Customer Reviews


130 Reviews
5 star:
 (85)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing - A Must Buy on Blu-ray....
This is the best Blu-ray disc I have bought so far as the quality of both the picture and audio I feel is better than Kingdom of Heaven or Troy. Some scenes gave the impression that they were 3D it is that detailed.
The story is good and will keep you entertained - even though it is about four and a half hours spread over 2 discs. Don't get the other version of this...
Published on 23 Dec 2009 by Mr. T. J. Webb

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good movie but...
It is probably due to the editing done to this European version (that I have mistakenly purchased ) that I think that the movie was kind of broken there is a quite a few jumps in narration. I will recommend to get the Red Cliff [Special Edition][Blu-ray] [2008]Red Cliff [Special Edition][Blu-ray] [2008] which contains the full movie. The photography is stunning tough and...
Published on 5 Aug 2011 by Dan Merry


‹ Previous | 111 12 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Red Cliff, 4 Nov 2010
I'm not really into films, but i must say. This is a film i've watched again and again. The action is non stop from beginning to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great film, but...., 10 Oct 2009
Pity the trailers on the DVD couldn't be skipped...

The film, visually looked fantastic and boasted many impressive action sequences.

The major let down for me was that whatever view option the 32" TV was set to, the subtitles were very difficult to read.

This was because they were so small that it was difficult to read them clearly. The subtitles were also set quite high against the film's action, so if they appeared against a light background they were impossible to read clearly.

I've never had problems with reading subtitles on a film before - I don't think it was anything I was doing wrong. Perhaps they would be better on a much smaller screen or a computer screen????

Perhaps if I sat two feet from the TV I could have read them, in the end I skipped the majority of the film and just watched the action.

Would have given 4 stars if I could have read the subtitles (or there was a dubbed version on the DVD) and understood what was happening...real shame
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not that impressed, 28 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very disappointed.
I was expecting a historical film with historical battle scenes.
What I got was over the top super heroes & fanciful battle formations.
Lovers of military history will not be impressed.
To me this was a martial arts movie, not a historical movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Entertainment in Video Are the Worst, 21 April 2011
This review is from: Red Cliff [Special Edition][Blu-ray] [2008] (Blu-ray)
This isn't a review of the movie. This isn't a review of the video and audio quality. The movie's fine, the video and audio quality is fine. The sole reason why I'm giving this Blu-ray disc only one star stems from the fact that the distributor Entertainment in Video chose to place THREE FORCED, LENGTHY TRAILERS BEFORE THE MAIN MENU. You can't skip them. The only way around them is fast forwarding. I paid for this disc. Therefore this is unacceptable, and I will sell my disc as soon as possible and stay the hell away from this distributor in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 6 Dec 2009
This review is from: Red Cliff [Special Edition][Blu-ray] [2008] (Blu-ray)
a movie with one intensity that you don't find everywhere...
For information : Audio = chineesse and subtitle = English...that all!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Movie, 9 April 2011
By 
Matthew L. Walker (Salt Lake City, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red Cliff [Special Edition][Blu-ray] [2008] (Blu-ray)
Awesome Movie! Great Blu-ray Set, one of the prettiest blu-rays on the market, Great Price super Fast shipping from UK ! Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Battles, 12 Mar 2010
By 
S. BYRNE (Oxford UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Cliff [DVD] (DVD)
If you like this type of film.Red Cliff is a must see. The battle scenes are spectactular and the story is more than passible.
I bought this film having read the reviews by previous watchers and was not disappointed. Highly recommended. John Woo rarely disappoints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Red Cliff blu ray, 21 Jan 2010
This review is from: Red Cliff [Special Edition][Blu-ray] [2008] (Blu-ray)
Great movie!.. Prior to the purchase of this product, I asked Amazon whether it would play in the U.S. I received a standard run-of-the-mill response that was "safe" (from the standpoint of Amazon)and basically indicated "no". It was one of those answers that was an answer without really answering the issue. As it turns out, Red Cliff (blu-ray) will play in the U.S. without any hitch using the PS3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the best version you can get, 19 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Red Cliff [Special Edition][Blu-ray] [2008] (Blu-ray)
I love this film, its one of the best movies i have ever seen. If your a fan of the three kindgoms, ancient china or just a dynasty warriors fan your gonna love this so much!! and for the current price, on blue ray! its deffinatly worth buying it! if you dont buy now, your crazy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 174 or 294 min, 17 Jan 2010
By 
Ying (West Midland) - See all my reviews
Is this the one of full film of 294 minutes play time ? The blue-ray disk (special edition) said 294 minutes, but this one said 174 minutes, it seems that they are different special edition. Anydoby bought this one please give a shout.Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 111 12 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa3636c9c)

This product

Red Cliff [Special Edition][Blu-ray] [2008]
Red Cliff [Special Edition][Blu-ray] [2008] by John Woo (Blu-ray - 2009)
9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews