Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT BENSON
In the late eighties George was THE man,sold out concerts throughout the world,millions of recods sold,then suddenly things went quiet well
it is with great happiness i report,he is back on top form.
Listen to "Some day we'll all be free"and you could be mid"Gimme the night"era Benson.
The late great Roger Troutmans "Nuthin but a party"is pure funk...
Published on 18 Sep 2009 by Finbar the looney

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars George Benson: Songs & Stories
Very listenable collection, from one of the most underrated guitarists of all time.

Seems ok, at first. But, I think it will improve with each listening.
Published on 28 Sep 2010 by John Barber


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT BENSON, 18 Sep 2009
This review is from: Songs and Stories (Audio CD)
In the late eighties George was THE man,sold out concerts throughout the world,millions of recods sold,then suddenly things went quiet well
it is with great happiness i report,he is back on top form.
Listen to "Some day we'll all be free"and you could be mid"Gimme the night"era Benson.
The late great Roger Troutmans "Nuthin but a party"is pure funk.
The strength of the album is not only the choice of songs but also songwriters,James Taylor,Rod Temperton(Of "Thriller"fame) Bill Withers and Tony Joe white have all contributed to make this a very listenable album.
*Exotica"has an "In Flight" feel to it featuring Bensons exquisite guitar sound(an Ibanez if i am not mistaken)beautifully played.
"Rainy night in Georgia" is every bit as good as its always been all the the voice does sound a bit off key.
"One like you" is classic Benson and is as smooth as Chocolate (Cadburys of Course!!)
"Living in high definition" is the longest track on the album and also the most dance worthy a seven an a quater minute dace instrumental,that will in someways remind you of Earth Wind and Fire.
The final song is a version of "Sailing" written by Chris Cross and is absolutely beautifull
Welcome back George,how about some gigs?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you liked his old work, you will LOVE this .., 21 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. Zak Taemur "Smoothie" (Milton Keynes, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Songs and Stories (Audio CD)
If you loved his old work, then this CD MUST be added to your collection. All the songs have that magic Benson touch and old with new feel factor .. just pure magic ..

Listen to the tracks here and trust me you will end up buying this CD .. Good old George is BACK !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars George is still on track, 11 April 2010
By 
J. Robinson (LONDON, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs and Stories (Audio CD)
I really enjoyed listening to this CD whilst flying to and from my recent Caribbean holiday. Listening to it now whilst I am home brings back really relaxing, memories. It is a really laidback album full of all the classy jazzy style we have come to expect from George Benson over the years. I thoroughly recommend it. Vendor supplied it very efficiently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Return to finest form - with one exception, 17 Aug 2010
By 
Blackmale (Newcastle upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs and Stories (Audio CD)
George and his music have moved through so many chapters, there is a need to establish exactly which part of the congregation of his broad church this should appeal to. Soft Jazz is the easiest box in which to hole the pigeon, if only for the self announced sourcerer's apprentice Norman Brown turning up to start the House Party at No.6

Praise? it is beautifully captured and draws a tight line through George's most popular years of the 1980's. EASY to the ear yet still kept sufficiently REAL to be occaisionally challenging. It is a major step forward from the misguided "Irreplaceable" which left GB looking lost in search of AKON or some equally youthful parody.
Criticism? Too safe. The cast list is a who's who of soul titans name checking (would have been name-dropping if it were not for GB's own stratospheric credibility) James Taylor, Donny Hathaway, Bill Withers, Christopher Cross, Lamont Dozier and Marcus Miller and that's only the writer credits. With said Norman Brown, the enigmatic Lala Hathaway, Greg Phillanganes, Paulinho De Costa etc. etc. among the monumental players George can seemingly summon at will.
The only person who could pull a better line up together would be God himself calling on Lennon, Jackson and Miles Davis to help with his comeback album.
There is an inescapable air of predictability around the collection, which dips to the casual when we arrive at Rainy Night. GB clearly wanted to do it, but couldn't hit it (vocally), so we have him crouching down an octave on Randy Crawford's seminal original. The first time you'll hear him give away his true age and dangerously close to blue-plate specials at a Vegas hotel cabaret. Unnecessary.

Ultimately there is not enough edge to the collection lacking the deep furrow ploughed by ABSOLUTE BENSON with The Ghetto or the slamming and frenetically latin El Barrio which marked that album for consideration as possibly his best of the last 30 years? Discussion invited.
Notwithstanding, the high points for me personally are the aptly titled Living In High Definition and Exotica. Both are kept to instruments and scatting for the other side of George we love. Any GB "fan" will be entertained by Songs and Stories, the title gives the strongest clue to the direction and so perhaps we should forgive the lighter playing in favour of the need to simply enjoy a good tune.

The temptation to award the final star is overpowering, but I resist on the basis Benson's best strategy to cut a long-player has been to avoid fusions and alternate between the Soft and the Jazz.
Even George can't please all HIS people all of the time...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Benson album since Collaboration, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs and Stories (Audio CD)
This is an amazing Benson album. The personnel assembled here includes Marcus Miller, Greg Phllinganes, Paulinho Da Costa, Rod Temperton and Patti Austin. Listen out as well for the brilliant John 'JR' Robinson on drums. Also the fabulous Lee Ritenour turns up with his guitar and Ray Parker Jnr drops in. It is a collection of legends led by the main man - Our boy Benson.

Each song is a definitive masterpiece. I really love 'Show Me The Love' which takes me back to Benson's Breezin, In Flight, and Weekend in LA albums - the albums I call the three amigo!!!! BENSON, GEORGE-BREEZIN' In Flight Weekend In.

I purchased the Super Disc Surround Sound 2-Disc special edition which has DVD features including a 'Making of...' feature and an extra track - a funky little number that would grace any jazz lounge club 'It Ain't Over'.

This a super album and well worth the investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars George Benson: Songs & Stories, 28 Sep 2010
By 
John Barber (BIRMINGHAM, WEST MIDLANDS UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Songs and Stories (Audio CD)
Very listenable collection, from one of the most underrated guitarists of all time.

Seems ok, at first. But, I think it will improve with each listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Songs and Stories
Songs and Stories by George Benson (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews