Customer Reviews


149 Reviews
5 star:
 (101)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing - A Must Buy on Blu-ray....
This is the best Blu-ray disc I have bought so far as the quality of both the picture and audio I feel is better than Kingdom of Heaven or Troy. Some scenes gave the impression that they were 3D it is that detailed.
The story is good and will keep you entertained - even though it is about four and a half hours spread over 2 discs. Don't get the other version of this...
Published on 23 Dec 2009 by Mr. T. J. Webb

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good movie but...
It is probably due to the editing done to this European version (that I have mistakenly purchased ) that I think that the movie was kind of broken there is a quite a few jumps in narration. I will recommend to get the Red Cliff [Special Edition][Blu-ray] [2008]Red Cliff [Special Edition][Blu-ray] [2008] which contains the full movie. The photography is stunning tough and...
Published on 5 Aug 2011 by Dan Merry


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good movie but..., 5 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Cliff [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
It is probably due to the editing done to this European version (that I have mistakenly purchased ) that I think that the movie was kind of broken there is a quite a few jumps in narration. I will recommend to get the Red Cliff [Special Edition][Blu-ray] [2008]Red Cliff [Special Edition][Blu-ray] [2008] which contains the full movie. The photography is stunning tough and sometimes the scenes are over the top but you have to be fan of the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing - A Must Buy on Blu-ray...., 23 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. T. J. Webb (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red Cliff [Special Edition][Blu-ray] [2008] (Blu-ray)
This is the best Blu-ray disc I have bought so far as the quality of both the picture and audio I feel is better than Kingdom of Heaven or Troy. Some scenes gave the impression that they were 3D it is that detailed.
The story is good and will keep you entertained - even though it is about four and a half hours spread over 2 discs. Don't get the other version of this film as I understand that it is only 2 and a half hours long, so you will miss a lot.
This is a John Woo film so plenty of action and all done on a grand scale - some of the overview shots are amazing.
Ok the extras are lacking and the subtitles are burnt on, no dubbed English version, but don't let that put you off, if you enjoy epic films like this then don't hesitate - JUST BUY IT. Brilliant.
I can only hope John Woo will make another film like this soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Red hot Red Cliff, 16 Oct 2009
This review is from: Red Cliff [DVD] (DVD)
Make no bones about it, this movie is phenomenal and that is no exaggeration. Introduced to you in a short English narrative, the movie is an epic to rival any other modern war movie. It is typical of most movies of this type, two clashing dynasties, one oppressive the others are humble, modest and outnumbered. However, you cannot consider that a let-down, the story branches out from just another heroic war epic to a gloriously written and filmed masterpiece. The cinematography, as with all John Woo movies is incredible, something he especially excels in in Asian cinema, moreso than Hollywood.

This movie is a war movie like few others, it was not scripted to just excite you with a war-mongering gorefest. It mesmerises with military strategy and the tactical nous you would expect out of a Sun Tzu manual. The story develops to much more than just a battle of two dynasties, it engrosses you and you will enjoy it if you already love the genre.

All you need from the synopsis is written above, but the main characters a military geniuses- unlikely heroes. As the characters are introduced, some in shoddy make-up and costume, the focus will centre around the strategists but noone is left withstanding.

Like I sadi, this movie is phenomenal. I would quite easily rank it up there with Cult Classics such as Full Metal Jacket or Apocalypse Now. THey may very well be of a different era, but war movies do not get much better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars About time!!, 23 Oct 2009
By 
D. J. Cook "The Librarian" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am not exactly sure what problem people have with this release. I saw the "Theatrical Cut" in the cinema, a version that combined the two films together with a patronising american voice over, and it was amazing, now having the chance to see it in its original form is even better, not only are we introduced to a new series of plot lines, but new characters and a film that deserves to sit up there on your shelves.

This is not a random martial arts film, this is John Woo's Epic. It is not simply about two armies beating the hell out of each other, but a multi layered narrative about friendships, warfare and philosophy. The use of the tea making ceremony is incredibly important.

I'm not quite sure what problem people have with the subtitles, I can read them on a 32" HD TV, and if you want to skip the trailers, just fast forward, it's not complicated.

My only problem with the discs is that I would have liked a few more special features, but thats personal taste and holds nothing against the film.

If you don't want to think, and just want to watch bad martial arts, go and watch a film with Jason Statham, if you want something that is entertaining and beautiful, I recommend this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Super film, but..., 4 May 2012
John Woo's epic Chinese tale is presented in full (bar some censored horse falls) on this two disc DVD. It's a lavish film, beautifully made with a stirring score and some stunning cinematography. So why only three stars? The film is almost impossible to follow at times because of the subtitling. Whoever passed this in quality control (if there was any) must have been sitting right in front of a massive screen, because that's the only way they could possibly have read them. The font used for the subtitling is so small as to be virtually unreadable, and to add to this they are also frequently lost in the background as they are white, and often presented against a light background. The subtitles should be half as big again, at least, and overlaid onto a translucent darker panel in my opinion as too often they are completely lost in the background image. They also fly by in places, so I found it a real struggle to make sense of some sections of the film.

It's a great film, but the DVD presentation is pretty poor. There's not a lot of point to presenting this film in full if you're going to make such a hash of the subtitling!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Awesome., 2 Jan 2010
By 
Ian Blandford (Nottinghamshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Cliff [Special Edition][Blu-ray] [2008] (Blu-ray)
I originally bought the cut down 2hr 30min. version of this film (big mistake), even though I knew that the full film was nearly 5hrs. long, thinking that it would still be a good movie (and it is). But the editing left so much out that as to be seen, the shorter version tends to be more confusing because of it. I now have this version and I'm glad I have, it is a true masterpiece of cinema. If you regard yourself as a film buff and a fan of epic cinema then there are certain movies that should be in your collection,Lawrence Of Arabia, Spartacus, Braveheart, Gladiator,(to name just four) and Red Cliff (special edition).
I have only one criticism of the film, and that is the subtitles. I'm not a great fan of subtitles and so a lot of good foriegn language movies have passed me by (my loss). On this film the subtitles are rather small and hard to read, depending on the background, and sometimes the dialogue between characters is quite fast so they change quickly. But don't let that put you off, this film is truly awesome and on blu-ray looks and sounds superb.

Highly Recommended. A Must Own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely spectacular!, 7 Aug 2011
Having seen the cut-down version in the cinema (which I actually enjoyed thoroughly) I was curious as to how I'd find the full-length version. It certainly did not disappoint, even better than I remembered it. The cinematography and score are stunning, the battle scenes are breathtaking (although sometimes confusing), and the characters are thoroughly engaging. Hollywood has a thing or two to learn about making good films. This just blows away almost every Hollywood production of a similar theme.

The Blu-ray version is extremely crisp and detailed - I'd say almost reference quality. A word of warning though: do NOT get the UK version as it contains cuts (even the "special edition") and worse than that, it's distributed by Entertainment in Video who have a habit of ruining just about every DVD and Bluray release. Get the full US version instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just amazing, 10 Nov 2009
This review is from: Red Cliff [Special Edition][Blu-ray] [2008] (Blu-ray)
I haven't enjoy a John Woo film since Hard Boiled. He is finally going to Hong Kong Where he can do what he wants in a brilliant way. The Blu-ray quality (image and sound) is nearly perfect. Just a bit disappointed by the burnt-in-english subtitles. The Documentary is a bit of a let-down as it looks like a Press Kit than anything else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Battle for the southlands, 5 Jun 2012
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Cliff [DVD] (DVD)
There are several different versions of this product, and since Amazon are lumping reviews of all of them into one, a word of explanation. This is a review of the single disc dvd edition of this movie that was released in 2009. It is not a review of the two disc special edition, which came later. Nor of the blu ray. Thus apologies if you're reading this on the special edition or the blu ray page, but there's nothing I can do about it. Take it up with Amazon.

This is a movie made by chinese Director John Woo, who went to hollywood after a lot of success in Asia. And had varying successes with movies whilst in the USA.

He then returned to his native land to produce a very long tv mini series all about a famous battle from chinese history.

That runs nigh on five hours. And was cut to two hours twenty seven minutes for it's release in the west.

This is that version.

The full version can be found on Red Cliff [Special Edition DVD] [2008]

Red cliff sees a nasty Prime Minister having seized control of most of the country via military victories. And via treating the emperor like a puppet. Some in the south are holding out against him. And he sets out to defeat them on the field of battle.

Those on opposite sides of this battle have a few vested personal interests, though.

And even though those in the south are greatly outnumbered, they have a very skilled strategist on their side. They won't go down without a fight.

An epic conflict is about to begin, and China will never be the same again....

This was clearly a very expensive production, and the attention to historical detail and costumes is excellent. The battle scenes don't pull their punches and also try hard to be realistic, almost all of them never defying the laws of physics.

It also considers the cost of war, as seen via an early scene involving refugees.

When there's spectacle on screen it is compelling viewing, thanks to a couple of big set pieces. But there are a lot of characters most of whom don't get much of an introduction. So you may not focus on them as much as you might want to.

It offers good entertainment all in all if you like this kind of thing, but hearing of the longer edition makes you feel that that is the one to really watch.

This disc also has a couple of problems in that it begins with fifteen minutes worth of trailers for other movies. And there is absolutely no way to get past them. Pressing stop then menu. Or pressing next. Or menu on it's own. None of those work. Nor does does fast forward. You have to wait through the lot.

The movie is presented in Chinese - save for a couple of early bits of scene setting narration which are in English - with English subtitles. Which is fine, and probably the way most who watch this kind of thing would prefer it. But the subtitles cannot be turned on or off. They are embedded into the film. And they are in a slightly smaller typeface than usual for things like this. Reading them can be tricky at times early on. Although you do get used to them in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A scaled-down epic, 29 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. Od Smith "d2kvirus" (Coulsdon, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red Cliff [DVD] (DVD)
This version of Red Cliff isn't the one split between two, three-hour long films, so as a result the full story of the build-up to the historic battle, as well as the battle itself, has been truncated - truncated, however, into an accessible film in its own right that doesn't spare on the spectacle, or the story behind the events.

Indeed, this version of the film starts with a voiceover that quickly brings you into the landscape of the period; whenever a key character first appears, their name also appears onscreen much like a historical documentary. In other words, rather than presume you know the players and the events anyway, the Western version leads the viewer into the socio-political realities of the Three Kingdoms.

But rather than play like a dramatised documentary (like, say, Kingdom of Heaven), Red Cliff plays the events with an outer layer of mythology, for example presenting Zhuge Liang as a combination of military genius and Confucius, whilst Xiao Qiao takes on an air of Guinevere in the way she's portrayed. By keeping one foot placed outside the realm of historical fact allows the film to take on a mythical guise, which somehow makes the events seem more realistic.

John Woo, meanwhile, reigns in his visual pyrotechnics and instead crafts a more poetic view of the Three Kingdoms, one which sits alongside the world of Hero, or the other wuxia films (i.e. Crouching Tiger... or House of Flying Daggers). The scale in which the film operates is also occasionally breathtaking, as huge as the legendary warriors that populate the film. There are also some moments of serene beauty, such as the mission to steal arrows, balanced with a visually stunning cavalry ambush, and a distinctly un-serene plague outbreak.

The battle itself is where the film really excels, though, as the scale of destruction is impossible to ignore - the sight of a navy blazing in the wind sailing towards the enemy port is one of the cinematic visuals of the year, and the ever-expanding inferno that follows it throughout the battle means there is a sense of constantly building tension in the lead-up to the final showdown between the two forces.

Red Cliff is a true military epic, and one where you have a choice: this cut-down accessible version, or you can take the plunge and see the full version on the special edition DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Red Cliff [Special Edition][Blu-ray] [2008]
Red Cliff [Special Edition][Blu-ray] [2008] by John Woo (Blu-ray - 2009)
£6.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews