Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Azure Blue and Jalapeno Hot
This was luckily the first ZZ album I bought about 14 years ago at the same time I was getting into the likes of Howlin Wolf, Buddy Guy, SRV etc and this album is still a huge favourite of mine, i'd say it was probably one of my desert island discs. Like someone else said here, Manic Mechanic doesn't really fit (although it's pretty funny) but the other tracks more than...
Published on 22 July 2009 by Mr. C. Todd

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmm hmm hmm hmm.
zz top are brilliant but not all the time. I bought this to complete a collection, to avoid disappointment stick to the compilations there are plenty of them.
Published on 27 Feb. 2013 by maggotz


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Azure Blue and Jalapeno Hot, 22 July 2009
By 
Mr. C. Todd "partsocaster80" (Ballyclare, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deguello (Audio CD)
This was luckily the first ZZ album I bought about 14 years ago at the same time I was getting into the likes of Howlin Wolf, Buddy Guy, SRV etc and this album is still a huge favourite of mine, i'd say it was probably one of my desert island discs. Like someone else said here, Manic Mechanic doesn't really fit (although it's pretty funny) but the other tracks more than make up for it and it's got a nice clear but not overdone kind of production, probably influenced by the Austin blues scene that was gathering momentum at the time ("Lowdown In The Street" is about the Rome Inn and the goings-on there) and you can also really here this in the guitar playing/tones here which is more Blues than Rock. If you've never heard ZZ Top before the spinning guitars and red car MTV era or are more of a blues fan, this is the one to start with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars zz tops, 9 Aug. 2001
By 
This review is from: Deguello (Audio CD)
Hendrix called billy gibbons one of the greatest blues guitarists, and if you wont take jimi's word for it then just listen to this album! Classic blues riffs, great lyrics and the boys themselves played the horn section too! This album was heavily drawn upon for their compilation album 'one foot in the blues' and rightly so. Check out 'a fool for your stockings', 'cheap sunglasses' (my favourite track) and the elmore james track 'dust my broom' - lets be honest - there aint a bad track on this album. If you like zz top or just a general blues fan this is one to add to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dam nice tunes, 3 Jun. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deguello (Audio CD)
It's not my favourite ZZ Top album. Not by a long shot but its is bloody good music and I'm sure it is the favourite of many other ZZ Top fans. Melts the slightly more polished 80's feel with their trademark 70's blues. Plus the use horns:D!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'm always cautious when buying a CD version of an LP, 23 Feb. 2013
By 
H. C. Betteridge "Hugh" (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deguello (Audio CD)
It's so easy to make a mess of remastering. I can imagine that there is a temptation to remaster specifically for a new generation who are used to mp3 compression and listen to nasty representations of something they think sounds good to them on their cell 'phones. However, I'm an old git. I want it to sound as it did originally - raw and bassy to the ears of many. I was pleasantly surprised by this, but it was advertised as having been produced from the analogue masters. Presumably, they were making the distinction because "digitally remastered" versions had been so badly criticised. I think this version is OK, on the assumption that you don't have access to a decent turntable, valve amplifiers, and speakers the size of bedside cabinets that can handle 50W of bass guitar (well that was the reason I bought them in 1979).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the lone wolf howls tonight!!!!, 16 April 2013
This review is from: Deguello (Audio CD)
Yeah, Yeah I know all about "eliminator", I know about that car, the videos, the girls, the beards but c'mon what about the real ZZ Top? I am talking about a band that before thier career exploded in 1983/84 with the aforementioned hit machine that was "eliminator" were little more than an underground almost cult band in europe and a band considered past thier sell by date in thier native America ( home state of Texas excluded!).
This 1980 release recorded by the band after nearly three years away from the studio is simply a classic! a finely grafted blues/rock record with a funky edge in places which for me is without doubt thier finest work along with the 1973 release "tres hombres".

A smooth, groovy record without any doubt "i thank you" , "cheap sunglasses", "fool for your stockings" a great cover of the elmore james tune "dust my broom" , nothing against "eliminator" it is a great record and brought the guys richly deserved success across the globe but the sheer class of this recording shines through nearly 31 years since i first heard it.

Ok? get it, Beards? check, sense of humour? check, great songs? check, top notch playing? check...

Deguello by the way is Mexican for "no quarter" I believe? some Alamo connection? Well the band show us no mercy with this record believe you me - now get yourself lowdown in the street!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's not just about those "sunglasses"!, 6 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deguello (Audio CD)
I don't know why this album is often overlooked in the history of ZZ Top.
Most people who're familiar with the band's work know "Cheap Sunglasses", but there's much more on here to entertain us than that. Ok, so "Manic Mechanic" is pretty strange,....but strange in a good way,....surely?!
There's some blindingly good guitar playing on this CD, and luckily it's one of their older efforts that was not ruined for re-release during the 1980s by having dodgy 'modern' effects squeezed into it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amongst their best, 13 May 2013
By 
Smitty Werbenjaegermanjensen (real name) (Thread rehab facility 37) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deguello (Audio CD)
Deguello, a stunning album in the mid to late 70's run of albums when ZZ Top could do no wrong. This one has signs of things to come, Manic Mechanic for example pointing towards the quirky stuff they did on later albums like Heaven, Hell or Houston. Cheap Sunglasses, what a classic tune, with its shifting tempo, the ever so memorable lyrics(even if they don't make much sense) and powerful delivery. I'm Bad. I'm Nationwide, another tempo shifting tour de force with a great bit of ZZ brass section thrown in for ggreat measure.

This is one of the few early albums to have escaped the cd ruining reverbed gated drum sound which was retrospectively added to the early stuff to make it sound more like Eliminator. Who thought of that???? What a berk. So, the sound here is as it ought to be and is as good as the remastered Smoke, Chrome and BBQ box set, honest(I have it and did a back to back comparison).

Buy and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The cover doesn't fit the album, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deguello (Audio CD)
Lookig at the cover, one would expect dark things to happen, horro maybe. Put the CD on and forget about the cover, it's wonderful, it's all ZZ Top and while they're a fool for somenone's stockings, we better be fools for them...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deguello (Audio CD)
One of ZZ tops best albums before the days of eliminator and a more commercial route. All songs on the album are of high quality in production and style, buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best ZZ Top album, 10 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Deguello (Audio CD)
I will never get tired of listening to Degüello. Pure and crisp Blues Rock. Production is perfect. ZZ Top at their best. One of the best albums ever maybe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deguello
Deguello by ZZ Top
Buy MP3 Album£3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews