Customer Reviews


393 Reviews
5 star:
 (239)
4 star:
 (70)
3 star:
 (34)
2 star:
 (25)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Cooler
This is a good cooler. I've matched it up with a AMD Phenom II 955 on a GA-M720-US3 motherboard. It's a bit tricky to install because you have to screw the heatsink into two loose clips. You have to put a bit of pressure on the metal bit to get the screw to match up and meet the clips. Once screwed tight its stable and does a great job at cooling. Initial temperature was...
Published on 4 Mar 2010 by J. Pegg

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad fan
I've bought 2x of these heat sinks / and used the fans it came with, both have failed. The first failed in 6months the second in 3months so take care what u order
Published 15 months ago by Nick


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Cooler, 4 Mar 2010
By 
J. Pegg - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: ARTIC Cooling Freezer 7 Pro Rev.2 CPU Cooler (Personal Computers)
This is a good cooler. I've matched it up with a AMD Phenom II 955 on a GA-M720-US3 motherboard. It's a bit tricky to install because you have to screw the heatsink into two loose clips. You have to put a bit of pressure on the metal bit to get the screw to match up and meet the clips. Once screwed tight its stable and does a great job at cooling. Initial temperature was 45C, the dropped down to 28C on second boot, due to the pre-applied TIM settling down.

A must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Installation for a AMD setup, not perfect for AMD but works as it should, 15 Feb 2012
By 
Alec (Yarm, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ARTIC Cooling Freezer 7 Pro Rev.2 CPU Cooler (Personal Computers)
Length:: 10:00 Mins

Done the video showing what you get and how to install on a AMD cpu. I didn't use the pre-applied Arctic Silver MX2, I prefer the Arctic Silver 5, also I wanted a better comparison between my stock cooler and this using the same compound. You can see when I attached the cooler I had a small amount of thermal paste located in the centre on the CPU. I've had it installed for 4 weeks now.

To start with the temps I'm getting compared to the stock cooler are not bad, about 8c cooler on full load over 30min, On idle a drop of about 10c which I'm pleased with. The fan is a lot quieter than the AMD stock cooler fan, but is not silent, It's a gentle hmmmm in the background on idle. As you've seen in the video, orientation of where the fan blows on a AMD setup is tricky, blow up towards the PSU or blow down towards the graphics card. I installed blowing down to start with, this was ok but increased temps a bit understandably on my graphics card, so remounted blowing up towards the PSU, the problem was, that the hot air caused the PSU's fan to cut into full speed as it thought it was over heating, which is rather loud. If you have a top mounted exhaust fan this wont be a problem I suspect, but for me, its back to blowing air down again. Overall I think it was a good buy, cools my Phenom II 955 slightly overclocked, better than the stock, looks great in the case if you have a clear side, with an AMD setup there is a chance you might loose one of you're memory slots (its very tight on mine), worth measuring up. The only thing to really criticise is the orientation of the fan as mentioned earlier. The reason its getting 4 stars and not 5.

Apologies if the video has to many edits or jumps around, had to reduce in size so could upload and it not taking a week to do so.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent cooler - take care when fitting, 15 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ARTIC Cooling Freezer 7 Pro Rev.2 CPU Cooler (Personal Computers)
My second, both fitted to a Gigabyte GA-H55M-UD2H, socket 1156, motherboards. The instructions are awful - but luckily I found an excellent YouTube video showing how to fit this exact cooler. Both base and the cooler are very easy to fit once you get the knack of removing the fan in order to screw the cooler onto the base. So much easier than the older push-and-click coolers where I always worried I'd crack the motherboard.
However, with the fan removed, don't rush screwing the cooler onto its base - it's rather easy to fit the cooler the wrong way round (fan should blow through, towards the case's rear exhaust fan). It cools very well, it's almost silent, the pre-applied thermal compound saves time and money, it's maybe a bit close to the RAM on this board but OK and it's excellent value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro rev 2 is a nice budget CPU cooler, 20 Nov 2010
By 
Mr. Ahmad J. Zaigham "Researcher and a techni... (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: ARTIC Cooling Freezer 7 Pro Rev.2 CPU Cooler (Personal Computers)
Moderately easy to install, comes with installation step by step diagrams. It took me about 7 minutes to install. The thermal paste is
preapplied to the contact base. I am running AMD 955 quad core with this cooler. This cooler is slightly worse in cooling as compared to the cooler(stock) which came with my processor. My CPU's idle temperature was 50C with the stock cooler and now is 53C with this cooler. And my CPU's under load temperature was 70C with stock cooler and with this cooler is 74C. i used Prime 95 to measure the load temperature. The reason i like this cooler is that its very quite as compared to the AMD stock cooler, which as noisy as a Jet engine LOL. This cooler runs at a nice 1700 to 1900 rpm, where as AMD stock cooler was doing over 6500 rpm under load and 4300 rpm at idle. Why this cooler is not very effective in cooling is i think because the contact base to CPU is small it dosent cover the whole of the AMD 955 Quad core CPU. Still i have overclocked the CPU from 3200MHZ to 3800MHZ. I am not worrying about the temperatures because i have successfully overclocked the CPU and it runs stable.
I am keeping this cooler because its whisper quite and its easy to clean. The fan is removable and the fins and the fan can be easily cleaned. I have never used after market CPU coolers before, so i am not sure how long the fan will last, but the whole cooler is well designed and looks and feels strong. The build quality is good. You will get a very good product for the relative price. It comes in a plastic packing which i think is not very safe. Should have come in a cardboard box but my cooler arrived in all perfect condition.
Overall Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro rev 2 is a nice budget CPU cooler.
I recommend this product for its quite operation and so so cooling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good cooler, 23 Mar 2010
By 
Geoff Carlin (Falkirk, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ARTIC Cooling Freezer 7 Pro Rev.2 CPU Cooler (Personal Computers)
Used this cooler with an AMD Phenom II 965 on a GA-MA790GPT-UD3H socket AM3 motherboard. As other reviewers have said its a touch tricky to install. Would recommend loosely attaching the AMD lugs first, then slotting then over the mounting plates and tightening. Much easier. This cooler also comes with pre-applied thermal paste. Cpu temperature is around 32C idle now down from 42C. The fan is also ultra quiet!

Please note that on AMD motherboards this cooler can only be mounted in 2 directions - with the cooler fan either pointing towards the top of the case or the bottom. On Intel motherboards the cooler can be mounted in all 4 directions.

The only problem I had - and this is due to the motherboard/memory type I use - is that the cooler half covered my DDR3 memory module 1 slot. If the cooler could be mounted in all 4 directions this would not be an issue - but as it the broadest part of the cooler comes very close to the first memory slot on my motherboard. I had to move my memory sticks to modules 3 and 4 as the heat spreader on my DDR3 sticks wouldn't fit with the cooler. No big deal to me because I'm only running on 4GB but might be to some people. In case your wondering I'm using 'Kingston 1600Mz DDR3 NonECC DIMM K2' memory sticks.

All in all it's a good cooler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good product, Be aware of fan plug, read on..., 3 Jan 2011
This review is from: ARTIC Cooling Freezer 7 Pro Rev.2 CPU Cooler (Personal Computers)
This is a good CPU Cooler for the money, I paid [...] for it from [...], so you have found a bargain at this price on Amazon, However as I got it home and installed it I hit a wall, The plug for the fan is a 4 Pin, My motherboard has a 3 Pin connecetion and even though on the Arctic site it says that you can plug it in that as It's got a backwards compatability , It will run at the lowest speed capable, in this case 800rpm and the processor heats up to 86 Degrees, so just check that you have a 4 pin header on your motherboard then you will be fine, If not then I wouldn't buy it and instead try to look for a 3 pin fan header.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great but might need BIOS tweak, 16 July 2010
By 
C. A. Jones "Chris" (Nottingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ARTIC Cooling Freezer 7 Pro Rev.2 CPU Cooler (Personal Computers)
Works great and certainly solved my problem. The baseplate has thermal compound on already so you don't really need more.

I got a CPU fan error which turned out to be because the old fan had a higher rpm. You have to go into the BIOS and either change the minimum rpm or, as I did, remove the alarm.

Nice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good price for a good cooler, 15 May 2010
By 
Mr. Antony S. Bellingham (Wolverhampton, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ARTIC Cooling Freezer 7 Pro Rev.2 CPU Cooler (Personal Computers)
I bought this cooler for my AMD Phenom IIX4 965 BE 3.4ghz mainly because the stock cooler at full load is very loud. I had to use headphones when gaming to block out the high speed whirring of the fan. Installation was a little tricky but not difficult. Like it has been previously said when attaching the two metal plates to the heatsink attach them loosely before you put the heatsink onto the cpu. Attaching them loosely means you have to put less pressure onto them when attaching them to the cpu plastic surround and with a few turns of a screwdriver they fix the heatsink solidly to the plastic surround. As also said in a review about this cooler you may find it a little tricky to clip the fan onto the heatsink this is down to motherboard and memory type. I can't comment for all motherboards but the tricky ones are Gigabyte's MA770x xxxx and the MA790x xxxx models. Memory slot 1 is very close to the cpu on these boards. If you only have 2 sticks of memory you can move them to slots 3 & 4 and this problem can be avoided. If you have 3 or 4 sticks, like myself, then you'll find that depending on your memory the fan will either be touching the memory stick in slot 1 or worst case won't go on. I am using Corsair 13333 memory which only has a sticker covering the memory chips so in my case the fan is smack up to the memory stick. If your memory has plastic covers then you'll find the fan won't fit onto the heatsink because the plastic cover will block it. Like I said this is only if you have to use memory slot 1. Somebody asked me "I have 3 sticks of memory so can I use slots 2, 3 and 4?" No you can't. Memory slots are divided into 2 banks. Bank 1 are slots 1&2, bank 2 are slots 3&4. If you only have 1 stick to put into a bank then it has to go in either bank 1 slot 1 or bank 2 slot 1 (which is slot 3).
So how are my temps now? Using the stock cooler I was getting 35-37c idle and 54-57 at full load. With this cooler I am getting the exact same temp. at idle and full load has gone up to 54-60c. I used `Core Temp' to monitor the temps. So an increase in temp. at full load. I can handle the small temp. increase even though this doesn't look good for the cooler's reputation but what is important for me is that it's quiet, very quiet at full load. Doesn't mean you can't hear it, you can, but the larger fan spins slower to achieve almost the same temp. results as the stock cooler without the high speed whirring. Another advantage is the air flow direction. This cooler can only be fitted in a down > up air flow direction (the original version of this cooler, not this Rev.2, can be fitted in a up > down or front > back air flow direction), meaning the exhaust air will blow onto your psu. This effectively cools your psu in the process and if like me you have a psu that has its fan on the bottom then this is doubly effective as the exhaust air flows directly into the psu casing and then out of the back of the psu. The fan is also close to the graphics card this means that it draws air over the circuitry of the card, another cooling affect.
I haven't over-clocked my cpu so I can't comment on performance above stock speed.
One modification I had to make to my case was to remove the plastic funnelling that directed air flow out of the side of the case from the side panel otherwise the panel would not go on and besides it is obsolete with this cooler.
All in all a good cooler. Don't expect a massive heat drop unless you're having huge temp. readings with your existing cooler. Expect a quieter system which was all I wanted. Time to put the headphones away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At least 10 Celsius cooler than Intel stock fan, 5 May 2011
By 
This review is from: ARTIC Cooling Freezer 7 Pro Rev.2 CPU Cooler (Personal Computers)
I installed this cooler last evening and felt compelled to write this review.

This is an excellent cooler at a very attractive price. I installed it on a Gigabyte motherboard, to cool my overclocked Intel Quad Core Q6600 that was running at 3.15GHz (from stock 2.4GHz) and at a temperature of 60 Celsius (idle) and 80 Celsius under 100% load. Additionally, I installed an Arctic Cooling Arctic F12 Pro PWM Case Fan case cooler. The case is an Antec Sonata III 500 Super Mini Tower Quiet PC Case (Piano Black) (0761345-08143-6). Once I finished installing both CPU cooler and case fan, I turned on the computer and ran some benchmarks to make give the CPU a 100% load. The temperature never went above 36 Celsius idle and 55 Celsius with 100% load.

The reason I say it is at least 10 Celsius cooler (and not 24 which is the overall decrease in temperature), is because the case fan is also helping. My hard drives are also operating at least 12 cooler than before, which means that the internal case temperature is lower. For less than 20 pounds, this is a great upgrade if you want to overclock your intel processor.

Installation:
My first impression when I saw this cooler was that it was huge and probably difficult to fit. I was only partly right. It really is significantly bigger than the stock cooler, but it is actually much easier to fit than Intel's cooler. I always had difficulty securing the fixation pegs with the stock cooler. The design of Artic's Freezer 7 Pro is a much smarter one and makes installation a breeze... There isn't much space left around the processor area once you fit it, so make sure you install this last (after RAM, for instance) when building your PC. Also, you need to remove the fan from the heatsink to be able to insert the fixation screws, then re-attach the fan once the heatsink is in place.

Noise:
My impression is that it is a little louder than the stock cooler, but again, it may also be the case cooler. Anyway, the improvement in cooling more than makes up for the slightly louder noise.

Final comments:
After testing the cooler and measuring the temperatures for a while, I decided to up my processor speed and overclocked it to 3.33GHz (from 3.15GHz). To my delight, the processor had no problem working at that speed. With the stock cooler, it would never boot-up above 3.15GHz. Also, the temperature is slightly higher now (40), but still much lower than before! Overall, a great purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good product, worth the budget price, 3 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ARTIC Cooling Freezer 7 Pro Rev.2 CPU Cooler (Personal Computers)
I bought this for an AMD Athlon II x4 640 that did come with a stock cooler but because I was unable to find details on it, such as noise level. I did some checks on this cooler due to the price and compatibility.

This is a revised model (Rev.2). If you Google for Review checks you can find out the full information, the changes to this address some clearance and mounting issues with some Motherboards from what I read.

This Cooler is extremely quite, the fan unit is suspended via silicone pins onto a matching black bracket that clips onto the heat sink fins, in the pictures it just looks like a black mount with a white fan clipped to the heat sink. this same style of fan can also be found as a case fan by Arctic Cooling.

It's worth saying the dimensions of this cooler are big, it just edges out over the width on my Graphics card so a side mounted fan does have enough room as long as it not ridiculously deep.

When I installed it I was a little Puzzled. when using the AMD mounts the fan is facing down vertical in the case so air flow goes up into the top of the case/PSU fan instead of facing horizontal sending air to the rear fan, however the Intel brackets let you face it horizontal....
This confused the hell out of me and had to Google if this was OK because I don't think the manual mentions it but yes it is OK, if you have a case with fans in the top for exhaust then all the better, I don't and it's still fine.

I cant say if this product can stand up to much Overclocking but if you want to replace a stock or noisy cooler for something that delivers low temps with peace and quite attached then this does do what it says.

Four stars.
Missing star AMD mounting could mess with air flow in a case where PSU is mounted in the bottom and no top Exhaust fan available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews