Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classy Entertainment
It's difficult to add anything useful to the reviews that have already been done, so I'll be brief and to-the-point. There are a lot of comedians out there, but Ed Byrne is in a class of his own. (Haa. See what I did there?) But seriously, Ed's humor is very clever, cheeky, and intelligent, and if you appreciate good comedy you won't regret getting the DVD.
Published on 18 Jan 2011 by jaybee_bug

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny, but Byrne isn't firing on all cylinders here
Irish comedian Ed Byrne is a familiar face on British TV screens, thanks to appearances on the BBC's `Live at the Apollo' and panel game shows like `Mock the Week, ' `Have I Got New For You,' `Never Mind the Buzzcocks' and `8 Out of 10 Cats.' In `Different Class,' some of his famous routines are given another airing, but there's also a raft of new material, much of which...
Published on 21 Jun 2010 by Darra Joyce


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classy Entertainment, 18 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: Ed Byrne - Different Class - Live [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
It's difficult to add anything useful to the reviews that have already been done, so I'll be brief and to-the-point. There are a lot of comedians out there, but Ed Byrne is in a class of his own. (Haa. See what I did there?) But seriously, Ed's humor is very clever, cheeky, and intelligent, and if you appreciate good comedy you won't regret getting the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars compleatly and utterly brillian, 10 Jan 2011
This review is from: Ed Byrne - Different Class - Live [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
this dvd is absolutly brilliant!
and it is mega funny. i was in stitches and was proper having belly laughs and a few snorts XD and my jaw was hurting after a while from laughing to much.
i recoment anyone buying it if you want a right laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 28 Dec 2009
By 
S. Petherbridge "monkeygirl90" (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ed Byrne - Different Class - Live [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Once again, Ed Byrne offers hilarious commentary on everyday aspects of our lives. While the show is called 'Different Class',he doesn't just look at class differences, he talks about everything - from his wife, to his friends, his family, feminism, and comedy in general, and so much more.

All in all, a fantastic show! Well worth the buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny, but Byrne isn't firing on all cylinders here, 21 Jun 2010
This review is from: Ed Byrne - Different Class - Live [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Irish comedian Ed Byrne is a familiar face on British TV screens, thanks to appearances on the BBC's `Live at the Apollo' and panel game shows like `Mock the Week, ' `Have I Got New For You,' `Never Mind the Buzzcocks' and `8 Out of 10 Cats.' In `Different Class,' some of his famous routines are given another airing, but there's also a raft of new material, much of which deals with relationships and married life (Byrne married several months before this DVD was recorded).

Established fans should be aware that a fair percentage of the material in this show will be familiar from earlier performances (the girl at the airport, Hostel 2, the DVD piracy warning, kids arming themselves, getting `stepped to' by an emo, snowboarding and skiing, sleep / snoring, falling in love versus being in love, couples watching porn together, etc). I was initially a little disappointed to hear so many jokes with punch-lines that I could remember, and therefore anticipate, but I still found it rewarding to sit through these segments, just to see how Byrne occasionally puts a new spin on old jokes (I won't post any spoilers, but stick with it and you'll get a great many laughs from the ingenuity on display - the explanation for his collective nouns, `a mood of Goths' and `an isobar of emos' is particularly clever). He even manages to wrong-foot the viewer on one or two occasions. For example, early on in the show, he talks about the 25tth anniversary re-release of the Michael Jackson album, `Thriller.' I rolled my eyes at this point, expecting it to segue into a re-tread of his Alanis Morisette skit (which is deservedly famous, but also a number of years old). Thankfully, though, he avoids the obvious and goes off a refreshingly unexpected tangent.

Some of the new material is a revelation, especially that which shows how much Byrne's views on relationships have changed since he got married. It's difficult to put this across to readers without spoiling the surprises, so I'll just say that, although most of this material appears towards the end of the performance, it's well worth the wait.

There are some negative points too, though. I read all the reviews here before writing this one, and would agree with the view that Byrne relies a little too much on the use of expletives to get a laugh (ie, an early use of the word c*** seems superfluous, as though thrown in for shock value, and he sometimes seems to throw in an extra unnecessary f*** here and there to get an easy laugh).

I'd also agree with the previous reviewer who commented on the curious editing of this DVD: "There are massive pauses between jokes which makes it looks like he was waiting for laughs that did not exist. But the footage of the audience says they were laughing, I just could not hear it." At some points, I too wondered what was going on in this respect. There is indeed some awkward editing that makes it look as though Byrne is pausing for effect (eg, stopping to take a drink while waiting for a reaction from the audience). However, reviewing the footage, I don't think that he's actually milking the crowd in this way. It seems to be more to do with post-production editing and a possible shortage of microphones on the audience. Byrne is mentioned elsewhere in the credits, though (ie, not just as writer), so you might expect him to have had a degree of control over the presentation of this DVD. But this is speculative, and any perceived faults are not necessarily a reflection on Byrne himself.

What does reflect on Byrne, however, is his apparent lack of enthusiasm, which is especially obvious when he's reworking old routines. It can't be easy trying to put a fresh take on a familiar skit, but he seems a little bored with some of his material, making it difficult at times for the viewer to fully engage. Somehow, he doesn't seem to firing on all cylinders in this show.

There is also an inexplicable dearth of jokes relating to the ostensible theme of the DVD (class distinctions). I laughed at Byrne's references to his upbringing in Ireland - the explanatory passage about families there owning horses is a real eye-opener for English viewers like myself - but was hoping that these monologues would lead to stories illuminating the differences between social classes. This aspect of the DVD doesn't really go anywhere, though. A case in point is Byrne's assertion that he's neither working class nor middle class, but somewhere in between - `half toff, half pikey,' to quote the blurb - a potentially interesting angle that he never fully develops. I couldn't help concluding that he'd used the class theme as a hook on which to hang a set-list consisting largely of old material, and then been unable to think of ways to link this material to the new theme. All of which made his occasional self-congratulatory indulgences (ie, an apparently spontaneous aside about women in the audience finding him `nerdily attractive') seem a little presumptuous.

Having said all that, watching this DVD is time well spent. Ed Byrne is a polished, charismatic performer who is careful to throw in enough self-effacing material to counterbalance the egocentric aspects of his set (the reference to his previous show, `Pedantic and Whimsical,' being uploaded to YouTube in 9-minute segments, which Byrne uses to explain the DVD's relatively low sales figures, has a satisfying ring of authenticity about it). Also, as an Irishman now living in England, he commendably refuses to `play the Irish card' in order to elicit cheap laughs (much like his friend and fellow comedian Dara O Briain). Byrne is nowhere near as famous as he deserves to be, and `Different Class' is only his second stand-up DVD. I, for one, hope there will be many more.

NB, the extras on this DVD include the `fake orgasm' routine (a useful inclusion, since Byrne himself explains in the introduction that he doesn't perform the routine any more). There's also a commentary track by Byrne and British comedian Jimmy Carr, but I can't comment on this, as I haven't listened to it yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars present, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ed Byrne - Different Class - Live [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
given as a present to my partner who likes Ed Byrne and has enjoyed the DVD. Easy to watch in company
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ed Byrne - Different Class, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ed Byrne - Different Class - Live [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
As funny as always - brilliant, however many times you watch it. Made me laugh as much the fifth time as the first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny Man, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ed Byrne - Different Class - Live [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Ed Byrne is quick witted... really quick! and very very funny. I enjoyed Different Class because he pulls on a subject that needs to be publicised. No one is better than anyone else and he says so very humerously!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny Guy, 14 Jun 2010
By 
Ms. K. Crawford (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ed Byrne - Different Class - Live [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Ed Burne is fantastic, I saw him do this show in Aldershot and just had to get it so my mates could see what they missed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ed Byrne - Different Class - Live (DVD), 8 Jan 2010
By 
L. Baldwin (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ed Byrne - Different Class - Live [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
WOW! What can I say?...I am a massive Ed fan and I certainly wasn't disappointed. He is a brilliant comedian with hilarious observational humour. The dvd was great value - both for its price and the laughs it gave! Sounds corny - but it really is a 'must have' dvd!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable., 7 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Ed Byrne - Different Class - Live [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Great stuff Ed!

I also enjoyed the DVD commentary with Jimmy Carr.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ed Byrne - Different Class - Live [DVD] [2009]
7.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews