Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Literary Excellence!
I'm not usually a huge fan of new age thrillers but from the very beginning of this novel I was hooked! What initially appears to be a fairly simple thriller quickly becomes a tale of so many twists and turns that it almost makes you dizzy. Literary drama at its best, well written with a hint of plausibility thrown in for good measure. It takes the idea of conspiracy...
Published on 21 Jan 2012 by Louise M

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting concept - weak ending
On the whole I enjoyed this book. It does raise some interesting ideas alongside an enjoyable and fast moving storyline. I read it quickly, so its definitly a page turner - but everything was leading to the "big" finish and I felt when you got there it was a bit of a let down...the hints of romance didn't work for me and as for the Elton John bit ... cringe!
Published on 28 Jan 2012 by Tubs


‹ Previous | 18 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Never quite meets expectation, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fourth Awakening (Kindle Edition)
Read two of these in the hope they would get better. Writing's not particularly inspired and the what there is of the plot leaves a lot to be desired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Build up is very good but overall end is a bit disappointing., 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fourth Awakening (Kindle Edition)
Book promises much and the two core characters have depth. By the end of the book becomes clear that the story has only just began and there is a need to read others in the series. Ending was such that I did not feel compelled, thus far to buy the next instalment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit slow, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fourth Awakening (Kindle Edition)
This book doesn't really get there; the characters don't develop and the story could be beefed up to add more dimensions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor writing, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fourth Awakening (Kindle Edition)
One interesting idea but this book is very badly written. Zero characterisation or background detail. Reads like a sketch for a TV script. On no account waste your money on this low quality product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste, 16 April 2013
By 
Mrs. G. Beddow "Mintmog" (Stafford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fourth Awakening (Kindle Edition)
Shallow and lacking in content, complete waste of my time reading it
would not recommend this book to any one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fourth Awakening (Kindle Edition)
Received this book really quickly and it is in great condition. I havent read it yet and cant wait to start
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Fourth Awakening, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fourth Awakening (Kindle Edition)
After all the hype at the beginning of the book I was really looking forward to reading it...what a disappointment!

Lets hope Rod Pennington doesnt have a Fifth Awakening - or if he does - lets hope he doesnt write about it - what a weak and predictable storyline nothing new and certainly nothing that kept me on the edge of my seat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Did not enjoy this at all, 9 Nov 2012
This review is from: The Fourth Awakening (Kindle Edition)
I found this book very boring and long winded. I eventually gave up at page 80 after trying to get into it. It was just not my sort of book and did not make me want to read anymore of this genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A forgettable read, 28 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fourth Awakening (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed Rod Pennington's 'Charon Family Series' and looked forward to this book, especially given the other reviews.

But I didn't warm to this book, I was reading it and just didn't care about the characters, I found them and the the storyline cold and flat. It took so long to explain what the fourth awakening was and the Hermes project. And when explained I found it all a little bit too 'new age' for my liking. No tension, no twists, no great characters. I found it a flat and forgettable read unfortunately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utter Dross, 8 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fourth Awakening (Kindle Edition)
And maybe that's over-stating it. Maybe Amazon could start thinking about a zero rating category. Incomprehensible plot, poor characterization, bumbling and contrived dialogue. Go find some paint to watch dry, you'll derive significantly more pleasure from the experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 18 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fourth Awakening
The Fourth Awakening by Jeffery A. Martin
£0.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews