Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A hauntingly exquisite live album
This album stands as one of the most impressive MTV Unplugged albums ever recorded. The unique style and sound of the 10,000 Maniacs was captured beautifully in this concert, preserving an unforgettable legacy by the group which was essentially breaking up at the time this was released. Anyone who listened to the radio back then has to know and remember Because the...
Published on 27 Mar 2003 by Daniel Jolley

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars interesting.
interesting but not amazing except track 12 which is perfect.this version is wonderful and the playing of violins with piano is fantastic.very good job on this track.
Published on 23 Jan 2012 by markos


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A hauntingly exquisite live album, 27 Mar 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This album stands as one of the most impressive MTV Unplugged albums ever recorded. The unique style and sound of the 10,000 Maniacs was captured beautifully in this concert, preserving an unforgettable legacy by the group which was essentially breaking up at the time this was released. Anyone who listened to the radio back then has to know and remember Because the Night. While it is still hard for me to believe this song so wonderfully suited to Natalie Merchant’s voice was written by Bruce Springsteen, it served as a most impressive means of introducing Natalie Merchant sans Maniacs to the larger listening audience. Like many fans, I am not that familiar with the 10,000 Maniacs albums predating In My Tribe, but all of the 14 songs on this album (including four from In My Tribe) are just hauntingly exquisite. Each song tells a story, often a serious one touching on important social issues, infusing this modernized folk music with a very human folk music consciousness that speaks to both the head and heart in a number of very effective ways. If the unique sound of 10,000 Maniacs doesn’t move you at first, give it a second listen, and I’m sure the power of the music will begin to reveal itself to you. It is unfortunate that Natalie Merchant left the group, but the magic that was 10,000 Maniacs has been wonderfully preserved in this truly incredible live recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You give ‘em what they want..!, 5 Nov 2002
If I could take only 3 CD’s to a desert island than this would have to be among them, this is 10,000 Maniacs sounding their best! The unplugged sound, complete with mini orchestra really suites their slightly folk/pop style of music, and beautifully compliments Natalie's wonderful voice - the type of voice that will make the hairs on the back of your neck stand up.
Even If you've never heard of the somewhat strangely named 10,000 Maniacs before then get this album, as it contains some of the the best tracks from their other albums, and unless you like the extremes of music you are very unlikely to be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless, had it for years and continue to play it!, 26 Oct 2004
Someone gave me this album a few years ago. I loved it at the time, and I still think it's great. Perhaps it's sentimental, or nostalgic, or maybe this is just onee of those albums that allow you to maintain enjoyment of the music. Almost everytime someone new hears this on our stereo, they always ask 'who is this?' and most have gone out and bought it! Well worth it. Yeh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a fab album..., 15 Mar 2000
By A Customer
If you don't own any 10,000 Maniacs music, then I would highly recommend this as an introduction. Natalie's voice is outstanding, and there are some really catchy tunes on this. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Capturing the live show better than most, 4 Feb 2003
An excellent album, Natalie really makes the acoustic set work bringing some of her greatest tracks into a format which they seem to have been writen for. Heartfelt, emotion, rock and a haunting voice, worth every penny and so much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is an intimate recording a perfect vehicle for Natalie Merchants strong but fragile evocative and ..., 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Top album, have not listened to maniacs for awhile what have I been missing! This is an intimate recording a perfect vehicle for Natalie Merchants strong but fragile evocative and elusive voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Eat for two, 26 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MTV Unplugged (MP3 Download)
This unplugged is superb! Great performance of the band and the beautiful voice of Natalie. Her approach of the pregnancy in "Eat for two" is emotional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10,000 stars, 13 Sep 2010
By 
GlynLuke (York UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Isn`t it strange how you can go for years virtually unaware of an artist or band, even assuming their music is not for you - and then you can`t get enough?
I`ve recently become the proud owner of Natalie Merchant`s first two solo albums, Tigerlily and the utterly beautiful Ophelia, and now I have this unimprovably rich & wondrous offering in the Unplugged series.
I do remember seeing this on British TV in the `90s soon after it was made, and being pleasantly surprised by it (as well as being unable to take my eyes off the mini-skirted Natalie) but it didn`t prepare me for hearing this gorgeous selection of songs on CD. 10,000 Maniacs/Natalie Merchant write songs that are so subtle and slightly offbeat, approachably unpredictable if you like, that they seem to sneak up on you, caress you, seduce you - leaving you pleasurably satiated with a surfeit of riches...
No point in picking out highlights, there aren`t any, though you`ll have the catchy Like The Weather, with its coquettishly sung chorus, on the brain all day once you`ve heard it. `It`s all good`, as the man said.
How I wish I`d allowed the music of this band and this astonishing woman into my life years ago. Still, I suppose there`s a right time for everything.
Another plus is that, unlike 98% of live recordings these days - especially those from the US - audience noise is at a minimum, even between songs. None of the irritating whoops, barks and hollers one is all too used to on most live albums. Hooray for that! The whole thing has a warm, almost fire-side atmosphere, which draws the listener in.
To go from being a Natalie & the Maniacs virgin to their devoted lover has been painless. Pure pleasure, in fact.

PS. (2 years later): Listening to this again & again since above review, it just gets better & better with age, a magically beautiful record of a perfect performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant,, 6 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
vintage stuff. Just fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 30 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Outstanding!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

MTV Unplugged
MTV Unplugged by 10,000 Maniacs
Buy MP3 Album3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews