Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Updated
Back in 1975 this often mocked, gravelly-voiced Canadian singer-songwriter released his first Greatest Hits (known in the US as Best of). It was a much-cherished collection, treasured almost as much for its sepia-toned portrait of the artist on the cover and his self-effacing liner notes, as for 'Sisters Of Mercy', 'Suzanne', 'Bird On A Wire', and 'So, Long Marianne'...
Published 3 months ago by S Bailey

versus
54 of 64 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Outrageous!
Made by Sony company of UK, without involvement of Leonard Cohen or his manager's office, this is outrageous re-packing of 1975 Best Of LP (known in Europe as Greatest Hits). Not only it's ridiculous in packing, but one of the best Cohen songs, Waiting for the Miracle, is cut off in half (at 3:24 instead of 7:42), after 3rd verse, and there's also major drop out at the...
Published on 5 Aug. 2009 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Updated, 19 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Back in 1975 this often mocked, gravelly-voiced Canadian singer-songwriter released his first Greatest Hits (known in the US as Best of). It was a much-cherished collection, treasured almost as much for its sepia-toned portrait of the artist on the cover and his self-effacing liner notes, as for 'Sisters Of Mercy', 'Suzanne', 'Bird On A Wire', and 'So, Long Marianne'. Those slow-paced songs of love and death, with their unobtrusive folky musical accompaniment, were - and actually still are - the best of his long musical career, showing why this world-weary storyteller - who is now in his eighties - is a highly-revered cult figure, who is regularly bracketed with the much more productive Bob Dylan and Neil Young.

In a manner that some hardcore fans will think heretical, this 2009 release by Sony's UK division - that was made without involvement by Cohen - looks to blend that original with what he has done in the intervening 4 decades. The decision to retain only 8 of the original 12 tracks is highly debateable. But it should be noted that some of the replacements for 'Lady Midnight', 'The Partisan', 'Last Year's Man', and 'Take This Longing', are very strong, such as the much covered hymn-like 'Hallelujah', live favourite 'First We Take Manhattan', and the unsettling, if romantically charged 'Dance Me To The End Of Love' (which introduced Cohen's blossoming interest in synths to the world). But there has clearly been a bit of misjudgement in the selection of some of Greatest Hits' nine newer tracks, as neither 1992's much-laboured over 'Anthem', nor 1988's grimly humourous 'Tower Of Song', features, despite their obvious merits.

This 17 song set, that looked to cash in on his world tour and 75th birthday, isn't the best available introduction to his work: the original is slightly more cohesive, whilst the 2002 double CD The Essential Leonard Cohen is more extensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rerelease less 4 of the previous tracks + 9 new ones, 14 April 2010
By 
Peter Uys "Toypom" (Sandton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This re-release contains 17 tracks. The following songs have been dropped from the original version: Lady Midnight, The Partisan, Last Year's Man & Take This Longing. Nine tracks from later albums have been added and eight songs remain from his early albums like Songs of Leonard Cohen, Songs from a Room, Songs Of Love And Hate and New Skin For The Old Ceremony. From the album Songs Of Love and Hate I would have chosen Joan Of Arc, though, instead of Famous Blue Raincoat.

The quality of these timeless songs is proved by the many cover versions, of which a few of the best include Rita Coolidge's Bird On A Wire plus The Lilac Time's and the Neville Brothers' covers of the same song, Sting & The Chieftains' Sisters Of Mercy, James' cover of So Long Marianne, Geoffrey Oryema, Judy Collins and Nina Simone's very different interpretations of Suzanne.

The best (or my favorites) amongst the nine new tracks are The Future & Closing Time from the Future album and Dance Me To The End Of Love from Various Positions. I would have preferred Take This Waltz from I'm Your Man over the title track, Everybody Knows or Manhattan. Likewise I think Alexandra Leaving is more memorable than A 1000 Kisses on Ten New Songs.

Cohen completists would also be interested in Essential Leonard Cohen. What I found particularly impressive on listening to this blend of old and new gems, were the brilliant arrangements and especially the siren-like quality of the female vocals so perfectly framing Cohen's voice. These songs just sound better and better as the years pass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 64 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Outrageous!, 5 Aug. 2009
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Made by Sony company of UK, without involvement of Leonard Cohen or his manager's office, this is outrageous re-packing of 1975 Best Of LP (known in Europe as Greatest Hits). Not only it's ridiculous in packing, but one of the best Cohen songs, Waiting for the Miracle, is cut off in half (at 3:24 instead of 7:42), after 3rd verse, and there's also major drop out at the beginning of the song, with two lines omitted in the first verse (what sounds like your CD skipped but it's there on the record).

Outrageous and shameful way of making money of Cohen's recent popularity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WAITING FOR THE REST OF THE MIRACLE, 25 Nov. 2009
By 
Mr. Sr Harrup "nehpetsrh" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
For information, a previous reviewer lamented that 'Waiting for the Miracle had been drastically cut in half. I have just noticed that this is the cut from the soundtrack of 'Natural Born Killers'. I suppose the record company were trying to be clever (didn't work)

For Cohen's music on this disc, I have given 5 stars (I don't think I can ever give an album of Cohen's music anything less). Obviously we all have our favourite tracks that do not appear here 'Take this Longing' & 'Anthem' are just two among mine, and it is such an obvious cash in on the great man's world tour, but it is still Lenny and the songs are still wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Leonard Cohen at his best, 7 April 2014
By 
Berniebob (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
OK, so don't be tempted to put this on when you have just been dumped by your girlfriend or wife.
Leonard Cohen is not exactly noted for being upbeat.
But this is a brilliant CD covering many of his greatest or best known numbers.
I love it, but my wife groans when I put it on and disappears from the room. There again she listens to radio two !
Add it to your collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars leonard cohen, 2 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
good music although I don't believe he actually had many hits , shame about the damaged cd case though , would have expected a shop to change it and don't see why an online sale should be any diferent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Leonard Cohen is the best., 23 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I love Leonard Cohen and his music. He is so depressing to listen to and I am almost suicidal by the time he has finished! But I love all his songs and wouldn't!t be without this fine CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What more can I say about Len?, 22 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (MP3 Download)
What more can I say about Len than has already been written or spoken. The guy is a true legend. The only disappointment is that The Partisan is not on the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great album, very enjoyable., 6 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Love this release, a wonderful mix of his unique vocal styles. The female backing is divine and a definite positive addition to the enjoyment factor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! Just buy it., 17 May 2013
By 
Kenneth Bruce (Seaham Co. Durham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Sheer class. Cannot fault any track. Vocals and lyrics just mesmerising.
This album is my first introduction to Leonard Cohen. What a buy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greatest Hits
Greatest Hits by Leonard Cohen
Buy MP3 Album£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews