Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the BBC's greatest, so why do we have to import?
There's still no sign of the BBC releasing any more D&P dvds in Britain (although I've not given up hoping), but the imports work on British dvds. You just have to opt for no subtitles. Although expensive, the four episodes are great entertainment.

The episodes this time are Above the Law involving a convoluted mystery after a judge is killed, despite a massive...
Published on 26 July 2009 by Blackhorse47

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dalziel & Pascoe Series 5
I think this is a rather poor product. The only version available seems to be a Dutch import. All the text descriptions are in Dutch, which is not likely to be of much use for most English-speaking viewers. Subtitles (in English) are set in the ON default position, so most English viewers, other than the hearing impaired, will want to turn them off before viewing. When...
Published on 3 Nov. 2010 by Dr. H. A. Jones


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the BBC's greatest, so why do we have to import?, 26 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dalziel & Pascoe - Series 5 [2000] [Dutch Import] (DVD)
There's still no sign of the BBC releasing any more D&P dvds in Britain (although I've not given up hoping), but the imports work on British dvds. You just have to opt for no subtitles. Although expensive, the four episodes are great entertainment.

The episodes this time are Above the Law involving a convoluted mystery after a judge is killed, despite a massive police guard, and featuring the always reliable Celia Imre. Foreign Bodies provides the appearance of Dalziel's umpteenth old-flame and in which a murder distracts him during a weekend away in Whitby. This is perhaps the weakest of this series as although sending Dalziel away gives the supporting cast plenty to do, the story relies too much on Dalziel completely and repeatedly failing to spot the obvious. Cunning Old Fox deals with hunt saboteurs and deals well with Daziel's personal feelings about the people he has to investigate. My favourite was A Sweeter Lazarus which neatly picks up from the ending of the last season and introduces new recurring character Rebecca Fenning, with whom Dalziel has an intriguing ambiguous relationship, along with a nicely complicated story involving a killer being killed.

Throughout the four episodes there's the on-going story of Pascoe's private problems, which results in Pascoe and Dalziel living together, something that despite the trauma Pascoe is going through leads to plenty of nice understated comedy. Ultimately though this season is not as strong as the previous seasons, and this may be because none of the stories this year were based on Reginald Hill's original novels (to my knowledge), but they are still entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars u.s. version review, 2 July 2012
By 
Michael Dobey (colorado springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dalziel & Pascoe - Series 5 [2000] [Dutch Import] (DVD)
They are putting all of this series out in region one. this is the show circa 2000 or so. their fifth series and the best so far. In this one murderers get away with crime even! The show features alot of great yorkshire landscape too. So it's northern england south of scotland and it's mainly on the coast. they are not releasing this as fast as many of us would like in this region but it will eventually all be available on dvd in the u.s. And unlike mainstream movies which are being phased out of production on dvd. yes, dvd's are on the way out in that regard , tv series will still be coming out on dvd for years. This is a strong picture on this one too. As it was shot on high grade film which looks great still. This series has a the boys dealing with mariatal problems and estranged girlfriends etc too. The show was one of the better brit detective shows on tv during it's run for sure. 1996-2007. It's a strong show in many regards and that's a fact. It's worth owning too as the shows acting is superb ,although the chain smoking dalziel is a man heading for a stroke probably if he hasn't quit smoking by series 12. I have yet to see a bad episode of this show or even a boring one, so lets hope they finish releasing this show on dvd in the next few years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dalziel & Pascoe Series 5, 3 Nov. 2010
By 
Dr. H. A. Jones "Howard Jones" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dalziel & Pascoe - Series 5 [2000] [Dutch Import] (DVD)
I think this is a rather poor product. The only version available seems to be a Dutch import. All the text descriptions are in Dutch, which is not likely to be of much use for most English-speaking viewers. Subtitles (in English) are set in the ON default position, so most English viewers, other than the hearing impaired, will want to turn them off before viewing. When the episodes were screened in two parts, the DVD does not run from Part 1 to Part 2 without stopping and starting again. It's good to have these available to view to order, and the stories are enjoyable and thhe acting engrossing, but surely the BBC could have done better than this in marketing the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brillant andy, 3 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dalziel & Pascoe - Series 5 [2000] [Dutch Import] (DVD)
Andy and peter keep pouring on the magic in this fifth series, keeping faithful to Reginald Hill's characters thye're always top rate
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Northern sleuth, 4 Mar. 2014
By 
Anthony Barden (Bretagne - France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dalziel & Pascoe - Series 5 [2000] [Dutch Import] (DVD)
This team of actors and specialists work very well together and produce an enjoyable series. I have read some complaints about setting this Dutch import up, describing all sorts of difficulties. I suggest those people stick to radio.

A number of discs for this series are Dutch imports and are easy to control.

I am still buying them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dailzel does it again, 22 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dalziel & Pascoe - Series 5 [2000] [Dutch Import] (DVD)
I'm a big warren clarke fan and I love detective programes in general.

everything from a touch of frost to The Mrs. Bradley Mystries i will simply lap it up

so this series is very up my street

Clarke is on fine form as usual as the slightly unpc but brillaint Andy Dalizel

the crimes are quite grim but the main leads are very solid as any character in these shows have to be

I have collected all 12 series of Dalizel and Pasco except Diolouges of the dead which I cant get at present
can recommed this series to any crime fan

the only thing that i disliked it the dutch subtiles but they can be easily taken off your screen

and that dosent spoil your enjoyment too much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dalziel & Pascoe series 5, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dalziel & Pascoe - Series 5 [2000] [Dutch Import] (DVD)
Although packaging is in Dutch, you can watch the film in English by removing the subtitles,we have enjoyed all the series up to no.5 so far & will be ordering other titles shortly, we would recomend to anyone who is thinking about ordering these to do so ,we have had all our products delivered promptly and with no problems at all, excellent service, thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Difficult for the seller to know but only three out ..., 6 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dalziel & Pascoe - Series 5 [2000] [Dutch Import] (DVD)
Difficult for the seller to know but only three out of the four disks work - the fourth disk was provided without any sound - the seller might wish to spot check its product range
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good TV veiwing, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dalziel & Pascoe - Series 5 [2000] [Dutch Import] (DVD)
these two detectives are in a way very funny, they get on well together. I have bought these DVD's to have in the house for when there is nothing I would like to watch on the TV
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great video from Amazon, 18 April 2012
By 
Mrs. Margaret Wride "lincs gardener" (Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dalziel & Pascoe - Series 5 [2000] [Dutch Import] (DVD)
This is a great video and the service we received from the supplier was perfect. No one can play a policeman as well as Warren Clarke. Looking forward to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dalziel & Pascoe - Series 5 [2000] [Dutch Import]
£8.89
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews