Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply magnificent follow-up to the equally brilliant 'Vinland Saga'!
After the brilliant 'Vinland Saga' album I had this on pre-order and have played it more or less continuously since I got it. It is totally addictive. 'Vinland Saga' was just perfect and I could never get enough of that. This is more of the same and that is just great! It is majestically brilliant. Themed again around Viking and Norse legend the album gets off to an epic...
Published on 5 Sep 2009 by Hodge

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average album
Slightly disappointing album, especially after hearing their excellent debut. No tracks really stand out and the whole album feels rather average.
Published 19 months ago by ClaytonSmith


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply magnificent follow-up to the equally brilliant 'Vinland Saga'!, 5 Sep 2009
By 
Hodge (Surrey, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Njord (digipak) (Audio CD)
After the brilliant 'Vinland Saga' album I had this on pre-order and have played it more or less continuously since I got it. It is totally addictive. 'Vinland Saga' was just perfect and I could never get enough of that. This is more of the same and that is just great! It is majestically brilliant. Themed again around Viking and Norse legend the album gets off to an epic start with 'Njord' itself, 6 mins 14 seconds of utter genius. After a beautiful vocal introduction from Liv the band crashes in and a relentless, driving anthem emerges set against a choral backdrop and Krull's growling vocals. This is going to be something live. 'My Destiny' follows, their current single. Tragic lyrics, brilliant sorrowful vocals again from Liv, crunching guitars, great chorus. 'Emerald Isle' returns to a theme well explored in 'Vinland Saga', that of leaving and discovery. After a lovely orchestral intro Liv's crystaline voice comes in and then the song is propelled forward on a wave of drums and guitars with Krull growling menacingly in the background. 'Take the Devil in Me' is one of the many highlights. Another sad song about death and regret, it is brilliantly handled by the band who are so tight together here. Everything works so well, another rousing anthem and another great chorus. 'Scarborough fair' is the first time you draw breath. Until now the album has blasted along. This could have been a disaster but the wonderful Simon & Garfunkel song is beautifully handled by the band, effotlessly wonderful vocals by Liv, the song is built of alternate sequences of delicate verses and crunchingly epic choruses backed by uillean pipes which give it a trad folky feel. Superb! 'Through Our Veins' is easily missed but is yet another great fast paced song. 'Irish Rain' at last slows the album down, a beautiful celtic ballad with yet another great vocal performance from Liv and a gorgeous instrumental section complete with uillean pipes again. Lovely. But the quiet does not last long. 'Northbound' is a song of return and is classic Leave's Eyes, delicate verses, swirling, giddy choruses, crashing guitars, choirs and orchestra. But it still just keeps getting better. 'Ragnarok' is another epic, a Nightwish style symphonic opening blasts into an epic song about the Norse myth of the end of the world, haunting volcals from Liv balance against snarling screams from Krull who is no simple metal growler, he's far better than that - great guitar and drums which crashes to a finish. 'Morgenland' is another lovely, delicate ballad while 'The Holy Bond' is a slow burner that really grows on you after a few listens and would have been a great album closer, except that you still have the wonder that is 'Froya's Theme' to go. A sprawling 8 minute epic, not a second is wasted in this masterpiece. A delicate guitar opens with breathless vocals from Liv before the song lurches into its main theme which then gives way to a male choir and Krull's aggressive vocal. The theme again and then a beautiful passage with Liv and Krull exchanging poetic lines and then it builds to its epic conclusion with Liv saving the best for last. Her vocals throughout this album are quite exquisite. And do get the special version with the 2 extra tracks. Nothing can really follow 'Froya's Theme' but 'Landscape of the Dead' does it well. A light theme, a catchy, breezy chorus, nice guitar and just classic Leave's Eyes. They do this kind of song so well. 'Les Champs de Lavande' closes the album, a lovely ethereal ballad with haunting vocals from Liv set against choir and drums. The whole thing is packaged superbly with lots of images of ice and snow and Viking ships and swords that reflect the atmosphere perfectly. Just like 'Vinland' it all hangs together so well without a single mistep and you are just left at the end like you have been on some epic journey. And then you just hit play again! This album leaves the band as masters of their genre and confirms Liv Kristine as one of the great vocalists of our time. This is that good. I can't wait to play 'Vinland' and this back to back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Massive Epic Album, 26 Nov 2009
This review is from: Njord (digipak) (Audio CD)
I enjoyed Vinland Saga but Njord is something else again, probably the best power-metal release of 2009.

A couple of other reviews describe the songs in detail but in summary this is a fine piece of music. Very orchestral and with overtones of Clannad and James Horner in the mix. To describe it just as "metal" is really doing this grand work a dis-service, it's an aural rock-metal symphony that the great classical composers would be proud of.

I've listened through the album twice now and it grows each time. There is some "light" growling from Mr. Krull but it's not intrusive cookie monster stuff and blends with the other themes in the music.

I thoroughly recommend this fine album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Nordic Metal, 29 Aug 2009
By 
Ravenheart Music "Ravenheart Music" (Kidderminster UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Njord (digipak) (Audio CD)
I will admit that Leaves' Eyes are one of my top female fronted bands, ranking alongside Within Temptation, Nightwish and Lacuna Coil. Their music is awesome and Liv's vocals send shivers up and down my spine, So what about this latest offering. Let's just say this is just a colossal piece of music by musicians that are top of their league, and very near untouchable in this genre at this current moment in time. Kicking off with the atmospheric and heavy 6 minute plus title track, I know I am going to like this record...lots. Second track in, 'My Destiny' featured on the recent EP, and I am totally bewitched already by the music on this album. And it is only track 2! This is typical Leaves' Eyes (if it ain't broken, why fix it?), it rocks, it is heavy and it is so melodic. All the tracks here are top drawer, but songs worthy of a mention include the uptempo and catchy 'Take The Devil In Me', 'Northbound', 'The Holy Bond' and the epic 8 minute plus 'Froya's Theme'. And let's not forget 'Scarborough Fair'. Excellent and totally absorbing. The Vikings are coming - bring them on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average album, 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Njord (Audio CD)
Slightly disappointing album, especially after hearing their excellent debut. No tracks really stand out and the whole album feels rather average.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Awful productions, 3 Oct 2013
This review is from: Njord (digipak) (Audio CD)
This album is totally ruined with the mix.Mid range mess.the vocals are so back in the mix you can not hear or understand a word. I hope the next album will be mixed better,because this is just plain un listenable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Leavse Eyes - Njord, 5 Feb 2011
This review is from: Njord (digipak) (Audio CD)
Having enjoyed CD's by Within Temptation and Delain I purchased this CD and was blown away by Liv's vocals. If you are looking for female epic goth then then you should buy this. Liv has the most beautiful voice and there is not one bad track on this CD. If you are looking for heavy guitars and stunning female vocals then buy this CD. This CD is not for people who think Evanesance invented Goth female
genre! This is just one special gem, then others are WITHIN TEMPTATION, DELAIN, SIRENIA and the classic SARAH BRIGHTMAN on Symphony.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME!!!, 22 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Njord (digipak) (Audio CD)
This is such an amazing album! Their best yet!!! They have exceeded every expectation i ever had!! every song is a masterpiece! And Liv Kristine packs passion into every song - my favs being Njord, Emeral Island, Scarborough fair, Ragnarok,Froya's theme, Landscape of the dead (fantastic!!!!), Les champs de lavande!!!!
Can't go wrong buying this!!!!
Enjoy!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Njord Leaves Eyes, 5 Nov 2009
By 
D. G. Slade "anime fan" (hazlemere uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Njord (digipak) (Audio CD)
If you have not already got this then you must a brilliant mix of nordic metal
with those haunting vocals from Liv Kristine one for all the fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ...music da, concept njet..., 4 Sep 2010
By 
Mr. H "Mr H" (Embra) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Njord (Audio CD)
By my reckoning, this is the fourth version of "Njord" that has been released, the most recent album by goth metallers Leaves' Eyes. There was the normal edition, the digipak version, the limited-edition box set, and now this 'special fan edition'. That's a lot of versions! And a lot of money for fans to hand over.

Especially, if they also ponied up for the 'My Destiny' companion EP, which is where a slew of the non-album tracks on the second disc, "At Heaven's End", first appeared. Granted, it was a great album, and any self respecting goth metal fan needs to have it in their collection, but. Apparently, this latest release is to "mark the beginning of the 2010 touring season". Uh-huh.

What you're getting inside your silver embossed black box is a copy of the "Njord" digipak and a new CD called "At Heaven's End". This is where you will find the "My Destiny" EP tracks along with the three unreleased tracks: the title track to the bonus CD, 'Angus and the Swan' and an acoustic version of 'Irish Rain', which is a bit of a family affair, as it also features Liv's sister Carmen Elise Espenaes of folk metallers Midnattsol. Chuck in the the video to 'My Destiny', and you've got the whole "Njord" era in one slipcased edition.

If for some strange reason you don't already have the album, then this definitely the edition to go for, as it's out at a fairly decent price. However, if you're a die hard who's already bought the album and EP, then you would be justified in feeling a wee bit cheated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Album Shame About the Mix, 2 Sep 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Njord (digipak) (Audio CD)
Great to see Leaves' Eyes return with another great selection of songs. But my God, what a really terrible mix. The mix is so narrow it almost sounds mono - most of the instruments, including the guitars are buried under the vocals in the middle of the sound field.

Maybe it's just an issue with the download version - or perhaps someone has made a real hash of this album at the mixing desk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Njord
Njord by Leaves' Eyes (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews