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Piece Of Cake, 30 Nov 2009
By 
Nathan "Mod" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Piece Of Cake - The Complete Series [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
Made during what I consider to be the last hurrah of Great British TV,'A Piece Of Cake' chronicles the lows and highs of members of the Hornet Squadron. The first 4 episodes take place during the so-called phoney war in France and the remaining 2 deals with The Battle Of Britain.

It is, if you like, the antithesis of everything you learnt about the RAF through British war films of the 50's e.g. comradeship, a sense of decency, a stiff upper lip and sacrifice for the common good. The bravery exhibited by R.A.F. pilots during the last war is in 'A Piece Of Cake' insultingly filed away as foolhardy or worse madness.

Most of Hornet Squadron are difficult to like or empathise with which is so important in a series where the characters are risking their lives and more often than not don't return home. Here lies the series major weakness and demonstrates a serious flaw in the script that is otherwise literate and peppered with witticisms and classy one liners, the like of which you don't hear in today's TV for cretins.

Characters like Moggy (Neil Dudgeon) is unrelenting in his nastiness that is never explained; he bullies recruits new and old and has no qualms about claiming monies owed him from a recently deceased fellow pilot. The CO (Tim Woodward), hated by everyone for running his squadron strictly according to class rules, is one flight away from lunacy and struts around with a dog who doesn't mind whose leg it urinates on. In the character of the American volunteer pilot (Boyd Gaines) there is an implied homosexuality that is sadly never explored. The obligatory romance between 2 members of Hornet Squadron and 2 local French girls feels like unnecessary padding, that one of these pilots has trouble 'getting the engine warm' could have given it some resonance but his problem is solved in a 30 second fire-side chat. The most likeable characters are in fact Hornet Squadron's non-flyers Adjutant 'Uncle' (David Horovitch) and Intelligence Officer 'Skull' (Richard Hope) and are the only ones who survive all 6 episodes.

Nevertheless, the aerial scenes and fight scenes are impressively directed and there are plenty of shots of Spitfires taking off and landing to thrill fans. The cockpit scenes are suitably claustophobic and harrowing. The acting is superb, especially Neil Dudgeon and Tim Woodward who dominate every scene they appear in.

The series does contain one major innacuray, there were never any Spitfire squadrons deployed to France, only Hawker Hurricane squadrons.

There are in fact 2 releases available, the other one contains subtitles. They both have the same running times and don't contain any extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and Enjoyable WWII Spitfire Show, 18 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Piece Of Cake - The Complete Series [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
If you're after a WWII aviation mini-series, then this series is the one for you. I enjoyed the historical aspect of the movie from just prior to commencement of hostilities to the peak of the Battle of Britain. I also enjoyed the story of a young squadron of flying adventurers setting off full of enthusiasm and in search of glory at the start of the war to the depths of despair in Britain's darkest hour.

Shot at some beautiful locations and with many actual flying sequences, I believe that this a worthy addition to any DVD library of war buffs, aviators, or fans of British movies.

Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it., 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Piece Of Cake - The Complete Series [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
This was a real find. When it was on tv, I never bothered with it. However, seeing it in an all one on dvd, made me buy it on a whim. It was a wonderful entertaining story of the WWII RAF in the early days of the war. It went right through 1939 in the Phoney war leading up to the most dramatic day of the Battle of Britain in 1940. We are introduced to a multitude of different pilots from different walks of life and we watch them becoming seasoned at heavy cost as the story progresses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Didn't want it to end, 11 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Piece Of Cake - The Complete Series [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
I absolutely didn't want this series to end although I do understand why they only made one series. The aerial displays are fantastic and the characters are larger than life. If you never buy another series of DVD's buy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILL, 28 Jun 2011
This review is from: Piece Of Cake - The Complete Series [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
There are some historical innaccuracies - Spitfires in France, but I put that down to ability to make the programme and it doesn't affect the effect. Four props and cannons as well.
Dialogue is really good - the most poignant for me being "Christ no not Flash...I'm afraid so, a bit of spit on a blackboard and that's the end of it...when did he die?...Couple of hours ago, the Medics told me what it was but wasn't really listening, eh, post operational shock I think they said, three or four bullets, one of them went right through his shoulder and came out of his bum, he would have liked that, he knew an awful lot about anatomy, he was a card wasn't he? young Flash, I really thought he'd get away with it, they say that God takes care of Drunks and Loonies...well He's been working overtime these days...that's for sure, I was starting to think that old Flash was bullet proof too...I don't know but I hope to Christ this War is going to be worth it."
The slow build up up from the Phoney War through to the hectic Battle of Britain seems to me to be really realistic.
What really spooks me are the B&W stills at the beginning of the episodes and then seeing the characters in the episodes. We have all seen the B&W pics from the period, monochrome people - this gives them a reality, how they felt, acted, their sarcasm, sense of humour, how they fought and died.
These Warriors will be compared in the future with the Spartans at the Battle of Thermopylae.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Piece of Cake - DVD, 26 Jan 2010
By 
Trevor Parsons "parsons" (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Piece Of Cake - The Complete Series [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
Was good to see that they have finally put this series on dvd. The only critisism I have is that you still have the breaks in the episodes (end of part 1, part 2 ect..) it would have been nice for these to have been edited out. Other than this a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Piece of cake, 29 Oct 2009
By 
P. A. Brunger "Jazzman" (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Piece Of Cake - The Complete Series [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
I remember watching this in the late 80s on Sunday evenings and enjoying it. I saw it on Amazon for sale and ordered it straight away. I was not disappointed. If you like Spitfires and airial photography this is for you. The story is good and portrays the pilots not in the same way as the films do. Its hard not to get pulled into the story as if you are actually with them. I would recommend this to anyone who likes war dramas. The 1st disc deals mainly with the 'phoney war' period with the 2nd disc realy dealing with the fighting. Well written,acted and directed with some fantastic airial filming i think this is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tally Ho old Chap...!, 9 May 2014
By 
herronrath "Trish" (County Armagh Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Piece Of Cake - The Complete Series [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
The DVD was well packaged and delivery was super fast.
I was amazed to find this series still available after so long.
Really enjoyed it and would recommend for anyone who wants a trip down memory lane about WW2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Worth watching, 21 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. A. Moore "The Moore Family" (Redditch UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Piece Of Cake - The Complete Series [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
Whilst not as good as other series of this era and type, this is a watchable series with some totally unlikeable characters.

Okay, forget the historical inaccuracies (Spitfires were never sent to France at this time, only Hurricanes) the stories are largely accurate and show what these brave young men actually went through during the phoney war through to the Battle of Britain.

Pilots are written out regularly and you never know who will be the next to go; even the stars are not safe!

A good way to pass a few hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great viewing!, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Piece Of Cake - The Complete Series [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
For anyone who has read the series of books about Hornet Squadron in WW2 this is a must see series too.Also for anyone interested in the early stages of WW2 and the effort made by the RAF this is an accurate portrayal. Superb flying scenes and also takes most of the important points from the books-great viewing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Piece Of Cake - The Complete Series [DVD] [1988]
8.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews